We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The home is magical, mystical, and absolutely...”

Review of The Breakers

Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
Front of House-2 Fall at The Breakers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Front of House
Front of House-2
Fall at The Breakers
House
House - Street Shot
Welcome to The Breakers
New Rockers on the Front Porch
House - Street Shot 2
House - Street Shot 3
House - Street Shot 4
House - Street Shot 5
Front of House-3
Side Porch Wicker
Side Porch Wicker
Side Porch Wicker
Front Porch Wicker
Top Back Deck
Side Deck
Garden-1
Garden-2
Front Garden
House Back
Porch - 1
Porch - 4
Porch - 2
Side Porch
Ocean View
Ocean View from Back Top Porch
Hallway
Front Parlor
Dining Room
Back Parlor
Side Kitchen
Back Kitchen
Dogwood Bedroom - 1
Dogwood Bedroom - 2
Ivy Bedroom
Gardenia - 1
Gardenia - 2
Magnolia - 1
Magnolia - 2
Peony - 1
Peony - 2
Bedroom - Peony 3
Rose - 1
Rose Bedroom - 1
Rose - 2
Wildflower - 1
First Floor Bedroom
Wildflower - 2
Ivy Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Ivy Bathroom
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23
Cape May, Cape May County, New Jersey

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miaoulis
1 review
“The home is magical, mystical, and absolutely beautiful with all it's Victorian charm!”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We held our annual Leadership Retreat at The Breakers. It accommodated all our needs for 23 people very comfortably. The ambiance was spectacular and the location was in the heart of Cape May! I would reccomend this home to anyone, whether business or personal!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
It was a pleasure working with you to host your group. I'm glad the house accommodated you so well, and I very much appreciate your care. I hope you will return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cking44
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“BEST Vacation week @ THE BREAKERS”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved it ! The house was perfect for our blended/extended family group (14 core group for 1 week +6 others coming for various shorter stays) - ages 6mo- 70 yrs old! The zoned AC was wonderful during humid days - even 3rd floor stayed cool! The meeting areas - 2LR, 2 Kitch + DR were fabulous, loved the 2 kitchens w/ 2 DW + 2fridges, +all the dishes/glasses/silver - plenty of cook ware, great grill. We enjoyed the front porch - plenty of seating - loved being one block from the beach and Washington Mall + grocery store! We got pizza several times fm around the corner at Blue Moon Pizza (Beach Ave) + coffee/bagels at Avalon (Gurney Ave.) Parking is a little tight as it is advertised for Breakers- we ended up needing to park a couple cars around the corner at the First Presbyterian Church parking lot on Columbia Ave (all day+over night= $10) There was a glitch with a toilet on the first day & the owner had someone over w/in an hour to fix it - no further problems. The only suggestions I would offer are that the the 3rd floor beds are definitely hard esp for the price range of renting this home - sleep was not comfortable in those top 3 bedrooms., We went to walmart after 3 nights to get a thick foam topper for our bed - neither of us could sleep. Also - one of the website pics shows seating on a charming front balcony w/ a view of the ocean + Inn of CM - I made that pic my screen saver & looked forward to having wine + coffee on that balcony all year. Unfortunately/probably necessarily, that porch is locked off, not available to guests - perhaps because the railing is too low? and for Insurance...but maybe that pic shouldn't be used for advertising. Would def recommend this house - a once in a life time dream week for us and our family :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: spacious, good kitchens (2) front porch, location
Liked least: mattresses too hard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Breakers. I'm so glad you had a great week and I appreciate your suggestions. I always want to know how to improve the accommodations. Mattresses are so subjective - have had people with back issues tell me they are grateful for firm mattresses - I do keep them current and will definitely consider adding a softer variety to at least one of the 3rd floor bedrooms. I am always available to try to correct a situation that is of concern and would have welcomed the opportunity to address the mattresses immediately for your comfort level. You are correct about the balcony needing to be locked off for insurance liability mandates due to the low historic/original railing that cannot be raised according to historic preservation guidelines. Per your suggestion, I have removed that photo, but the house does boast several amazing outdoor relaxation options - a fabulous 3rd floor deck with a magnificent view of the town and ocean, a private second floor back deck as well as an inviting wraparound porch overlooking beautiful gardens and Ocean St. I look forward to working with you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda787
Oradell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
“Beautiful home, excellent location, great property for a group get-together”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Breakers is a beautiful property and so well laid out! A group of friends wanted a relaxing weekend away and we were certainly not disappointed! We parked our cars in the back and didn't need to move them the entire time, walking to the beach and town for sightseeing and for dinner one night. The house itself is very welcoming, beautifully decorated and so comfortable; the fact that everyone had their own bedrooms and baths, but were able to spend time together in the common areas, made everything perfect! We also loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs on the front porch, enjoying the beautiful weather and watching the people walking by. We are already planning our next trip back to the Breakers!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful, yet comfortable house that provided a great balance of privacy for guests with wonderful public spaces to congregate!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
We so appreciate your group's respectful care of the property and are so glad to hear that your time there was all you had hoped for; we look forward to working with you in the future and developing a long-term relationship.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrGlennR
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE SECOND TIME AROUND”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our second stay in three years at this wonderful residence. This well-maintained three-story classic Victorian home couldn't be more perfectly located to take advantage of all Cape May has to offer. Located just a half block to the beach (grab some of the complimentary beach chairs), and only two blocks from the eclectic Washington Street Mall, with all its restaurants, galleries and shops, this property is just as it is described and as you see it in the pictures advertising it. The bedrooms are each well-appointed, with comfortable beds and tasteful decorations; six of the eight had on-suite private bathrooms, and the remaining two had private bathrooms, just across the hall. There is no waiting at the two outdoor showers either. The kitchens (2) and dining room accommodated the seventeen of us. Perhaps our favorite place was sitting on the wrap-around porch, with a cup of coffee in the morning. or a beverage of choice in the evening, watching the carriages and beach-goers walk happily past. Indeed Ocean Street has always been a place of plentiful smiles for those in The Breakers and those just idling by. Take a quick walk either down to the beach, or up the mall for some homemade ice cream to top off your evening! The owners were friendly, prompt and patient with our multitude of questions, and simply a delight in general. We came from five states, and as far away as California twice now, and will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, the location and the owners
Liked least: Parking for more than 8 cars becomes a minor nuisance.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
We hope you will make it a third-time destination :) and we very much appreciate your meticulous care of the house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2013
We hope you will stay in touch and visit again - thank you for caring so well for The Breakers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,000
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing