We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elkhorn Lodge Chama(Chama)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Juan Motel(Pagosa Springs)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

First Inn of Pagosa(Pagosa Springs)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Pagosa Springs)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
97
37
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
37
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fandish networkroom was cleansmall townthe riverthe young ladyin townbasic lodgingkeurig coffeesmall fridgethere is no air conditioningvery comfortable stayan excellent place to stayup to datethe ownergreat rooman overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Stayed here one night before our trip on the steam train. Read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and they are accurate. Very very clean. Comfortable bed. Good wifi. Pleasant front office staff on check-in. We were on the front side of the hotel, but the traffic noise subsided by the time we turned in. We could hear muffled voices next door, but nothing that was too distracting. Our room was the first one to the left of the office on the front side.....and it was pretty hot. We opened the door before going to bed to get some fresh air. I see that now in other reviews so I don't know what the issue is with their heating/cooling. Would stay there again - good value for just a one night stay!

Room Tip: Back side of hotel would probably be better.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LlanoJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so pleased to hear your found your room very, very clean. It is a priority!
This time of year is a challenge for us, regarding the heat. Warm days and cool nights; we struggle with when to turn the boiler on/off for the season. I'm so happy you were able to open your door and get some relief!
We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Spacious 2 queen room in back of motel which is very peaceful and overlooks a large lawn. Check in and check out were friendly and prompt. Room was clean for an older motel. Price was not low, but then we were there at prime tourist season for leaf peeping on the Cumbres and Toltec Railroad.

Room Tip: Choose the back side to get an especially quiet experience.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate your comments, and your recognition of our hard work. Clean rooms are are number one priority, and we are happy you enjoyed a peaceful stay, as well as our property. We look forward to a return visit, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

It was your standard room, two queen beds. It was very clean and comfortable. The wifi was spotty and suprisingly the rooms were very warm..almost too warm. The staff was more than courteous and very welcoming. The back area along the river is a welcoming and beautiful area, a definite must to just relax and unwind. If I am in the area again I would definitley stay here!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank briantraub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank your so much for taking the time to review our property! We are happy you found clean, comfortable rooms, and a great place to relax and unwind. Our apologies for a too warm room; this time of year, we turn the boilers off during the day, but invaribly we have a guest who is cold and wants heat. The good news is our heating system works really well! Thanks again; we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Super friendly staff. Ask for a room on the back side away from the highway for a quieter room. No A/C but ok for a cool evening. Not sure I would want to stay during warmer weather. Clean, comfortable & park in front of your room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks so much for your review of Vista del Rio Lodge! We appreciate your acknowledgement of our hard work, and happy your found our staff friend, and your room clean and comfortable. We struggle this time of year, with the huge temperature variations(30-40 degrees), with how long to leave the boilers on in the mornings. At 8,000 feet, we rarely need AC, but as you experienced, our heating system works really well! Thanks again, and we look forward to a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Very friendly person at the front desk. Room was very clean and very adequate. The wifi was strong and fast. This was a great place to stay if you are riding the Cumbres-Totec Steam Railroad in downtown Chama. There is no breakfast served the next morning but there was a coffee pot in the room. The room did get very warm and we had to open the door in the morning. There is a ceiling fan to use.The room was very clean.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back away from the road and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RTTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review of Vista del Rio Lodge. We appreciate you acknowledging our hard work. This time of year is always difficult in finding the right temperature balance, warm days and cold nights, means boilers off, boilers on. I'm glad you were able to open the door and enjoy the cool morning!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews