We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful sanctuary”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome home !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome home !
Enter a little paradise ! Relax around the sun-heated turquoise pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Welcome home !
Enter a little paradise !
Relax around the sun-heated turquoise pool
Find your favorite spot to chill out, like our turquoise wooden adirondack..
.. or the half-immersed deck chairs..
.. or the large twin deckchair under the palm tree..
.. and the must: the full teck hammock..
.. just perfect to relax under the frangipani tree and in front of our little temple
So, enter our house and enjoy every single space of it
The living room, with a sofa which can welcome over 8 guests, and with two big fans on the ceiling
.. decorated with taste..
.. with local unique balinese antiques..
.. like the old wooden weaving table
Put on your fav' music on our stereo with two Bose loudspeakers on the ceiling of the living room
Enjoy your morning breakfast in the dinner area
On request, Putu, our full-time housekeeper, can prepare your daily breakfasts..
.. or cook your dinners with delicious Indonesian meals..
.. but you can of course use the fully equipped kitchen
There is a large American fridge, a microwave and a water dipsenser in the kitchen storage
A separate guest toilet at the entry of the villa
Our villa has 2 bedrooms, each with air conditioning, a cable TV, spacious closets with a safety box
Although there is a security staff 24/24 7/7, each bedroom can be closed with a personal key
The first bedroom: we always look for the finest interior decoration of our rooms
Wake up with a view on the garden and the pool
The beds are all King Size and each bedroom has its private bathroom
The bathroom of the first bedroom: clear and spacious, with its Italian shower..
.. and its large terrasso bathtub..
.. perfect to relax after a thrilling day
The private toilet
The second bedroom, similarly furnished
The house and the rooms are daily maintained by Putu, our full time housekeeper
The bathroom of the second bedroom, with its terrasso bathtub..
.. its stone sinks and its Italian shower..
.. and its private toilet
Wake up with a view on the temple and the teck hammock..
.. and on the pool lounge..
.. where our two Buddhas will ensure your serenity during your stay
Start your evening with a wonderful cockail by the pool..
.. and be ready to enjoy the late afternoon in the villa..
.. with its magical lights..
.. gazing at the stars..
.. be grateful for the day..
.. and look forward to the next one. This villa is truly unique. Contact us to know more.
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Savs0
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge potential - however falls short!!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 7 nights in January 2015.
The modern architectureal ambiance creates a relaxing atmosphere. The pictures on trip advisor were very accurate. The beds were excellent extremely comfortable. The staff, cleaners and secuirty were fantastic and thy are a credit to the villa.
Sadly this is where the highlights to this wonderful villa stop.

Upon arrival we were greeted at the airport and driven to the villa. We were welcomed by the staff in particular Iluh. The villa was clean and well presented. However the pool was green. Only 2 out 4 of us dared to swim in it. it wasn't until the pool maintainer added a large does of chlorine to the pool on the 5th day that it turned to a beautiful blue. Sadly this was to little to late to allow people to enjoy this feature.
Several times through our stay there power disruptions which caused the running water to the villa to stop for up to an hour each time. This also stopped the toilets from working as well.
Whilst I am on toilets a number of times sewerage began to leak from the base of each of the 3 toilets and a repairman had to be called in to fix it.

For 3 days out of 7 repairmen were here working in the villa on power, water, pool and various other jobs. This totally destroyed whatever ambiance the beautiful villa creates. The purpose of a villa is to have peace and privacy but with this villa every time you looked around there were workmen, cleaners, gardeners.

Each morning from 0830 - 1145 there were people from various trades working in the villa. Once again detracting from the peace and privacy.

I am well aware that the gardens need to be maintained and the pool needs tending but these workman should work around when occupants are not going to be present in the villa rather than times when the villa is going to be used.

It was sad that all these issues kept coming up. Because this beautiful villa is full of potential.

However as I can only speak on our particular stay in the villa I cannot recommend this villa to anyone until they take care of the a number of issues.
- pool cleanliness
- power and water disruptions
- toilet seals around the base
- timing of maintenance and the constant presence of workers.

A big thank you to all the staff who tried there best to fix all the issues as they popped up.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Dear Guest,

although mitigated, we thank you for your feedback. We appreciated that you liked the beauty of our house and the gentleness of our staff. They truly deserve it, as we are extremely careful that our guests spend the best possible holidays in our villa. Unfortunately, we do not have control over the weather, and it is true that, especially during the raining season, the pool at times gets green; this is due to a chemical reaction between the storm water and the pool water and there is not much we can do about it except add some extra chlorine, but obviously it takes some time before the pool gets clear. This concern has been shared with other owners of the villas who are also encountering the same problem, and we will make sure in the future that our guests are briefed about this potential problem.
Another problem we are facing as well are the recurrent power disruptions, which actually affect the whole island of Bali. The overall balinese electricity infrastructure do not correspond to our standards yet, although local companies are working hard to meet our clients expectations and the situation is getting better every year. We are well aware that whenever power disruptions pop up, we have to be extremely reactive, as this cause water disruptions as well with all the subsequent consequences.
We however perfectly understand your specific comment regarding the working hours of our staff, and we thank you for this constructive feedback. We will make sure in the future that the gardener and various cleaners coordinate their working time with our guests. However, whenever urgent works have to be done (e.g. sewerage, leaks,..), these repairs have to be treated as a priority for the sake of our guests.
Once again, we thank you for your feedback as this can only help us improve our service. We deeply regret the inconvenience you had to go through but we thank you nonetheless for having appreciated the beauty and the potential of our house, and we trust that this potential will bloom over the months to come.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Edwa...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A peaceful sanctuary”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The villa more than provided us with what we wanted, which was a comfortable place to retreat to after negotiating the traffic, heat and humidity outside! Everything worked and the delightful Wayan kept it clean and tidy for us. The only issue we had was the loss of the TV signal on a couple of occasions, and that appeared to be caused by the event of heavy rain. About 100 metres of unpaved road has to be negotiated on the approach to the villa complex. This can necessitate sidestepping a few puddles after a rainstorm. The mosquitoes are active at night so it is advisable to have some repellent handy.

Illuh, the owner's representative, gave us the use of a mobile phone which had hers and a few other useful numbers on it. Illuh herself was very cheerful and helpful. As well as booking taxis when needed for local trips, she arranged a driver for us when we wanted to go further afield to lake Batur.

The villa is about 10 minutes walk from the main shopping and restaurant area of Seminyak. The best cup of coffee we found was at Souqs on Sunset Road, almost opposite the Food Hall supermarket. Of the eateries we visited, we found that The Junction at Seminyak Square offered good food at a reasonable price. In general, we found people to be very friendly. For example, a shop assistant at the Bali Deli insisted on taking us, and our shopping, back to the villa in her car!

We enjoyed our 10 day stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we were looking for the same type of holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool, the air conditioning and the tropical plants.
Liked least: The mosqitoes.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you have appreciated the serenity of our villa; we put a lot of efforts in ensuring our guests the best possible moments of relaxation in our villa. We also know we can count on our exceptional staff as well. Thanks for the tips that you provide in your comment for our future guests, this will be of great help. Hope to see you soon, you will always be welcomed in our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregtrevG...
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

As regular travellers to Bali, and as travellers who always rent a villa, we have many years experience as to what constitutes value for money and a great vacation villa rental. Villa Hathor Noun was not the best villa we have stayed in but then it was also far from the worst.

The staff were quite friendly and helpful and we met the manager, Pierre, on our first day. Given the issues we experienced during our stay, however, we would have expected him to make at least a second appearance.

The villa’s relative distance from Seminyak is a godsend. Suddenly Seminyak has turned into Kuta (nothing wrong with Kuta – it’s just not our cup of tea) It’s busy and crowded and noisy and there are way too many badly behaved tourists on the streets. So, to be away from all that is a blessing. There is a local (overpriced) supermarket but we preferred to commute into Seminyak to Bintang every couple of days to stock up on the necessities (beer, tonic water etc!!) There are a couple of really great restaurants locally on Jl Mertanadi (reviewed separately).

It was disappointing that soap was not provided at the villa and it was annoying to have to make a trip out on day one to buy it – obviously, after travelling, we were anxious to shower. This is not something we had ever experienced before in Bali. Or anywhere else for that matter. Anyone who has ever spent time in the tropics knows how the climate wreaks havoc with buildings and finishings. The timber around the villa pool has been allowed to dry out and is now cracking and splintering (ouch!) The pool itself was not clean for the duration of our stay. The presence of algae and small, floating particles made us reluctant to put our heads under water. Being pool owners we made some suggestions to the pool and garden guy but despite inadequate shocking, addition of acid and vacuuming the situation never improved. Most alarming of all, all three of the villa toilets backed up on three occasions, discharging raw sewage from the base of each pan. Villa staff had someone attend within three hours on each occasion but unfortunately; pouring liquid drain unblocker is a very temporary fix. On each occasion we bleached the floors/ensuite pebbles ourselves. It was disgusting. It was actually at first suggested by the staff that we were using too much toilet paper (ludicrous) and then it was suggested that we not flush toilet paper down the toilets at all but, rather, put it in bins, Really? That idea was dismissed immediately. Hardly an ideal situation and one, which, alone, would stop us booking this villa again. Until the issue is fixed. Given the concerns we voiced to staff we really would have expected to have seen Pierre again but, alas, that did not happen. Dommage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the plumbing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
Dearest Guest,
we are extremely appreciative of your constructive feedback, although we feel deeply sorry for the series of inconveniences you had to go through. Further to your comment, we took immediate action steps so as to ensure this will never happen again. Pools can get dirty due to weather conditions, but we have asked our staff to be more observant of the situation and to be reactive whenever this happens. Same for the sewage, it is a regular problem in those regions, but we will make sure in the future to have an improved presence and attendance in order to solve such problems more promptly. Again, thanks for helping us to improve our service and should you come back and visit us (which we hope), we will make sure you will enjoy our villa at its best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anika J
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect to relax and finish our travel in a peaceful and beautiful environment”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very beautiful villa, well located, decorated with very good taste, luxurious but not to much, perfect to chill around ! Staff who welcomed us was very nice and provided us with very useful informations. WE LOVED IT!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling to be at home in such a beautiful place
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Hello Anika ! We are glad you had a wonderful time with us. Do not hesitate to come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Dearest guest, thanks for having taken the time to comment so extensively and positively on our villa. Please do not hesitate to come back visit us, our doors will always be open for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$244
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing