We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family vacation”
Review of Gold Crest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gold Crest Motel
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Luckily, my experience was better than the other reviews I've read. The rooms were dated, but nice enough. It is a Wildwood hotel, so I guess we can chalk that up to nostalgia!
The wifi is free, but only worked outside of the room. And I would recommend bringing your own pillows!!

Room Tip: Try to get a second or third floor room, the first floor is very noisy from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ACifelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

I'm fully aware that this is Wildwood and many places don't live up to normal cleanliness standards. This place was AWEFUL. If I walked on the carpet without flip flops, my feet turned black. It wasn't until about 3pm that the staff would get around to cleaning the room every day. After the room was "cleaned" I would find that the table was never wiped down, despite moving everything off the table to ensure this wasn't our fault. We had 3 beds in the room, despite only two of us staying there. We rotated between the bed in the living room and one in the bedroom. It seemed like there was a one bed maximum when it came to making beds by housekeeping. Numerous times, two beds would be slept in, and only one would be made... To the point where the blanket on top of the bed in the living room was folded, but the rest of the bed remained unmade. The white wicker the furniture is made of has clearly never been cleaned. By day 2 of my 5 day visit, I was ready to leave- which absolutely sucks when it is your only vacation of the year. There are many other places to stay in Wildwood that are clean and worth the price. We did complain on the way out and the only response we got from management was "the housekeeping staff is trained to tell someone that their equipment isn't working correctly." Bottom line, would never stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We stayed in this hotel because it was an old favorite of my family. The room was filthy, front desk person was not friendly and just a bad experience. I would not rate this hotel very high on my list because of these factors.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the main hotel and not above the office. We had ours in the hotel but oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonNY845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

There are better places to stay for the money. Their outdoor cooking equipment is terrible. The Owner/Operator was quite ignorant when it came to the kids. Not exactly kid friendly. Internet access total garbage. There was Broken glass on the balcony from late night - early morning sloppy drunks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JourneymanSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

If your looking for a cheap, clean, family friendly motel- this is the place to go. My daughter and I went for a weekend (Friday- Sunday) trip in June of 2015. I wanted a kitchen in the room and this place had it, so I went with it (The price was good too). I was so surprised with what I got. Not only was there 2 separate bedrooms but a full sized kitchen with-in the room. The room style was wicker furniture, it had grills (they turn the grills off at 9pm),a mini golf course, ping pong table, as well as, a very nice sized pool with baby pool separated and gated off from regular pool on property. The baby pool was also equipt with a play area with outdoor toys for the kids. It was great knowing that my daughter could play in the baby pool and not have access to the deeper end, supervised of course! Going to bed at night wasn't a problem- you couldn't here the outside noise.
CONS: They did not provide the usual beauty supplies-(soap and towels were it) that most motels/hotels have. Parents/Adults, remember to bring tissues,shampoo,conditioner, a hair dryer,lotions an iron/ ironing board. The WIFI was free but very weak signal. Pillows a little flat (didnt really bother me) and office closes at 10pm.
We had to travel through Philadelphia on our way there and got stuck in terrible traffic. If this is similar to your travels, I recommend you leave very early in the morning to get to Wild wood. Our 3 1/2 hour trip turned into 5. Sucked!
I recommend this place and would go back there again. Very Family Friendly!

Room Tip: 2nd/3rd floor is recommended with small children. The balcony helps separate them from the parking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank onehipmahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.9 km away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,074 reviews
0.4 km away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
345 reviews
0.2 km away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Coliseum Ocean Resort
Coliseum Ocean Resort
#24 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
298 reviews
1.4 km away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#32 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
92 reviews
1.3 km away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Crest Motel

Address: 6611 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4003
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: RM 343 - RM 662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, family-friendly, motel overlooking the ocean, southern exposure for all-day sun, close to amusements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gold Crest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing