We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe charming 50 years ago but not now”
Review of Inn of Cape May

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn of Cape May
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 17 August 2017

My wife and I along with 2 of our daughters ages 23 and 28 stayed at The Inn of Cape may the 2nd week of August. We never stay at the Inn before so we did not know what to expect. Although I checked and saw mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, we figured “how bad can to be. I don’t understand and can’t explain how some people think this place is so charming, “Charming” has passed this place a long time ago. We booked a, I guess it was 2-bedroom suite with 1 queen size bed in one room and 2 twins in the second. They should call it the “Herman Munster Suite”. It was very unappealing in every aspect from the curtains to the lighting, bedding, walls, furniture, etc. When the A/C went on it sounded like a freight train was passing by. The drains for the tub and bathroom sink back up and that’s with very low water pressure.
Speaking of furniture…there isn’t one comfortable chair in the entire hotel. Randomly placed torn and tattered couches and upholstered chairs in the corridors and common areas.
They’re also proud to let you know they have the oldest working elevator in New Jersey that’s the size of shoebox and seems boarder line dangerous, we used the stairs.
Towels for the pool/beach are available at the front desk just make sure they are returned at the end of the day. The second day we inadvertently brought the towels up to our room, we figured we just exchange them in the morning. My daughter brought the towels down to the front desk and she got reprimanded for not bringing the towels back at the end of the previous day. The woman behind the front desk actually said they were going to charge us $10 each for the towels…Really? I’m on vacation, I would like to be treated that way. We weren’t checking out and stealing your crappy towels. This is in addition to other rules you’ll need to follow, So much for leisure.
The pool…the pool is small with cloudy water and it’s shared with the Avondale Motel next door. You need to give your name and room number to the gentleman sitting near the gate, because I’m sure tons of people are dying to sneak in. And don’t even think about eating anything at the pool, like licorice as we did and were told “No Eating at the Pool Area”.
Breakfast was included in our booking. Let me correct myself - an allowance for breakfast was included. $47.03 per day for the 4 of us. Not sure how they came up with that amount for 4 people but if you go over you have to pay the difference. Not a big deal but I thought it was odd. Although we only had breakfast I have to say the food was very good.
All in all, I had a wonderful time with my family and was happiest when we left. We will never consider going back for any reason.

Room Tip: Get a room at a different Hotel/motel
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank GYP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Inn of Cape May
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had three rooms to attend a family reunion and overall had a great time staying here. That being said, this hotel, while charming, has been altered to retrofit rooms from its original floor plan. The construction and improvements are both crude and cheap, as well as old. Nothing has been updated except to add air conditioning and it's a hodge podge of fixtures and random furnishings that are also for sale that make it very cluttered. One of our rooms had three roof leaks during a rain storm. The shower in our room had no consistency in temperature-it would decide to be cold or hot entirely on its own. Our bed was supposed to be a queen, but appeared to be a full and was way too soft. The room furnishings are old and of garage sale quality. I will say the place was very clean. The owners are obviously making a lot of money without putting anything into hotel improvements or substantial maintenance.

The location is perfect across from the beach and close to the charming downtown. The restaurant had a great menu and the food was excellent, especially the breakfasts and friendly service. A breakfast allowance is included in your rate. Happy hour had a good variety of drinks and food.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leskobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Such a delightful, classic Victorian property rich in history. While the rooms are all very comfortable & clean, they are older. If you appreciate old style elegance, you will enjoy staying here.
The on-site restaurant has a fabulous menu for both breakfast & dinner. Try the mussels w/bleu cheese!
Location is spot on - close to shopping area and across from beach.
Relax on the covered porch on a rocker and a cocktail !

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

My friends and I wanted to take a trip to a quaint vacation town. We chose historic Cape May. We ended up booking during prime season and split the cost of the room. The inn is definitely historic! Many of the reviews noted that the inn was run down, but again, it is historic. Our room and the lobby bathrooms were very clean. I was relieved when I saw how clean our bathroom and the bedding was. The bar and restaurant service were great. Prime season prices are steep, but splitting the room was much more cost effective. We enjoyed our stay, and our beach view from the pool.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank melissarsmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel has so much character and is in such a great location. We were there for a romantic getaway and it was just fine. Although if you like more modern amenities like in room safe, mini fridge and a room that isn't sloped inward then this location isn't for you. The large front porch with rocking chairs was so nice but the smoking was a turn off. You literally have to walk through people smoking to get in the front door. We mentioned this to the front desk but nothing was done. They insisted that smoking was only in one location but didn't enforce that. It was quite a turn off.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 km away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#18 of 37 in Cape May
255 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
0.3 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#29 of 37 in Cape May
399 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#30 of 37 in Cape May
234 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Cape May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Cape May

Address: 7 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range: RM441 - RM1,596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 110 years, the Inn of Cape May has been a grand, gracious retreat for guests seeking a wonderful getaway. Come see the splendor of our unique Victorian village with its beautiful beaches and gentle ocean. Relax on our porch rockers beneath our signature purple awnings. Take a carriage ride. Enjoy fine dining. It's all here, as it has been for over 100 years at America's premier seashore resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn Of Cape May Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing