We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud door latches and thin doors need to be fixed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 21 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank craigrL9562TC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJo-Portsmouth, Guest Service Supervisor at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank michaellP2056MM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJo-Portsmouth, Guest Service Supervisor at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This hotel was great for a one or two night stay in the Portsmouth area. You probably couldn't walk downtown, it's about 30 mins to get there from this hotel. Having said that though it was only $6 to uber! It worked out great, especially considering the hotels in downtown are $400 a night! I know that Howard Johnson's don't typically sound like super awesome hotels but this one exceeded our expectations. The room was fairly new looking and definitely recently updated. It had everything you'd want in a room, even a fridge. The hotel even offered continental breakfast for free. The ONLY issue I has was that they had all kinds of breads and things to toast for breakfast, but no butter or cream cheese. The only options were peanut butter and jelly. Overall though I would definitely recommend this hotel for the thrifty traveler!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linds945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo-Portsmouth, Guest Service Supervisor at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Linds945, thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our brand new rooms! Our property is perfectly located between the major highway and downtown Portsmouth (about 1.5 miles from the hotel). I am glad that you were able to enjoy our free continental breakfast during your stay. I am sorry that you could not access the cream cheese and butter. We do offer it in the breakfast room in a separate container from he jellies. During your next stay please ask any one of our staff members and they would be more than happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank C9663ALpatriciah
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJo-Portsmouth, Guest Service Supervisor at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 September 2017

No frills, comfortable bed, about what you would expect from a hotel chain. The room was clean and neat. A little bit away from the center of town, and a little difficult for a stranger to navigate to in moderately heavy traffic

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank garykB8764LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo-Portsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

garykB8764LC, thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you found your room to be clean. Our housekeeping team works very hard to keep the rooms in the best condition possible. We are about 1 mile from downtown Portsmouth. It can be tricky to travel down if you don't know the are as it is a very popular place to be. But we can always recommend different modes of transportation like the City Trolley to get to the downtown area. Out front desk staff would be more than happy to help you with this during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
2 km away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
3.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Portsmouth

Address: 383 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209 (Formerly America's Best Inns & Suites)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: RM286 - RM649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing