We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elkhorn Lodge Chama(Chama)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Juan Motel(Pagosa Springs)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

First Inn of Pagosa(Pagosa Springs)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Pagosa Springs)
US$149
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
37
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturn down servicegift shopsnacks and drinksrooms are gorgeousrocking chairsplace to staythe ownercumbres toltecacross the streetin townnorthern new mexicojimbalconybathshoppeboxcaramenities
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Take whatever preconceptions you have about bed and breakfasts and throw them out the window, because they don't apply. Take the things you don't like about a B&B and throw them out the window as well.
The owner, Jim, has set a very high standard here. Our room was very nicely decorated in the manner of a lodge. The king size bed was very comfortable. The room was at the rear and away from the road, so it was quiet. We could sit on our balcony and watch the trains from rocking chairs. The walk-in shower was huge, with a high shower head and good water pressure. Complimentary drinks and snacks were offered. The only negative was lack of internet, so I had to use my phone as a hotspot. Otherwise, there was not one single thing to nitpick. I really dislike staying at B&Bs, for a long list of reasons. But not one of those reasons was found here. This is a first-class establishment.
Breakfast is not offered, but guests are treated to a complimentary breakfast just down the street at the Boxcar Cafe, and it was very good. Just order from the menu and enjoy. The cafe is closed on Mondays, however.
If you're staying in Chama, this is THE place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Jim sets a high standard here in Chama. The rooms are beautiful and you are directly across the street from the Cumbres and Toltec Railroad station. The rate includes breakfast at the Boxcar restaurant and that is always delicious. The two gift shoppes underneath and across the street are filled with wonderful objects. Jim runs both. Good taste is easy to recognize!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We've visited Chama many times to ride the train, but by far this is the best place to stay in town. From the beautifully decorated room and bath, with attention to every detail, to the snacks to the turn-down service, the owners really paid attention to the little things that make a stay delightful. The gift shop below and the Trophy Elk Shoppe across the street are a must see, as well. Unexpected elegance in Northern New Mexico,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Chama was the last stop on a two week, eight state road trip. We actually found Dancing Wolf through tripadvisor and were intrigued by the very positive reviews and location. The room was truly exceptional in every way and Jim, the proprietor, provided for our every need without being intrusive. The décor puts the finest hotels to shame and gives one the impression that you’re a guest in private residence that is inviting, comfortable and very accommodating. Soft drinks, water and even airline bottle sized premium alcohol are complementary in the fridge. Snacks including very tasty fudge are also provided in room. The bed is large, with wonderful cotton sheets and down comforters. The shower is absolutely fantastic. The room is very relaxing, and then you step out onto the balcony to watch the sunrise or just sit out and reach a whole new level of tranquility. A walk downstairs and you are in the middle of Chama for shopping, local restaurants-pubs/bars and a short path down to the train station and yards. The first level of the building is the Red Foxx with a unique inventory including souvenirs, clothing, hats and even blankets. We will return to the Dancing Wolf, this time it will be our primary destination.

Room Tip: Only two rooms so you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MandM-JandM-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a fantastic stay here. As others have noted, the Rooms are gorgeous and tastefully decorated. The shower was wonderful with great water pressure, and the refreshments were oh so thoughtful and complimentary. We rode our bikes from Tres Piedras and had ourselves a little overnight stay on our way to Antocito and back to Tres Piedras. (Any cyclists out there? This is a terrific route with very little traffic. Message me if you want any details.) If I had known how lovely it was to stay at the Dancing Wolf, we would have booked two nights in Chama and rode out to Brazil cliffs on the second day. The scenery is gorgeous, but Jim, the owner, really made us feel welcome. He went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. I was gobsmacked. We had just left the Inn of the Five Graces in Santa Fe, or As I like to call it The Inn of the Five Zeros. Their staff could learn a LOT from Jim in terms of hotel management and hospitality.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lumi_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews