We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
2
6
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
6
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We just wanted a nice, clean, inexpensive room prior to the train ride, and El Meson worked out fine for us. I thought it was strange that check-in was between 2:00 and 6:00 pm, but I called in advance and said we'd be late, and someone was there to check us in.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We were in Chama to ride the Cumbres-Toltec train. We stayed at El Meson Lodge and were thrilled with the accommodations. Big room, fridge, microwave, sleeper sofa, tv and more at a very reasonable price. Definitely a repeat when in the area.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank JO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I will start by saying the room was clean. The decor is tired looking, but I could find no signs of uncleanliness.
The TV is very old, and ours made a humming sound when in use.
The beds were not bad.
Our party had two rooms. The one closest to the office,102, had great wifi, but room 106 barely registered the signal. This was quite disappointing.
The walls are paper thin. The rooms around us were occupied by hunters who were up at 4:30 every morning talking quite loudly and running their big trucks. We had children, so this was quite frustrating.
The river runs right behind the property and the kids had fun skipping rocks. We even spotted deer on several occasions.
Overall it is probably adequate for the area. There don't seem to be many options in this small town. If the price is right, it's not a terrible option.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank cmedrano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We chose to stay at El Meson Lodge while in Chama for the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad. It is just a couple miles from town and the railroad. Our room was your basic standard-issue motel room, the most important fact being that it was clean, comfortable, and reasonable. The tight bathroom had a couple minor quirks but it was clean and serviceable. As others have mentioned, the Lodge is oddly located. It sits fairly far from the road and is situated perpendicular to it, so it is very easy to pass by. There is an RV park connected to it and the Chama River is a pleasant short stroll in back. The location would be OK if only the signage on the road was rethought. Currently alongside the road is one of those large portable moveable-letters signs with tacky flashing lights. A couple neighboring establishments have these as well. A better sign would not only serve to make the Lodge easier to find, but it would greatly enhance the tone of the place. I may sound like I'm splitting hairs here but I am sure it would be to the benefit of the business.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelin_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We have stayed here for a holiday weekend almost every year for many years. The staff is very friendly and make us feel at home. They have recently remodeled many of the rooms to make them more comfortable. The rooms are basic and clean. There is WiFi. The lodge is set back from the road so it is quieter, and it is near the river, where you can fish. Outside the grounds is a small cafe, and a fruit and vegetable stand. There are also RV and camping sites on the property on the other side of the parking lot. It is on the southern edge of town but only a few minutes from the grocery market and the rest of the town activities. They have a large common room upstairs with kitchen that can be reserved for a group for an extra charge. The entrance is easy to miss, as the sign saying "El Meson" is small, so look for the driveway just past the fruit stand tent and before the cafe on the west side of the main highway through town at the far south end of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room if available.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArezzoNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews