We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Franschhoek, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David D
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Situated in the quiet neighbourhood about a ten minute walk from the village centre, this delightful, beautifully maintained small house is ideal for a short or long stay in lovely Franschoeck. Marlicia and husband Louis make you feel very welcome and are helpful without being intrusive, you may arrive as strangers, but you will leave as friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackbadg...
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent with a very thoughtful and helpful owner!”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I hate to be boring but must agree with the vast majority of people who have rented Le Petiti Plaisir. The setting with the mountains as a backdrop, the great reception and attention to detail by Marlicia could not be improved upon. Any ( very, very minor) problems were attended to instantly and the little touches made our stay absolutely delightful. Especially the home-made biscuits, Marlicia!!

If you want to stay in an area with poor food and wine and totally lacking in buzz and scenic beauty, then Franschoek is definitely not the place for you. There are so many great restaurants, both in town and on the wineries that you are spoilt for choice. Do try Bread and Wine for ambience, Dieu Donne at sunset for the view and Haute Cabriere on a Sunday for the tasting menu with accompanying wine. It goes without saying that the food at all places was superb and if you are from the sterling/Euro area, incredible value for money!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness
Liked least: No negatives!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yo637
1 review
“Wonderful stay Petit Plaisir Cottage”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at Petit Plaisir. Marlicia is a warm and inviting hostess. The accommodation is comfortable and beautifully appointed. The gardens are immaculate. The kitchen was stocked with a bottle of fresh milk and a bottle of wine, fresh plums and delicious biscuits. An absolute treat! We would definitely recommend this lovely property and the very special hostess that goes above and beyond to make the stay as comfortable as possible.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladysoli
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HOME FROM HOME”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We have just returned from a 4 week stay at Petit Plaisir Cottage. This is our way of chilling out away from the UK winter. From the first day we were treated beautifully by our hosts Louis and Marcilia. Nothing was too much trouble. We were made very welcome also by their large family who spent Christmas there in the family home. The cottage is well furnished and cleaned regularly by the housekeeper. We enjoyed self catering but, of course, took advantage of Franschhoek's facilities as well.
We are looking forward to another visit later this year. We recommend Petit Plaisir Cottage as a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful area and great hosts.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gents8
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, lovely place”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed at Petit Plaisir with my girlfriend and 11 month old baby... we had a lovely time. Marlicia, the owner, gave us a wonderful welcome, stocked the fridge with milk and a bottle of wine, as well as some tasty biscuits, and provided us with a night of baby sitting(!). The cottage is a good 10 minutes walk from the centre of town, but we felt safe walking back at night. I would happily go back and recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely place and warm welcome.
Liked least: The walk to town was a little longer than I'd hoped.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$122
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing