We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Carlson's Lodge(Twin Mountain)(Great Value!)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arlington Hotel(Bethlehem)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lancaster Motor Inn(Lancaster)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coos Motor inn(Lancaster)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thayers Inn(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Littleton Motel(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastgate Inn(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Squire Motel(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$194
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,161)
Filter reviews
2,162 results
Traveller rating
1,317
511
162
101
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,317
511
162
101
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellaraxe throwingmovie theaterfront porchthe barntavern restaurantgolf coursewhite mountainsair hockeymovie roomturn down servicemountaineering clubindoor poolfine diningdog sleddingice skatingping pong
Filter
Updating list...
1,482 - 1,487 of 2,162 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We have visited the Mountain View Grand a few times over the past four years. We have always enjoyed our stay. In the past the food has been ok, but this time the food was outstanding. Kudos to the Mountain View Grand for hiring such a top notch chef. Chef Adam's food is wonderful and the revised menu ensures that there is something to satisfy everyone who dines at the MVG.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear KSS4,

Thank you for your continued patronage and your kind review! We have shared your considerate comments about Chef Adam with our staff. We hope to continue seeing you around the Resort!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The hotel and grounds are simply beautiful. Each room is spotless, comfortable and inviting. We took advantage of the library, gym, pool and sauna. We spent alot of time at the barn getting to know the animals and the wonderful staff who take such personal interest in their care. The hotel staff were all courteous, professional and friendly. The food was exceptional and the prices appropriate. We definately plan to return.

Room Tip: The rooms are bright and spotless. I would not however pay for a mountain view room upgrade. It averages $45 extra per night for the same view you can enjoy from the from the 1st floor lounge or library. The hotel is so lovely you should not waste time sitting in the room anyway.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Elizabeth G,

Thank you for taking the time to review! We are glad your stay with us was enjoyable and that you are looking to return. We will be happy to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for the New Year's Eve holiday. We arrived on a Saturday and checked-out on New Year's Day (Tuesday).

Overall, the hotel is beautiful, in a picturesque setting with wonderful views. In general, the service was good. Kudos to the bellman/valet - he was extremely friendly and knew our names by the first evening. I say "in general" because as always, there are a few exceptions to the rule as the below indicates:

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and went to the spa to book massages. As soon as we got to the spa, the girl at the front desk was VERY VERY RUDE. She tells us us in a "nasty" tone that she is completely booked until Wednesday and if we wanted to we could book a manicure on Sunday morning but that was it. The way she spoke to us was very abrupt and very rude. When we walked away we said: "Well, she must hate her job". For a hotel that calls itself a "resort and spa" and charges a pretty penny per night, there should definitely be an emphasis on customer service. Later on that evening we were chatting with two women in the jacuzzi and they said the same thing: that the girl in the spa was EXTREMELY rude.

Throughout our stay and as we spoke to more couples there with NO children, we found a recurring problem: not enough activities for couples with no children. We arrived to the resort thinking we were going to be able to rent the snowmobiles and they told us the trails were not ready yet.

The worst was on New Year's Eve. They had a party for children and they had a "NY EVE Gala" that charged $115.000 per person. For those of us who chose NOT to go to the gala, there was nothing to do!! (Note: we chose not to go to the gala NOT because of the price but to be honest, it seemed boring for us and when we peeked into the ballroom that night, it definitely looked boring with a mellow jazz band playing music and maybe 2 couples dancing).

We wouldn't have minded hanging out at the bar and ringing in the New Year with some of the other couples but we go to the bar at 12:10 and they tell us it's closed!!!! So as we walk away, we see all the couples wandering around the hotel wondering what to do next. Well, there was nothing to do! It's NY Eve for gods sake!!! When I mentioned something to the front desk the
next morning she said "ohhhh..the bar closes at 11:00-12:00". YES but on New Year's Eve???

Needless to say, there were so many little things that were "wrong" that made it a mediocre stay:

1. If you know you will be busy during the holiday, why not add additional staff in the spa to accommodate a few more people? We went there hoping to get massages and got nothing because they were COMPLETELY BOOKED.

2. When we went to the bar a few times, we had to wait SUCHHHH a long time to have our order taken. They had 10 people at the bar and were completely frazzled. Not only that, but HOW BORING was that bar!! At least play some interesting music!!! We asked one of the bar staff to put music on and it was very mellow elevator music and we asked if they could change it to something more lively and the person (will not mention who) said to us "Sorry, this is the only thing we can play" and then added: "This is why I don't even turn on the music". hahahaha!!
I understand that older people go there but there were A LOT of people in their 20's, 30's and 40's that would appreciate a bit of a fun vibe!!!!

3. Every time we asked for something on the menu they didn't have it. "Can I have this cider? Sorry, there was problem with the distributor. Can we have this beer? Sorry, we are out of that one. We sat and observed other people ordering and it was the same thing... over and over again - the entire weekend.

4. We booked the movie theater at 10:30pm and our movie didn't start until 11:30pm. The lady at the front desk told us " Sorry for the delay, we had to go in and give the movie theater a THOROUGH cleaning - it was a mess with popcorn and garbage everywhere". WELL, as soon as walked into the theater we realized she lied to us. The theater was disgusting: popcorn and garbage everywhere. She could have just said "Sorry, we are running behind" and not tell me that they went in to clean it.

Needless to say, we will not be returning to this resort. It's probably fun for parents with kids as they do seem to have a lot of children's activities. It's a shame because like I mentioned in the beginning, the surroundings are gorgeous and there is definitely the potential to be better.

Room Tip: Do not choose a lobby room...very noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Dear ferremar,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at the Resort. We value the input of our guests as it helps us know what we are doing right and what needs to be improved upon. Your comments about the lack of adult orientated activities have been shared with our Activities Department and taken into consideration.

I apologize for the issues you experienced with the staff in the Spa and at the Tavern bar and I have brought your concerns to the attention of our Spa Manager and our Resort Manager. Additional training has been implemented to ensure this situation is not repeated. We do apologize that these experiences marred your recent visit and though you expressed you will not be returning, we hope you will reconsider in the future. We would love to have you back to experience the Resort as it is intended to be enjoyed.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We have been visiting Mountain View Grand for the last five years and our most recent stay in January 2013 was just as wonderful as the past visits. The hotel is very grand while still having a family-friendly enviornment. There's lots to do for the little one - inside and outdoors. The movie theater is a great treat - our son was able to pick his own movie and the staff even came down with popcorn when it came on. One of the things I like most about the hotel is that its immaculate - from the rooms to the common areas, everything is always clean. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. The food was exceptional - the menu has expanded a bit from recent years. All the food we ordered during the entire stay was top notch - great chef! Looking forward already to our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Kathy L,

Thank you for your review and your continued patronage! We appreciate your kind remarks about the Resort and have shared them with our staff. We look forward to your next visit as well!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I had dinner with my family a few weeks ago, and had a wonderful experience. The food was perfect. My children loved seeing the ice train and gingerbread house. It is mind blowing to see it in person, and to see the talent and skill of those who made it. The resort is beautiful and there is so much to do for families. We even enjoyed relaxing just playing checkers near the lobby. I can't wait to return in the spring or summer when there is even more to offer. If you are looking for a getaway, this IS the place to be!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyMama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear FamilyMama3,

Thank you for reviewing! We certainly try to make sure there are various activities for all ages here at the Resort. It's wonderful to know you and your family had a great stay and are interested in returning. We look forward to seeing you around the Resort in the spring or summer.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews