We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good location, hospitality and space for healed”

Review of Villa Bulan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
3 bed room dining room
Pool
3 bed room villa kitchen
Garden
2 bed room villa bed room
2 bed room villa living room
3 bed room villa bath room
3 bed room villa at night
3 bed room villa bed room
3 bed room villa bed room
3 bed room villa living room
3 bed room villa living room from out side
3 bed room villa bed room
3 bed room villa bath room
3 bed room bath room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
AnnetteMo...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“In need of maintenance and TLC”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A group of nine friends booked both villas at Villa Bulan in June 2013 for a 60th birthday celebration. The property is quite different and quite quirky, but in need of maintenance and TLC. We booked about five months in advance but there were only four timber sun-lounges and no other outdoor chairs for the nine of us to share (apart from concrete benches built into walls which are not too comfortable when relaxing to read a book.). The timber lounges were rotting and started falling apart one week into our stay. My husband and I were in the full-moon villa and the staircase leading upstairs we found dangerous. The flooring throughout Villa Bulan is polished concrete/terrazzo and is extremely slippery so you need to take extreme care - especially when negotiating the stairs! The staff were absolutely beautiful and prepared wonderful breakfasts for us all each day and probably three or four of our evening meals (local restaurants are all close by so we ate out on other nights.). The location of this villa is not ideal, being down a narrow alley-way which I would not feel safe to walk along alone at night. We attempted to close one of the large dining room windows before going to bed one night and the whole window and frame came away from the wall, creating panic in the group, we didn't touch it again!
The place could be lovely but certainly needs to have some money thrown at it, the pool is gorgeous but missing lots of tiles, the bed linen is very tired and needs replacing (and new pillows.)
The other thing which makes Villa Bulan popular is the price, but at the end of the day you get what you pay for, it is relatively cheap but it's probably at best three-star.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2013
Firstly, we are very sorry that you felt that we did not meet your 100% satisfaction and we thank you for giving us this opportunity to review our standards. We had newly serviced and polished the terrazzo floor as a matter of regular maintenance work which we do to keep the villa up to standard - perhaps we should have pointed this out upon your arrival. Please accept our apology.
The charm and authenticity of the Villa is down to its age and the fact it was one of the first in the area. We do regular maintenance - the window you refer to has now been repaired.
We have regular returning customers due to the fact that our staff are so wonderful and its a home away from home and due to its central location. The access road to our villa is off of a main street and all villas in the area are set up in this way and need to be accessed by these narrow type streets. Again, we are sorry if this felt uncomfortable for you.
We do thank you for being so positive about our staff and the underlying charm of the villa and hope you did enjoy your stay and Bali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama Japan
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Fremantle
Reviewed 22 February 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
japan
Reviewed 17 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
japan
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$480
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing