We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like 3.5 stars”
Review of Tuckers Tavern

Tuckers Tavern
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 20/10
20:00
Ranked #24 of 80 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A Beach Haven favorite inspired by the best American Taverns and English pubs. Tuckers Tavern will satisfy your appetite for great food, friends and good times. Enjoy our gastro-pub menu, raw bar and local coastal favorites with an ever-changing selection of craft beers and cocktails. Featuring a covered outdoor deck, two bars with dining areas and two separate dining rooms, one with a fireplace. Available for private parties year round.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I gave a 4, even though I think more like 3.5. Why...ordered the cheese curds. They were good, but half the plate were empty fried pieces with no curds inside. Otherwise, rest of food was good, drinks good, service good.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank dave911nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2021

Great views and excellent food. Fish Tacos...Guacamole..great salads. Highly recommended. We sat upstairs on the rooftop..service was wonderful.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank SharonP627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

Prices are just crazy considering the good quality. Chopped salad was great, but crab cake sandwich at $24 tasted nothing like crab. Likely it was mostly fillers. Huge rip off. Fries obviously frozen. Any future visit will be to get a salad to go.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Travellinpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

The food is decent. Neither great, nor bad. Some portions are small. The price however is very high. Too expensive for what it is. A couple drinks, a few apps, and a couple entrees and it can easily reach $200. Probably worth $120 with drinks. The service is good though, but not worth that much extra.
We had the boneless lacquered wings, a dozen clams from the raw bar, a soup of the day, the roasted corn guacamole (for sharing), and pretzels with cheese sauce (for sharing), plus the crab cake sandwich, a couple cocktails, oh and the best part of it all, a Key Lime Pie in a Cup. That was delicious.
The cocktails were weak, but I quickly realized and switched to beer. Had a spicy strawberry margarita. It wasn’t very spicy (could hardly tell), and it was very tart. Had to ask for a little more agave, which when brought to the table looked watered down. A little too thin on the pour.
The boneless lacquered wings were pretty good. An Asian fusion dish. The roasted corn guac was so so. More corn than avocado (took a couple scoops to even find the avocado). Also had to add salt to it, which seems to be a theme on LBI. As for the pretzels and cheese sauce, the pretzels themselves were pretzel bites. The frozen kind you can get at your standard grocery store. There was a decent handful of them, but nothing I would hardly consider for sharing. I asked for a side of mustard to go with them. That was the best part! Very spicy horseradish mustard along the lines of a true Chinese mustard. As for the soup of the day, I was told it was really good and looked like a good-sized portion. I was also told the local clams were good, all be it pretty tiny.
As for the self-proclaimed famous crab cake sandwich, it was meh. It was deep fried and didn’t have much crab meat in it, mostly breading and filler. The brioche bun was good, the fries were good, but the crab cake itself nothing I would talk about or have again. If you want the real deal crab cakes you have to go to Baltimore, not the Jersey Shore.
I rated Tucker’s Tavern 3/5 because it had nice ambiance and the food was not bad, for the most part. If I was vindictive, I’d give them a 2/5 for the outrageous prices alone, but everything else combined for an extra mark.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank keithww81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2021

Food was just average and not very hot. Waiter disappeared for 30 minutes at a time. By the time my drink was delivered, all the ice had melted but I couldn't ask for another because the waiter was no where to be found.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank ShortTrips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Tuckers Tavern also viewed

Surf City, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Tuckers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.