We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodging”
Review of La Petite Dauphine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Petite Dauphine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hard to believe this a place is just on the north end of Franschhoek tucked in the trees.

It feels like an oasis with it’s plentiful trees that hide everything.

The rooms are well appointed and the staff is friendly and eager to help.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BlueberryPancakeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Absolutely beautiful. My husband and I stayed 2 nights at La Petite Dauphine . Our lodge was gorgeous and the surroundings out of this world . The restaurant served tasty breakfasts and their mushroom risotto at lunch was probably the best I've ever tasted. Staff and service very good and excellent value for money .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DubaiDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

La Petite Dauphine is a wonderful place. The team is so helpful...I want to say Issac the gate guard is the most positive, smiling face I have ever seen. Stephan is a wonderful host and the dining crew is perfect.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steven_verrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We decided to get away with our little 4 legged child and booked a suite. Well we were presently surprised.

We had suite 8 with our own plunge pool & private deck. Our room was charming in a lush French farm house way with beautiful art work & pieces of furniture and fresh crisp white linen on the bed. Beautiful views from both bathroom, bedroom & deck. It is a dream (except that one does hear traffic unfortunately) but we loved every moment.

The gardens are beautiful.

The only thing I would like to add would be a torch in the room so one could walk to dinner & back without using ones phone. Some nuts would be nice in the bar, as we don't eat crisps.

We will be back in winter to enjoy the cold and fire place.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lemonsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful guest house, perfectly equipped. Huge room and bed. Lovely decoration. Bathroom with heated floors and towel rack. The breakfast couldn't be best, all kind of eggs preparation, fruits, cheese, breads, etc.
Kind staff.
Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.9 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
3.6 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.5 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
597 reviews
6 km away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 42 in Franschhoek
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Dauphine

Address: Excelsior Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: RM1,024 - RM2,724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Petite Dauphine 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Dauphine is a picturesque estate set among vineyards, olive groves and fruit orchards. The historic working fruit and wine farm has superior accommodation on offer. An archway formed by cypresses, white roses and agapanthus lines the long driveway and leads to manicured lawns and garden beds bursting with colour and fragrance. The Nine Suites are superbly decorated with views over dams, sun kissed orchards, vineyards and the breathtaking Franschhoek mountains. Guests will be pampered with soft gowns and fluffy towels, other amenities are also provided to make the stay truly comfortable. Suites are climate controlled, with under tile heating, heated towel and wood burning fireplaces for chilly winter nights. Addiitional features include complimentary WiFi, Nespresso Coffee Makers and Blu Ray DVD machines. Breakfasts are served at the Café BonBon, a 200 year-old restored wine cellar, set amongst old oak trees. The Cafe is also open for lunch and intimate dinners on selected evenings with a menu featuring seasonal ingredients. The Studio at La Petite Dauphine is the perfect location for intimate weddings the farm is able to host.Veruska's Wine Bar at La Petite Dauphine exudes a relaxed rustic ambience within exposed brick walls and offers exlusive wine tastings for neighbouring Haut Espoir Wines estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Petite Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing