We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and tranquil soul food safari”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balule Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Loved the calm, authentic, engaged and personal experience at Toro Yaka. Hosts and all staff are exceptionally friendly, and Toro Yaka takes pride in hosting only 8-12 guests at a time in order to provide a personal experience. They clearly love the bush and life in the bush - and share their passion with us guests :) And they learned our names already on day 1!
Our party of four (parents and two teenagers) stayed for 5 nights and went on 1-2 game drives every day, wonderfully guided by Mike on both driving and walking safaris. He knows incredible amounts of information about the bush and every animal, tree and flower! Saw a lot of animals incl big fives, seems Mike spot the wetter than the other rangers we met in different vehicles ;) Some rides have less animals as they wander freely and are all over or nowhere ;)
Rooms are charming and the food and service is lovely, meals served in different parts of the premises on different days. And you can book the best massages with Nicole, highly recommended! Steve was out the week we visited, but thank you Nicole and all staff for a week we will never forget!! Hope to be back..

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

Relaxful,
Great Food,
Staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful
Informative guides
Family Friendless
Met our adult children in S Africa n we drove here from JoBerg.
More fantastic than I could imagine!
Spent 5 days n 4 nights. Should have stayed longer!

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank fluffella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

I just can't recommend this place highly enough!

Yes, this place has everything you would expect from a nice private reserve lodge -
comfortable large rooms, great grounds, top restaurants worthy food, memorable drive and walk safaris with highly experienced guides and a welcoming team of people who make sure you are well looked after from the moment you arrive. However, what was really special for me is that I was not just a single guest but a member of a family consisting of staff and guests that are having a fantastic time sharing meals, drinks and drives, getting to know each other and, in some cases, becoming good friends. No wonder they have people coming back again and again.

Thank you Nichole, Steve and the rest of the crew for a very special experience. Hope to be back again. Igor

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Igor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

The glowing reviews are well-deserved, as the rooms, food, hospitality and game drives are all exceptional. What really stood out for us was the depth of knowledge and respect Mike and Steve have and share about the wildlife and ecosystems of Kruger. Most people go on safari to see the amazing big beasts -- and we did! But they're equally knowledgeable about the bugs and birds and everything in between, providing a depth to the experience that you might not get elsewhere. Along with the creature comforts and congenial atmosphere, a visit to Toro Yaka is sure to be an enriching experience.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Thanks to Steve and Nicole for sharing their Toro Yaka, "My Dream". Everyone should come to Africa at least once in their life, but particularly to Toro Yaka for an affordable 5 star, true wildlife experience. We stayed for 7 nights in May, and every one of the 11 game drives with the dynamic duo, 'Magic Mike' and side kick Brendon was off the richter scale. Mike had to ask me whether I was still breathing as the excitement of tracking the animals through the bush, seeing these amazing animals so close, and being able to spend as much time as possible watching them made my heart stop! Thanks to Steve for a wonderful game walk and fantastic discussions, and to Nicole and helpers for the amazing food and amenities.
Steve, Nicole, Mike and Brendon and all others that share their dedication, knowledge and passion for conservation will help to ensure that our grand-children will enjoy the same privilege of seeing these magnificent animals in the wild.
Thanks again for everything, look forward to seeing you again, Di and Gary

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 141whatsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
5.7 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
273 reviews
33.9 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
28.9 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
445 reviews
34.6 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
628 reviews
3.3 km away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toro Yaka Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toro Yaka Bush Lodge

Address: Sable Road, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: RM960 - RM3,919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner/Manager team Steve & Nicole Baillie would like to invite you to visit Toro Yaka Bush Lodge. This special lodge is nestled in the heart of the Balule Nature Reserve, a 38 000 hectare conservancy, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park area. ToroYaka means “My Dream” in Northern Sotho, one of South Africa’s local languages, and the creation of Toro Yaka Bush Lodge has fulfilled the dreams of Steve and Nicole, by establishing a haven of peace and tranquility from which to share their passion for nature. The lodge has been designed in a modern elegant style, with a relaxed atmosphere, allowing guests to sit back, relax and feel at home. The six en-suite double rooms ensure tranquility and comfort at all times. Steve has spent more than a decade sharing his knowledge and love for the bush with clients from all over the world at luxury game lodges throughout South Africa. Nicole is a qualified holistic massage therapist and takes care of all the tiny details. Together with the Toro Yaka Staff, they will ensure your stay to be a memorable one. Balule is home to a large variety of plants and animals. From the smallest spider to the largest elephant, from the tiniest flower to a 1000 year old Leadwood tree, owls at night and eagles by day, every aspect of the ecosystem is explored. The Olifants River, which flows year round through the Balule, is home to hippos and crocodiles, and the whole area is one of scenic splendor, with the northern tip of the Drakensberg mountain range being visible from many points. Together with all of this, Toro Yaka Bush Lodge offers you good home cooked food, friendly service, warm South African Hospitality and loads of enthusiasm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing