We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2016

My husband and I have been staying at this Hilton Garden Inn since it opened. We stay her when we come to visit nearby family. It was recently renovated in the past year. As always the place is always clean. We get coupons for daily breakfast from Hilton Honors program. Waitress, Shirley, has been there since it opened and always remembers us even though we visit only once or twice a year. Louie, came and fixed our slow bathtub drain within a few minutes of calling about it. We are always pleased with our stays here.

Room Tip: There are only 4 floors. We have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolUSA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I stay at a lot of hotels and Hiltons in particular. In fact, I'm staying in a Hilton property in DC as I write this review. The property is what I would expect from a Garden Inn. It was nice enough but they just cleaned the carpets in my room and the carpets were still soaked. They told me at the front desk the carpets were wet but did not have any other rooms. They said just keep your shoes on and you'll be fine. Really? At the price I paid they really should have offered me a discount on the room. The carpets were soaked. I paid full price which was my dumb mistake. The heat was on in 90 degree July weather so the room was hot and humid and wet. Clearly this property has enough customers to keep the place full so it probably doesn't matter if they lose me. Makes me want to give all my business to Marriott in this area. I don't review every hotel I stay in anymore because there are too many and they start to blend together but I will review if my experience warrants it good or bad. This stay had room for improvement for sure. Hopefully they learn from this and make improvements. Had they said hey, we just cleaned your carpets and we are full so I'd like to offer you a 20% discount for the trouble. I would have given this property a better review because they tried to make it better. Instead, the solution they offered me was for me to not remove my shoes. Thanks Garden Inn Lakewood. Great solution.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jake427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you for your review. We are currently looking into the issues you noted and will post a detailed response soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

All and all it is a very good and clean hotel no questions about it.
Good location too (there are a few good eating places walking distance from it like Longhorn steakhouse, Ruby Tuesday).
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Rooms equipped with mini fridge, microwave (which is handy) and safe.

I found it overpriced, however. It is tough to justify the mid week $220(rate) +$30(tax)=$250 cost per night.
On top of it, the continental breakfast isn't included either. It is an extra $15. The attempt to make the breakfast look like a la crate is pitiful. It is still a continental breakfast. At this rate it should be included.

The hotel location is not on the shore line, rather 12-13 highway minutes away from the beach, which is another reason why it should not be overpriced.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank LopahinEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, our amenities, and our convenient location, but we're disappointed to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We appreciate all your feedback, and we will take your comments into consideration. Thank you again, and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Very clean and nicely decorated room, quiet. Beautiful lobby. Service great. Staff very friendly. We only stayed a few hours. Wish they had a rate for that. I love Hilton hotels. Always have. Never had a problem

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank eileenm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and found it to be adequate. Clean rooms and serviceable. I recently tried to book a return trip to this location for a 30 year HS reunion. The hotel rate was over $300.00. The bigger problem is they will not let me book just one night. I spoke with Barbara (front desk supervisor). I explained I was loyal to the Hilton brand and was a member of the Hilton honors program. I pleaded with her to let me book one night only as this was a significant event and I was looking for a loyalty help. She put me on hold and said she spoke to management and they were not willing to help me out. I have stayed at various Hilton properties around the world. And whenever I've had any issue a manager would always do the right thing to help me out. I'm so disappointed in this lack of empathy and let's face it, greed, that they would force me to book two nights which would be well over 750.00 with taxes. When all I need is one night. Unfortunately, this property will not be getting my business this time or anytime in the future. I know this property and this very poor experience is not the norm for Hilton branded properties. It's a shame HGI of Lakewood, NJ has left such a sour taste in my mouth. Shameful.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear William,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the 2-night minimum we have in place for holiday weekends and peak summer periods. We need to remain firm on this policy because we cannot always accommodate one-night stay overs. Similarly, our nightly rates change throughout the year and are higher during summer months. If our rates are an issue, we always recommend our sister property located in Toms River. Again, we apologize you weren't happy and chose not to stay with us. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakewood
5 km away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,297 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Leisure Inn
10.6 km away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
37.7 km away
Holiday Inn East Windsor - Cranbury Area
20.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood

Address: 1885 Highway 70, Lakewood, NJ 08701-7394
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range: RM518 - RM963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood – conveniently located near Exit 88 of the Garden State Parkway on Route 70 – features an indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, and 24-hour business center. Premier guest room amenities include 32” LCD TVs, generous work desks with ergonomic Herman Miller chairs, and self-adjusting beds. Enjoy a brand new Ruby Tuesday restaurant, LongHorn Steakhouse® and Starbucks® next door. Complimentary WiFi access is available throughout the hotel. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Lakewood Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing