We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
173
35
10
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
35
10
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingcountry houseolive grovespecan treesworking farmroad noisepecan pieexecutive suiteattention to detailmini safarirelaxed feelexcellent winewhat makes this placeshared loungecape townbeautiful settinglook forward to visiting again
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We only stayed here for the one night, but wish it had been more. We had a fabulous room in the thatched barn, it was just lovely! We were invited to go on a trip round the farm to see the vineyards and the pomegranate groves and were also treated to a sighting of the black wildebeest on the hillside. After the tour we arrived back at the farm to experience a wine tasting, the pinotage was wonderful, followed by dinner at the restaurant the food was gorgeous, my husband had the best steak he had had for years. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, particularly Karin, who made our stay special. Thank you again for the lovely gift Karin, it will always remind me of you and our stay. Hope to see you again one day.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG-GM, Front Office Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Linda,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is an absolute joy to have Karin on our team as she (and the rest of our staff) always go the extra mile to have our guests comfortable and relaxed.

We do hope to have you back our guests soon in the near future!

Kind regards

Jan Harmsgat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Having had our stay here booked by a travel agent, we twice tried to contact the hotel via e-mail before our arrival. On each occasion our e-mail was unanswered, so we were a bit apprehensive when we arrived. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room, which was described as a superior suite. The room was furnished to a high standard and was a reasonable size, however it was a bit gloomy as the only natural light came through the panes in the door - there were no other windows. The grounds were spacious and sun loungers were available by the pool and in the garden/orchard area. The real disappointment was in the restaurant where on one evening my wife was being served her fishcakes for starters and one slid off the plate. The server picked it up with his hand, put it pack on the plate and said "enjoy" before walking off !! Then our beautifully cooked lamb was served smothered in a very sweet sauce which in our opinion killed the flavour of the lamb. If the chef thinks they go together, I suggest serving the sauce in a jug to let the diner decide. The complementary wine tasting and estate tour were nice touches.The highlight of our stay was an afternoon in the garden, winding down, with Sugar and Spice ( gorgeous 4 month old kittens) entertaining us.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandaStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG-GM, Front Office Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Good day,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

The restaurant incident is definitely not our standard and should never have happened. Management has been informed of this and appropriate action was taken.

Please provide us with the email address used to make contact with us before arrival as we need to look into this.

We look forward to hearing from you and we hope to have you back as our guests in the near future.

Kind regards

Jan Harmsgat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We spent two nights here at the beginning of March and loved our lodge which had all the amenities anyone could want. The patio area was perfect for sipping a glass of wine and enjoying the peace and quiet this accommodation offers. The staff are all very friendly and helpful especially Karin who was always there on hand to help with issues, or in my case, a medical condition that took me by surprise. She also took us out in a vehicle to explore the vineyards (and wild wildebeest!) with a knowledgeable and informative lecture on the grapes and wines produced from them. The late afternoon wine tasting was pretty good as well ! Jan Harmsgat is in a beautiful setting of gardens and olive groves and if ever we are in that area again we would definitely pay a return visit!

Room Tip: Superior Suite for luxury, charm and privacy
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pajan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG-GM, Front Office Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for the wonderful review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you as our guests again soon.

Kind regards

Jan Harmsgat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Great stay and eats with ample space to walk, stroll, swim and to do a cruise on their game viewing vehicle. Restaurant is fantastic and realistically priced with excellent wine from winemaker Lourens van der Westhuizen well known at Arendsig estate. Well equipped rooms with luxury and very clean. We will definitely go back and stay over again. No request is any trouble for the well trained staff and we felt safe all the time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG-GM, Front Office Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Good afternoon Jannie,

Thank you for your lovely review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our restaurant and wines are definitely something we are very proud of. Our well maintained and open grounds does give you the feeling of being happy and free on the farm. We are child-friendly as well and it is very safe for children to run around on the open grass and playground.

We do hope to have you back as our guests again very soon!

Kind regards

Jan Harmsgat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The country house feeling at Jan Harmsgat reminds me of the song DIS N LEKKER OU JAN, as our stay was just that. Good Food, beautiful setting in the gardens that is full of fresh produce surprises and the team hosting you were always, helpful and professional. Lekker !!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maritsa2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG-GM, Front Office Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Maritsa,

Thank you for this 'lekker' review! :-)

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have you as our guests again soon!

Kind regards

Jan Harmsgat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews