We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of wine country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2010

(During our trip to South Africa we stayed in Kichaka Game Lodge (near Grahamstown), Villa Afrikana (Knysna), Akadamie Street (Franschhoek) and Atlantic View,(Camps Bay). Reviews for each can be found on Tripadvisor.)

Our visit to Franschhoek was the third stop on our South African adventure and after the short drive from Cape Town airport we checked into Akadamie Street, which is a combination of hotel and guest house comprising of four or five pristine properties contained within a beautifully planted garden.

The ‘room’ we chose was Gelatenheid which, in reality, is a two storey cottage with a wraparound balcony on both levels and a full-length swimming pool for our private room. The inside of the cottage is huge, with a kitchen, sitting room and loo downstairs, with the open-plan upstairs consisting of a large, comfy bed, seating area, bath and shower-room. Outside on the upper balcony there is a second roll-top bath, totally invisible to any outside prying eyes, and great for bathing al fresco.

The owners, Arthur and Kathie, are wonderful and very hands on. Arthur served breakfast whilst providing helpful advice and tips on which vineyards, restaurants or places of interest to visit and Kathie was always so smiley and happy and at pains to ensure that we enjoyed breakfast, which we always, always did. In fact, the breakfasts were amazing, so much so that we asked for the recipe for the homemade muesli and stewed fruits, which Arthur ensured were typed-up, printed off and handed to us on checkout.

The cottage, as well as being comfortable (beautiful leather reading chairs inside, comfy chairs on the terraces) is full of books and magazines about the local area and South Africa in general; I found myself one evening sitting under the stars with a glass of pre-dinner sparkling wine we’d picked up from Graham Beck earlier in the day getting caught up in the history of the area and the influence of the Hugeunots. Arthur also provides in the room a map of the local area’s vineyards and a Platter’s Wine Guide for use during your stay, which is an essential piece of kit for anyone even slightly interested in visiting the vineyards. There is also free use of a local pre-paid mobile phone with the numbers of all the local vineyards and restaurants preloaded. And free laundry! These were just some of the many small touches that shows their dedication to ensuring their guests have a wonderful time and helps raise Akademie Street to the lofty position of being a destination in itself.

Arthur & Kathie are keen to continually develop and improve their service and always welcome feedback on how they can improve. In our opinion, there was very little else they could do but, after scratching our heads, we suggested a very small improvement (stopper for sparkling wine so a bottle can be enjoyed over a couple of nights) and after returning to the UK we received an email from Arthur thanking us for the comment and promising to take it forward. Now, that is commitment to service.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPCLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,028 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

We stayed in Uitsig with every luxury one could possibly want. Outstanding hospitality, decor, views and comfort. Our whole stay was way beyond expectations and Arthur and Katherine are the perfect hosts and go the "extra mile" for their guests. We are already planning a return trip and would not consider staying anywhere else in Franschhoek. A real gem where you will find calm, peace, tranquility in a delightful setting and where breakfast is a true experience. Thank you Arthur and Katherine for making my special birthday so memorable.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank LS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

This is the first time we have stayed in any accommodation with complimentary drinks in the minibar, laundry and telephone. Our hosts could not have done more to make our visit more pleasurable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher-retired08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

I stayed with Arthur and his charming wife in early January.
The pool and garden is remarkably peaceful, Arthur has a fantastic DVD collection and the breakfasts were the best I've experienced in my two weeks of travelling the garden route. The rooms have everything you would want and some extra nice touches such as free mini bar and snacks. A perfect location and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed (husband , me and 26yr old daughter ) in one of the cottages, it was delightful, had an atmosphere of calm and comfort, the facilities excellent, the deco lovely , not your usual sterile modern , but fascinating and interesting, nice little touches like candles in rooms (with matches, yes they think of everything!!) and garden flowers, rooms lovely. our own private (very) garden with pool and lots of "secret garden" shady nooks to sit in and lots of interesting local books to read whilst you sit, and a lovely breakfast to boot in a shady courtyard , served so pleasantly by the staff ( who coped valiantly with the chaos my daughter left her bedroom in !!) Go and stay there you will love it

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinatiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
2.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 12 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 12 in Franschhoek
733 reviews
0.4 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Franschhoek
78 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 12 in Franschhoek
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: RM 1,373 - RM 2,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 8 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing