We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit the bill”
Review of El Meson Lodge

El Meson Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Meson Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Chama
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We just wanted a nice, clean, inexpensive room prior to the train ride, and El Meson worked out fine for us. I thought it was strange that check-in was between 2:00 and 6:00 pm, but I called in advance and said we'd be late, and someone was there to check us in.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We were in Chama to ride the Cumbres-Toltec train. We stayed at El Meson Lodge and were thrilled with the accommodations. Big room, fridge, microwave, sleeper sofa, tv and more at a very reasonable price. Definitely a repeat when in the area.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank JO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I will start by saying the room was clean. The decor is tired looking, but I could find no signs of uncleanliness.
The TV is very old, and ours made a humming sound when in use.
The beds were not bad.
Our party had two rooms. The one closest to the office,102, had great wifi, but room 106 barely registered the signal. This was quite disappointing.
The walls are paper thin. The rooms around us were occupied by hunters who were up at 4:30 every morning talking quite loudly and running their big trucks. We had children, so this was quite frustrating.
The river runs right behind the property and the kids had fun skipping rocks. We even spotted deer on several occasions.
Overall it is probably adequate for the area. There don't seem to be many options in this small town. If the price is right, it's not a terrible option.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank cmedrano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We chose to stay at El Meson Lodge while in Chama for the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad. It is just a couple miles from town and the railroad. Our room was your basic standard-issue motel room, the most important fact being that it was clean, comfortable, and reasonable. The tight bathroom had a couple minor quirks but it was clean and serviceable. As others have mentioned, the Lodge is oddly located. It sits fairly far from the road and is situated perpendicular to it, so it is very easy to pass by. There is an RV park connected to it and the Chama River is a pleasant short stroll in back. The location would be OK if only the signage on the road was rethought. Currently alongside the road is one of those large portable moveable-letters signs with tacky flashing lights. A couple neighboring establishments have these as well. A better sign would not only serve to make the Lodge easier to find, but it would greatly enhance the tone of the place. I may sound like I'm splitting hairs here but I am sure it would be to the benefit of the business.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelin_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We have stayed here for a holiday weekend almost every year for many years. The staff is very friendly and make us feel at home. They have recently remodeled many of the rooms to make them more comfortable. The rooms are basic and clean. There is WiFi. The lodge is set back from the road so it is quieter, and it is near the river, where you can fish. Outside the grounds is a small cafe, and a fruit and vegetable stand. There are also RV and camping sites on the property on the other side of the parking lot. It is on the southern edge of town but only a few minutes from the grocery market and the rest of the town activities. They have a large common room upstairs with kitchen that can be reserved for a group for an extra charge. The entrance is easy to miss, as the sign saying "El Meson" is small, so look for the driveway just past the fruit stand tent and before the cafe on the west side of the main highway through town at the far south end of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArezzoNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chama hotels
0.4 km away
Chama River Bend Lodge
0.1 km away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#5 of 8 in Chama
114 reviews
2.5 km away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.9 km away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson Lodge

Address: 2667 South Hwy 84/64, P.O. Box 647, Chama, NM 87520
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Chama
Price Range: RM 258 - RM 262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Meson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing