We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem & pet friendly ”
Review of La Petite Dauphine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Petite Dauphine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We decided to get away with our little 4 legged child and booked a suite. Well we were presently surprised.

We had suite 8 with our own plunge pool & private deck. Our room was charming in a lush French farm house way with beautiful art work & pieces of furniture and fresh crisp white linen on the bed. Beautiful views from both bathroom, bedroom & deck. It is a dream (except that one does hear traffic unfortunately) but we loved every moment.

The gardens are beautiful.

The only thing I would like to add would be a torch in the room so one could walk to dinner & back without using ones phone. Some nuts would be nice in the bar, as we don't eat crisps.

We will be back in winter to enjoy the cold and fire place.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lemonsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful guest house, perfectly equipped. Huge room and bed. Lovely decoration. Bathroom with heated floors and towel rack. The breakfast couldn't be best, all kind of eggs preparation, fruits, cheese, breads, etc.
Kind staff.
Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights here and fell in love with the place. For us it was perfect from start to finish. The cottages are beautiful- we stayed in number 3 which was great as it was detached, but from what I could see they were all of a high standard. The pools were great to dip in and the views of the mountains are fantastic. Also great wildlife wandering around - keep an eye out for the Eagle Owl. Breakfast was superb and varied and the staff couldn't be more helpful. We lived like royalty! Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This was an absolutely charming find and a great way to end off our South African adventure. The rooms here are extremely large and very luxurious, with super comfortable beds and great linens. It is also hard to beat waking up amid a working vineyard every morning, the views are gorgeous and the air fresh and crisp. The best part about waking up at La Petite Dauphine? The breakfasts at Cafe Bon Bon are hands down the best we had in our entire 16 days in Africa - freshly made croissants, scrambled eggs of the right consistency, wonderfully plump smoked trout... I could go on and on! The seamless service of course added to our memorable stay, the two Stefans and the restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly. Location wise it is a little out of town but the best restaurants around Franschhoek are no more than a 5 min drive away. Definitely recommended as a base for anyone wishing to explore the area.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wen_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Love Franschhoek, quaint, pretty little town, a lot like being in Europe. Worth a visit, lots of places to stay, and especially to stay at La Petite Dauphine. Good food and wine, lots to experience. Worth spending a few days there.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lothfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.9 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
687 reviews
3.6 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
6.0 km away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 42 in Franschhoek
362 reviews
19.3 km away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Dauphine

Address: Excelsior Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: RM1,030 - RM2,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Petite Dauphine 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Dauphine is a picturesque estate set among vineyards, olive groves and fruit orchards. The historic working fruit and wine farm has superior accommodation on offer. An archway formed by cypresses, white roses and agapanthus lines the long driveway and leads to manicured lawns and garden beds bursting with colour and fragrance. The Nine Suites are superbly decorated with views over dams, sun kissed orchards, vineyards and the breathtaking Franschhoek mountains. Guests will be pampered with soft gowns and fluffy towels, other amenities are also provided to make the stay truly comfortable. Suites are climate controlled, with under tile heating, heated towel and wood burning fireplaces for chilly winter nights. Addiitional features include complimentary WiFi, Nespresso Coffee Makers and Blu Ray DVD machines. Breakfasts are served at the Café BonBon, a 200 year-old restored wine cellar, set amongst old oak trees. The Cafe is also open for lunch and intimate dinners on selected evenings with a menu featuring seasonal ingredients. The Studio at La Petite Dauphine is the perfect location for intimate weddings the farm is able to host.Veruska's Wine Bar at La Petite Dauphine exudes a relaxed rustic ambience within exposed brick walls and offers exlusive wine tastings for neighbouring Haut Espoir Wines estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Petite Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing