We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
US$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$198
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$191
US$184
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ale House Inn(Portsmouth)
US$229
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$204
US$180
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$251
US$161
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Martin Hill Inn(Portsmouth)
US$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
146
174
89
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
174
89
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday inncontinental breakfastfront deskroom was cleancookiesbagelsan overnight stayoff the highwayliquor storeother hotelsbit datedtraffic circlenew hampshirehotel roomroundabout dinerstayed one nightthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJo-Portsmouth, Guest Service Supervisor at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This hotel was great for a one or two night stay in the Portsmouth area. You probably couldn't walk downtown, it's about 30 mins to get there from this hotel. Having said that though it was only $6 to uber! It worked out great, especially considering the hotels in downtown are $400 a night! I know that Howard Johnson's don't typically sound like super awesome hotels but this one exceeded our expectations. The room was fairly new looking and definitely recently updated. It had everything you'd want in a room, even a fridge. The hotel even offered continental breakfast for free. The ONLY issue I has was that they had all kinds of breads and things to toast for breakfast, but no butter or cream cheese. The only options were peanut butter and jelly. Overall though I would definitely recommend this hotel for the thrifty traveler!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linds945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo-Portsmouth, Guest Service Supervisor at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Linds945, thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our brand new rooms! Our property is perfectly located between the major highway and downtown Portsmouth (about 1.5 miles from the hotel). I am glad that you were able to enjoy our free continental breakfast during your stay. I am sorry that you could not access the cream cheese and butter. We do offer it in the breakfast room in a separate container from he jellies. During your next stay please ask any one of our staff members and they would be more than happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJo-Portsmouth, Guest Service Supervisor at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 September 2017

No frills, comfortable bed, about what you would expect from a hotel chain. The room was clean and neat. A little bit away from the center of town, and a little difficult for a stranger to navigate to in moderately heavy traffic

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank garykB8764LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo-Portsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

garykB8764LC, thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you found your room to be clean. Our housekeeping team works very hard to keep the rooms in the best condition possible. We are about 1 mile from downtown Portsmouth. It can be tricky to travel down if you don't know the are as it is a very popular place to be. But we can always recommend different modes of transportation like the City Trolley to get to the downtown area. Out front desk staff would be more than happy to help you with this during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

My friends and I stay at the Howard Johnson for a girl's get away. Beach & shopping !
We found the hotel to be clean , comfortable and well situated. ( across the road from the liquor store!!! The staff was helpful and friendly especially Heather ! Heather helped us with restaurant suggestions ( Chinese resto was amazing) and directions to places. She always had a smile and so polite!! Breakfast was also good.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Car M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews