We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vista Del Rio Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We loved our two night stay here while in town for the train ride. Every thing went smoothly. The staff was very good, especially Leah (?) on the evening shift. She was very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area. The other staff was fine too...we just didn't interact with them much. The room was clean and well cared for. bathroom is small, but didn't detract from our weekend. availability of Keurig coffee in the office was nice. No microwave in the room but you can use one in the office area. wi-fi was pretty dependable and quick.

Room Tip: pretty much the same everywhere, but stay in the back if you don't want the road side. Guess it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge our hard work, and I will let Leah read you review. She is amazing and always appreciates being mentioned in reviews! We look forward to a return visit if you are ever in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Stayed here one night before our trip on the steam train. Read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and they are accurate. Very very clean. Comfortable bed. Good wifi. Pleasant front office staff on check-in. We were on the front side of the hotel, but the traffic noise subsided by the time we turned in. We could hear muffled voices next door, but nothing that was too distracting. Our room was the first one to the left of the office on the front side.....and it was pretty hot. We opened the door before going to bed to get some fresh air. I see that now in other reviews so I don't know what the issue is with their heating/cooling. Would stay there again - good value for just a one night stay!

Room Tip: Back side of hotel would probably be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LlanoJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so pleased to hear your found your room very, very clean. It is a priority!
This time of year is a challenge for us, regarding the heat. Warm days and cool nights; we struggle with when to turn the boiler on/off for the season. I'm so happy you were able to open your door and get some relief!
We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Spacious 2 queen room in back of motel which is very peaceful and overlooks a large lawn. Check in and check out were friendly and prompt. Room was clean for an older motel. Price was not low, but then we were there at prime tourist season for leaf peeping on the Cumbres and Toltec Railroad.

Room Tip: Choose the back side to get an especially quiet experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate your comments, and your recognition of our hard work. Clean rooms are are number one priority, and we are happy you enjoyed a peaceful stay, as well as our property. We look forward to a return visit, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

It was your standard room, two queen beds. It was very clean and comfortable. The wifi was spotty and suprisingly the rooms were very warm..almost too warm. The staff was more than courteous and very welcoming. The back area along the river is a welcoming and beautiful area, a definite must to just relax and unwind. If I am in the area again I would definitley stay here!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank briantraub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank your so much for taking the time to review our property! We are happy you found clean, comfortable rooms, and a great place to relax and unwind. Our apologies for a too warm room; this time of year, we turn the boilers off during the day, but invaribly we have a guest who is cold and wants heat. The good news is our heating system works really well! Thanks again; we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Super friendly staff. Ask for a room on the back side away from the highway for a quieter room. No A/C but ok for a cool evening. Not sure I would want to stay during warmer weather. Clean, comfortable & park in front of your room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSCasford, Owner at Vista Del Rio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks so much for your review of Vista del Rio Lodge! We appreciate your acknowledgement of our hard work, and happy your found our staff friend, and your room clean and comfortable. We struggle this time of year, with the huge temperature variations(30-40 degrees), with how long to leave the boilers on in the mornings. At 8,000 feet, we rarely need AC, but as you experienced, our heating system works really well! Thanks again, and we look forward to a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chama hotels
0.1 km away
Chama River Bend Lodge
0.6 km away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#4 of 8 in Chama
114 reviews
2 km away
Branding Iron Motel
Branding Iron Motel
#6 of 8 in Chama
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Parlor Car Bed & Breakfast
0.5 km away
El Meson Lodge
El Meson Lodge
#9 of 10 in Chama
11 reviews
3.4 km away
Gandy Dancer Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Del Rio Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Del Rio Lodge

Address: 2595 US Highway 84-64, Chama, NM 87520-9701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Price Range: RM 312 - RM 429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy our delightful AAA-approved property on the banks of the beautiful Chama River! Rooms are furnished with handmade Southwestern theme furniture, by local artisan James Carrillo. Free high speed Wifi, in-room coffee, refrigerators, HD Dish including HBO. Create that perfect cup of coffee at our coffee bar in the lobby. 2 Miles south of the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad, as well as conveniently located near Heron Lake and El Vado State Parks, and Humphries and Sargeants Wildlife Areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Rio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing