We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
681
377
150
49
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
377
150
49
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brown room blue pig adirondack chairs town view historical hotel off season adult pool ocean view winter wonderland pool service beautiful property per night across the street turn down service fourth floor the jersey shore large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We visited Cape May in April 2017 and chose Congress Hall based on its location and history. Cape May is a charming charming victorian beach town with a lot of things to do for the entire family. Wildwood Boardwalk is only a few miles over, adding to amazing number of activities for family fun. Cape May beach has spectacular white sands and beautiful waters.
Regarding Congress Hall - it is a beautiful, sizable facility with a lot of interesting architectural details, antique lighting and furniture. It faces the beach and is very close to the cute and charming victorian houses that Cape May is famous for and the quaint shopping district. Uncle Bill's pancake house is right off the property. A food court is also nearby (it was closed in April -but we had been there last summer and the food is varied and satisfying). Congress hall itself has 3 restaurants and they all have a nice cozy feel and a nice decor. Some offer outside seating. We are vegetarian and were able to find some choices at the Boiler Room restaurant, set in their basement. We were able to transition seamlessly from the beach, to shopping to restaurants and still be only within walking distance to Congress Hall in case we needed to slow down or use their facilities.
We stayed in a suite with two queen beds. The room was spacious and adequate. It was tastefully decorated in muted blue and white with red spindle chairs adding a pop of color. Bathrooms were a good size and stocked with good quality amenities. You are also provided bath robes, in room locker, tiny refrigerator and complimentary(!) bottles of water. (There is extra Fiji water bottles in the fridge you need to pay for).
I rated them only 4 stars because there was a weird yellow stain on the bathroom tub. The place cannot also be termed extremely clean -the restrooms close to the pool were like using a public bathroom in a crowded beach place. Please note we were there in off season with a lot less crowd! The room rates triple during in-season and one might feel let down.The lawn area is not expansive, pool is quite nice and in view of the beach but rather small. In summary, we felt very much at home at this historic hotel, enjoyed being right on the beach and in walking distance to all the attractions. It felt great for the price we paid off season.

Date of stay: April 2017
3  Thank rachel_aswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I attended the Easter Brunch this year and received complimentary dinner because of a mistake that was made at the 4th of July lobster bake and this was a wonderful surprise. The fact that they remembered and acknowledged their mistake and made good on it was amazing. The decorations, piano music, wait staff and food was amazing. I would definitely return again!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank missyi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Let me start by saying I have stayed here several times, and have also stayed at the Virginia and Southern Mansion. We chose to come for a weekend getaway and got lucky that it happened to be Jazz Fest as well! The hotel is certainly quite lovely with a lot of character, and you can't beat the location or view ( we got a King ocean view with balcony). Must say, the rooms are VERY SMALL as are the bathrooms. Bed was comfy. The balcony was a nice feature to add space, and opens with barn doors and the window, kind of cool. One huge downside- don't expect to sleep at all. The walls are PAPER THIN and you can hear everything, including sneezing 3 doors down. We were on the second floor and it sounded like elephants above us all night long. This was disappointing since the weather was cool and rainy, it would have been nice to catch a zzzzz! The lounge area was fun, had music most of the day. There was a wedding at the hotel, so you could hear partying ALL night long. I would advise requesting a room on the top floor, and far from the main lobby steps. It's super nice to stay here in the summer when the pool is open, but the minimum stay is off putting, as it is quite expensive and the taxes add a substantial per night fee. I would not consider this a value hotel at all ( and we do enjoy upscale hotels!) ... no coffee maker or amenities but there is a free valet. The fitness room was very very limited. We do love Cape May, and will be back. Would stay here, but we do enjoy the quiet and romance of Southern Mansion for actual sleep!

Room tip: Top floor, away from steps
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kefoxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed at Congress Hall for the first time this past Easter weekend. What an experience. We've stayed in Ritz Carlton's, where the service is expected to be impeccable, and I'd easily rank Congress Hall on par with the same type of service. The rooms were clean and updated with furnishings/fixtures/amenities, but the antiquity and warmth of the hotel still remained. Everyone from the valets to the bartenders to the hotel staff were extremely accommodating and really made us feel like they appreciated our stay with them. One quick experience - late one night, before putting the kids to bed, my wife realized she forgot her contact solution and called the hotel desk to see if there is a convenience shop in the hotel or a store nearby. The person who took the call advised her the convenience store was closed at this time of night (10pm), but he'd open up the shop to get her the contact solution she needed and bill it to the room. He was knocking on our door within 10-minutes. This little experience solidified our appreciation for the hotel and our patronage for future stays. Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff and all around great experience.

Room tip: Ocean front rooms are well worth the extra money.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

This is one of my favorite hotels. Congress Hall is beautiful with lots of charm and excellent service. The beach is across the street, but some mornings I just wanted to stay in my beautiful hotel room and lay in my comfortable bed.

Room tip: All rooms are beautiful; I lodged in a city view room. I peeked in the ocean view rooms and they were beautiful too.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asmith2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews