We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unrivelled in brunei”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Easily the best hotel in Brunei. Was made for royalty and you can definitly tell from the ambiance inside. Ginormous reception areas covered in gold and marble greet you and the view of the south china sea is epic to say the least. Highlights included the Korloff bakery. Cannot comment on the rooms as only came for a coffee. The cinema is a nice touch.

Service in the dining areas is a little slow and the staff are not as attentive as you would expect in the 5-star surroundings

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkdhawan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Mr gkdhawan24,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our property, we think it's a spectacular hotel and the surroundings are really quite unlike any other!

It’s regrettable that you find our service was slow at the restaurant. Our service team are dedicated to making sure that our guests experience at the Empire Hotel is beyond expectations so we will be reviewing this and seeing where it deviated.

I hope you have plans staying at The Empire Hotel & Country Club again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Desmond Acheson
General Manager
The Empire Hotel and Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 620 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

Poor service, very limited choice of food and beverages, no good quality entertainment and a small pool. Prices are ok, huge buildings, but definitely nor more than 4 stars

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexTre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Mr AlexTre,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel and Country Club! Thank you very much for your review and comments about our property in 'The Abode of Peace'- it is exactly this that helps us to continuously improve and do better and we thoroughly appreciate your role in this!

I'm very sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory stay and didn’t quite meet your expectations. I wonder if you might be willing to share the details so that we can address them and thus improve our product quality and service

We hope to hear from you soon and thank you very much for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Desmond Acheson
General Manager
The Empire Hotel and Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Empire is a very nice resort located in a convenient place in Brunei. It has easy access to the highway, so if you are traveling between Beleit, Tutong, or Muara it will be easy for you to hop on the highway (for what it's worth, general heavy border traffic - especially at the ferry crossing in Limbang - makes the trip to Temburong a bit long).

The hotel is very nice, but being used to 5* rest service, I was disappointed on several occasions. First was the "sea view" room which really should have been called a "cove view" as it looked backwards towards the shore on some sort of cove; it was not the spectacular view of the South China Sea that the site assured me.

Second, the room service was abysmal. First, I found a hair in my food, then I bit down on several bits of eggshell, and finally despite my calls, the giant food cart stayed in my room all night.

Though no one went out of their way to make my stay bad, I wasn't really made to feel welcome to the resort, which was a bit of a disappointment.

Overall, for a resort of this level, I would expect a bit more, but if I were in Brunei again, I would stay there with a bit more direction to the reservations department.

Room Tip: If you get a sea view room, make sure it faces the sea, not backwards towards a lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquesWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Mr JacquesWeber,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel and Country Club! Thank you very much for your review and comments about our property in 'The Abode of Peace'- it is exactly this that helps us to continuously improve and do better and we thoroughly appreciate your role in this!

We are very sorry that you encountered some problems during your stay. Our Seaview rooms has the magnificent of the South China Sea from level 4 onwards, meanwhile level 1 to 3 are sea facing rooms. As for your bad encounter with our room service meal, we ensure you that our kitchen and service team are dedicated to making sure that the food quality and cleanliness at Empire Hotel is beyond expectations so we will be reviewing this and seeing where we slipped up.

Thank you very much again for your comments, and I look forward to welcoming you again to The Empire Hotel and Country Club!

Kind Regards,

Desmond Acheson
General Manager
The Empire Hotel and Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon (in March 2010). From the moment you enter you know this property has been built on a grand scale. The opulence and lavishness was abundant. The chandelier hanging from the ceiling was impressive!

Our suite was spacious. The bathroom was the biggest I have ever seen. The manager came to our suite with a lovely cake congratulating us on our honeymoon. This was unexpected and a nice touch.

Whilst my husband played a round of golf ventured to the day spa which was tranquil and relaxing.

The Atrium where breakfast was served was overlooking the pools and the South China Sea. There were huge marble columns everywhere. The egg station was a must.

We dined at Spaghettini and Pantai where the food was superb and the service outstanding.
We partook in the English High Tea in the Lobby Lounge one afternoon which was charming.

The hotel is gorgeous and the grounds are beautifully manicured. The property is enormous and you get around via golf buggy. The staff were all very pleasant.

We visited Kampong Ayer Water Village which was and experience. We were invited into one of the house for some afternoon tea, this was a pleasant experience. We also got to visit one of the schools there too.

If you are after a luxurious holiday than this is the place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fedetiro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Ms fedetiro01,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our property, we think it's a spectacular hotel and the surroundings are really quite unlike any other!

I am glad to hear that you and husband had enjoyed the experience at our hotel.

We hope to have to come back and stay with us again at The Empire Hotel and Country Club!

Kind Regards,

Desmond Acheson
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have stayed at the empire hotel for 11 days in February
The good was the beautiful beachfront the hotel is located next too, and the ocean views are spectacular. the gymnasium and sporting activities were fantastic.The staff friendly and cooperative.
The not so good was the noise levels in the rooms. Every door opening in the building echoed through every room, like a gun shot. Food quality was not the best. The location is remote and there is no free shuttle as one would expect from a hotel of this reputation.
If the noise issue was fixed and a shuttle service is introduced I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konrad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Mr KonradJ

Greetings from The Empire Hotel and Country Club! Thank you very much for your review and comments about our service and property in 'The Abode of Peace'- it is exactly this that helps us to continuously improve and do better and we thoroughly appreciate your role in this!

We regret to hear that you had encountered with noise problem at your room level. We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by banging doors. As a result of your comment, we will look at placing small pads in each door frame to soften the sound. Just first of all, would you be willing to share with us your full name? This will help us identify which room/building you were in. This often gives staff the opportunity to ensure that everyone has the kind of holiday that they are looking for.

It's unfortunate to hear you felt that our food quality was average- we are always working to make sure all meals served are of a high quality, therefore we thank you for kind your feedback and we will do all we can to improve.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we hope to see you again at The Empire Hotel and Country Club!

Kind Regards,

Desmond Acheson
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
12.9 km away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,184 reviews
13.1 km away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
293 reviews
13.4 km away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
The Rizqun International Hotel
The Rizqun International Hotel
#7 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
172 reviews
10.7 km away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
145 reviews
12.4 km away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range: RM768 - RM1,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing