We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Heritage Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motor Lodge(Cape May)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel of the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$303
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilbraham Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Crest Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stockton Inns(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$235
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at the Park(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$199
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$949
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
53
68
42
28
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
68
42
28
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocking chairsacross the streetwrap around porchstep back in timebreakfast was includedon site restaurantlarge porchfourth floorair conditioninghome friesfront porchget awaynice poolhistoric hotelmodern amenitiespark your cartwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had three rooms to attend a family reunion and overall had a great time staying here. That being said, this hotel, while charming, has been altered to retrofit rooms from its original floor plan. The construction and improvements are both crude and cheap, as well as old. Nothing has been updated except to add air conditioning and it's a hodge podge of fixtures and random furnishings that are also for sale that make it very cluttered. One of our rooms had three roof leaks during a rain storm. The shower in our room had no consistency in temperature-it would decide to be cold or hot entirely on its own. Our bed was supposed to be a queen, but appeared to be a full and was way too soft. The room furnishings are old and of garage sale quality. I will say the place was very clean. The owners are obviously making a lot of money without putting anything into hotel improvements or substantial maintenance.

The location is perfect across from the beach and close to the charming downtown. The restaurant had a great menu and the food was excellent, especially the breakfasts and friendly service. A breakfast allowance is included in your rate. Happy hour had a good variety of drinks and food.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leskobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Such a delightful, classic Victorian property rich in history. While the rooms are all very comfortable & clean, they are older. If you appreciate old style elegance, you will enjoy staying here.
The on-site restaurant has a fabulous menu for both breakfast & dinner. Try the mussels w/bleu cheese!
Location is spot on - close to shopping area and across from beach.
Relax on the covered porch on a rocker and a cocktail !

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

My friends and I wanted to take a trip to a quaint vacation town. We chose historic Cape May. We ended up booking during prime season and split the cost of the room. The inn is definitely historic! Many of the reviews noted that the inn was run down, but again, it is historic. Our room and the lobby bathrooms were very clean. I was relieved when I saw how clean our bathroom and the bedding was. The bar and restaurant service were great. Prime season prices are steep, but splitting the room was much more cost effective. We enjoyed our stay, and our beach view from the pool.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank melissarsmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel has so much character and is in such a great location. We were there for a romantic getaway and it was just fine. Although if you like more modern amenities like in room safe, mini fridge and a room that isn't sloped inward then this location isn't for you. The large front porch with rocking chairs was so nice but the smoking was a turn off. You literally have to walk through people smoking to get in the front door. We mentioned this to the front desk but nothing was done. They insisted that smoking was only in one location but didn't enforce that. It was quite a turn off.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at the Inn of Cape May exclusively for over 16 years. Now we haven't gone every year but close to it. This year was our first visit in 3 years and our last. We noticed over the years that the property was experiencing a lot of deferred maintenance/improvement issues. That being said we wrote them off because it is a historic property, very close to the beach and it had sentimental memories for us. The staff has always been very nice never a complaint. This year we stayed in room 34/47. Two rooms that share same shower and toilet. Sinks were in each room. Our bed had a visible depression in the middle of it and my wife and I sank in it all night long... I actually could only sleep for an hour or two at a time. My son's bed had stains on the cover that went through to the sheets...ewww. Well we were supposed to stay for two nights and we only stayed one night. Now i didn't complain because the other rooms are not much better since we have stayed in many of them. I just know i wont go back for that price. 2 nights about $600 with tax. Now if i paid $70-90 night I would expect this quality. So we will now look for better places to stay! Please get new mattresses!!! And clean blankets and sheets!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
9  Thank malywilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews