We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holden Manz Country House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$298
US$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$294
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boschendal Cottages(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashbourne House Guest House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Coach House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franschhoek Manor(Franschhoek)
US$136
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Alouette(Franschhoek)
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
99
18
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
18
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebreakfast roombasic amenitiesnice loungeguest loungesmall poolstayed for four nightscooked breakfastcape townthe main streetmin walkroom was largehome from homefirst floortwo night staywine tastingbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We enjoyed a two night stay at Gable Manor. It is on the edge of the town but only a short walk to the centre. Our room was a ground floor suite, comprising bedroom, lounge and bathroom. The suite was fully airconditioned. The bathroom had a large bath and separate shower. There were drought water restrictions during our visit so the bath could not be used but that wasn't a problem as the shower was excellent.

The windows in the bedroom and lounge didn't appear to open and had blinds which made the suite feel quite dark. This would have been bothersome had we been staying longer. There was no view, something the upstairs rooms enjoy.

The house has a pool and also a guest lounge (with an "honesty" bar), though we didn't use either facility. Breakfast was served in a large room overlooking the pool. The breakfast buffet is lovely and an excellent cooked breakfast is available to order. We had to leave early on our last morning to catch a flight. They agreed to open the breakfast room early for us, even offering to cook breakfast, though sadly we didn't have enough time.

We had a hire car during our stay and there was plenty of parking available on site. Parking on the road outside is not allowed.

Staff at Gable Manor are extremely friendly and helpful and made us very welcome.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a balcony and pleasant views of the valley
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jetlagged55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We spent two nights at Gable Manor recently - we were in the area during a two week trip around the Cape and stopped off for a couple of days of wine tasting.

Overall our experience at Gable was probably a 6 out of 10. I would stop short of saying very good to outstanding (see reasons below) but with a few tweaks I think it could get there.

Positives:
- Great location near to the main street but set back enough to be quiet
- Nice set up with enclosed swimming pool and separate, smart breakfast room
- Rooms were clean and smart
- Breakfast was nice
- Pre-booked restaurants were a nice touch, however we'd already made our own reservations and were almost made to feel bad to have to ask for the ones they had made to be cancelled

The less good points:
- No fridge in the room (if there was then we couldn't find it) so no way to cool any drinks/make ice
- Wifi didn't work in our rooms so we had to go downstairs to pick up signal
- Ants in the bathroom (seems to be a recurring theme in reviews)
- Check in wasn't great. The places we enjoy the most are always the ones where the hosts take the time to talk you through the local area and make recommendations, which we didn't get at this place
- We didn't like that someone went into our room during our absence one evening to turn on the air con, but I can see how others might think this was a nice touch
- Was pricey. One of the signs of a great guesthouse is that you feel that you've got good value for money, and we didn't really think that we had. For what we paid, we expected all the above points to be dealt with

We always judge our stays on one question - if we went back to the same town again, would we stay at that place again? Based on our experience this time around, if we went back to Franschhoek we'd probably look for somewhere else that offered better value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are nice and have a shared balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanderh0rst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jcg27, Manager at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. It’s always heart-warming to hear that our cooking was appreciated.
Sorry that you weren’t satisfied. We are a small B&B and can’t always match the standards of a hotel. We sincerely hope you found accommodations which met your expectations on the rest of your trip.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We stayed for one night at this lovely guest house and cannot agree with some of the negative comments shown.
Our room was on the first floor, it was clean, light and tidy
From our arrival and greeting from Marsha all members of staff were polite and friendly and the breakfast great.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others.

Room Tip: We didn't see other rooms so cannot help with this
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jcg27, Guest Relations Manager at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for your great review Helen1958. We do the best in our ability to keep all of our guests happy and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I always worry when booking accommodation over New Year, we are going to be somewhere with lots of New Year noise. Gable Manor House was everything we wanted. It was quiet, comfortable, and we were allowed to do everything at our pace, which after 2 hectic weeks in Cape Town was slow and peaceful.

We had booked the Junior Suite, which had ample room for all our luggage - we don't travel light and accumulate along the way. There is no fridge in the room, which was a little problematic for storing our medication, but we fashioned a cooler of sorts using ice bricks.

Marsha and her team were brilliant. We needed to get potential stains out of clothes one morning and they offered to put on a wash for us, even though they don't do laundry.

Breakfast selections were relatively few and one could order a cooked breakfast. From our perspective, we were happy.

On the negative side, the Internet is way too slow to be of any use. In today's world of fibre and high speed Internet, there is no real excuse not to be able to offer a great internet service for guests.

I would recommend Gable Manor Guest House to anyone looking for quiet, comfortable and good accommodations, without a really hefty price tag.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is quite large if you like lots of room
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LlewellynPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jcg27, Guest Relations Manager at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for your review Patrick.
We are glad that you had a memorable stay with us and it was a great pleasure to have you and your partner stayed with us.

Me and my team try our best to go the extra mile to keep all of our clients happy.
Have a fantastic day and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

I stayed for four nights in a deluxe room (Nr 1) on the ground floor. While the room is spacious and tastefully furnished, it was rather cold and dark with only small windows going out into the shady garden. Probably nice in the heat summer, but unfortunately it was rather cold during my stay in Franschhoek.
There is lots of cupboard space and the bathroom is well appointed too. What spoilt the stay for me was that whenever the guest upstairs went to the toilet, it was all too clearly audible in my room.
So perhaps a room upstairs would have been a better choice, but unfortunately none was available for my stay.
There is a nice lounge available for the guests which has WIFI reception, and there is also a table top computer with a printer attached. However, there was no WIFI in my room.
The breakfast area is nice and light, and though the choice of food was somewhat limited, it was of good quality.
The staff were charming and very helpful, and the Manor is only a very short walk through a delightful neighbourhood from the centre of Franschhoek.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tingasiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews