We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
117
63
20
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
63
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit hot tub great place to stay volleyball net coffee maker chama river next morning stayed one night these folks queen bed clean rooms definitely stay here again flat screen tv train ride nice room two nights santa fe
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

On our way to the town to ride the train we got an email that one of our two booked rooms was cancelled. We had not initiated the cancellation. After attempts to reach by phone, we continued on with hope that they would work out a problem on their end.

Turns out their online booking company must have cancelled one of our two rooms without knowledge to us or the owners. Fortunately they were able to put us in the house that was t rented that had three bedrooms and worked perfectly.

Not sure how it would have worked out had the house not been available as we were told they didn’t have the second lodge room available. If you have more than one room booked in same name you should be sure to call ahead and confirm or watch your email en route to be sure you don’t encounter same problem. Hopefully they dealt with the online booking company t9 prevent this mistake from happening again.

The house was clean, spacious seating , three nice bedrooms with big beds in each, two baths. Only odd part was the second bath doesn’t have an electrical outlet to use a hair dryer. Full kitchen, nice towels and linens.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SouthernWVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We had a king bed, another bedroom with smaller bed with sliding glass doors and private deck. One small bathroom with shower. had to climb up about 5 steps to small deck and front door. enter into small dining area (table and 4 chairs) Nice size couch with TV mounted to wall higher up. stove, sink and very small kitchen area (which we didn't use) these were all one area. ladder/steps up to the loft above (could sleep 6 easy) We were only 2. Our main cons were: floors were wood and the floor in the living room made loud creaking noises when you walked across it, which meant getting up at night to go to bathroom was noisy. Our biggest issue was the cleaning. Ceiling fan REALLY needed dusting(we didn't use). Stayed 2 nights and with the only cleaning the second day seemed to be making our bed and fresh bathroom towels. Floors weren't touched crumbs from night before were still there and bare feet got dirty. shower dispensers weren't filled also toilet would run periodically. But king bed was comfortable. couch was comfortable, wifi worked and tv

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cc1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We booked a room at this lodge for the night after riding the Cumbres & Toltec train ride. It is located a mile or so from the train station. Check in was seamless. The room is comfortable and clean, with a good TV, good mattress, coffee maker, microwave, small fridge and auxiliary heater should it be needed. There's nothing fancy about the room, but it certainly served our needs well. I notice there's a small play area for kids outside on the large lawn.

Room tip: Our room was typical motel, with thin walls. The cabins would be quieter.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtlemom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

The room was clean but worn looking. The tissue holder was empty and the bed and pillow past prime but other than that it was a decent room. The grounds make this place above average with a narrow trail along the river, picnic tables and grills for cookouts. And, of course, the deer. Nice place to stay when riding the Cumbres and Toltec.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

The room decor is rustic. There lodge and cabins are nestled in trees along the river. Although due to the drought it was more like a gentle stream. Property includes cabins as well. Looks like a great place for families. Very accommodating management.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank texas75056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews