We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage lodging.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Philbrick's by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rye
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Husband and I were traveling through the area in the late afternoon September, 2014. We had stopped at the beautiful beach across the street from the Crown Colony to play in the late afternoon sun and spotted this vintage place. It was quiet, clean and friendly. A huge picture window overlooks the ocean from across the small road. I felt like we had stumbled into the past. We snuck across the road late at night to sit on the rocks along the shore to watch the moon come up and see the stars over the ocean. There is a small porch with chairs outside the room to be able to have a drink and watch the ocean,the road and other people biking by. Old timey room, two beds, a bathroom, storage and a tv. Comfy and relaxed. We went tho, when it was not crowded! Whale watching just down the street too!

Room Tip: All have ocean views. Some are larger, ours was fine for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katlady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2014

Hands down our favorite place to go on vacation. We've been going annually to Crown Colony for several years and stay in one of the patio cabins. Sitting out in front with one of the best ocean views I've ever seen having our favorite beverages. Just can't beat it. Love the town of Portsmouth as well, plenty of good food and entertainment. Bill McCann is the proprietor, super nice guy and very accommodating. Highy recommend.

Room Tip: Patio cabins have the best view but all the motel rooms and cabins in the back are very well equippe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

This is the place to stay. Perched on high land across Ocean Boulevard, Crown Colony offers spectacular ocean views and down home service. Bill is a friendly and hard working host, rooms are clean and spacious. Good access to Portsmouth and Hampton if you need to get out. And the price is awesome. Book well in advance. Great place to rendezvous with family or friends for special celebratory occasions. Walk on the rocks at sunrise or head to nearby sandy beaches for a swim.

Room Tip: Stay in the front along the road, but talk to Bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rbkrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

Great little place. Has all that you need. I'm sitting here on the table looking right out at the ocean. Has wifi cable refrigerator 2 beds rocker sink dishes tub and propane heater.At this time of year most other places in the area are closed for the season.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butch2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Came across this place quite by accident, driving from Portland Maine to someplace south to spend the night....getting discouraged by the hustle of Portsmouth, NH...too busy and nothing but major chains and sealed windows, sterile environments....then a breath of fresh air....Crown Colony showed up in our windshield! Funky, clean, a cat laying in the sun! Great price. Super casual. Almost on the beach and windows that really open for fresh air! Walking a beautiful beach full of friendly people and dogs, great bar down the street and NO CROWDS! Room is exactly what we needed to chill. A porch overlooking the ocean. Cannot wait to walk it in the morning with the rising sun. Not fancy but really, you need that? Love, love, love it.

Room Tip: Any room is good, if not gonna cook though, take the regular rooms as they still have refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank katlady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
5.2 km away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
207 reviews
12.7 km away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
7.0 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
511 reviews
7.5 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philbrick's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philbrick's by the Sea

Address: 1381 Ocean Blvd, Rye, NH 03870-2234 (Formerly Crown Colony Motel and Cottages)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Rye
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rye
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Crown Colony Motel And Cottages Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing