We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
389
31
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
31
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower self catering the reserve river bed staff were wonderful game lodge safari experience lounge area wild animals memorable experience sundowner drinks off road blown away family suite meal times within hours kruger national park
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Beyond any expectation from our arrival to departure. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. We stayed in #8 with a great view of the watering hole. Our room was very comfortable and the our door shower was wonderful. Where else can you shower and watch monkeys "fly" through the tress over head! Our guide Bradley and tracker Orlando were great. I think they had almost more fun then we did on our game drives. Saw the big 5 and then some. Service is wonderful. Food and beverage manager Pride made sure our needs were meet at each meal. And the staff is fabulous. Put Thornybush on your wish list.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBW_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi FBW_MN, thank-you so much for leaving this review for Thornybush Lodge, we really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

From the moment we entered this beautiful game lodge, we knew this safari would be a very special one. The lodge is located on a private reserve where animals roam freely between the reserve and the adjacent national forest. Because it is a private reserve, guides can drive “off road” to give their guests incredible views of animals as they go about their everyday lives. Our guide, Hennie, and our tracker, July, were phenomenal. Hennie taught about each species as we were observing them and explained why it was easy to get so close to them - a result of the trust developed over many years between the animals and the guides/trackers/staff. They worked constantly to give us amazing opportunities to see as many animals as we could. We saw lions, leopards, elephants, painted dogs, monkeys, baboons, black and white rhinos, hippos, zebras, kudus, impalas, Cape Buffalo, wildebeest, and more birds than can be mentioned. Thornybush staff are also committed to anti-poaching and practices that promote the physical and emotional well-being of all of their wildlife. In addition to explaining and modeling their safety and security practices, they also provided a lecture on the poaching of rhinos to raise public awareness of this horrific problem and the need for human protection of all wildlife.

The lodge, dining experience, food, and accommodations were all superb. This is not a “roughing it” experience. The lodge was a beautiful open air facility and our cottages were elegant. We had outdoor showers, decks, and beautiful rooms that provided views of wildlife roaming on the preserve. We also took advantage of their excellent spa which we also highly recommend!

If you are looking for a South African Safari, it would be hard to find one better than Thornybush. We think this is a travel experience of a lifetime!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi there Cheryl K, thank-you so much for taking the time to leave this detailed review of your stay at Thornybush Lodge, we really appreciate it. We also really love hearing guests explain their stay with us as an 'experience of a lifetime', it means a lot to us to be able to leave a mark with our guests. Hope to see you back again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a stunning lodge. Great staff, fantastic food, idyllic location. Elvis looked after us extremely well at meal times as did Pride. The two Kirstys couldn’t do enough to help.

It was our first safari experience and we were blown away. We had not appreciated how close we would be to so many magnificent animals. There was nothing we didn’t see. Elephant and Lion up close especially got the heart racing. We even saw Elephant from our lodge balcony and the lunch deck. Animals can roam free in the grounds so warthog, kudu, monkeys a daily sight. Lion and Leopard can wander in so an escort back to your lodge is mandatory!

Special mentions to Lindi and Pieter and FW & July who did a fantastic job of finding animals and giving us a great view - an iPhone was all we needed for great pics. Highlights perhaps were (but so many) hippo rolling around in dam and showing us his huge mouth, leopard & cubs, young zebra, young lions play fighting, giraffe and elephant, black and white rhino..the list goes on!

The lodges are beautiful, roomy and completely private. The outdoor shower and the bath looking straight out into the bush are lovely added touches.

It is really difficult to think of how the experience could be improved.

The only disappointment I experienced was when I inadvertently sent shorts to laundry and I had left them in the room with $280 in the pocket. The shorts were returned but not the money. Can I be certain? 99%. Could the money have dropped out of the pocket before they went for washing? Possibly. So perhaps I just lost it. I couldn’t really complain as I should have emptied my pockets.

The safe is in the room for a reason...best use it...or perhaps lose it.

A very small point in the scheme of things - an absolutely first class destination. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank gawilson2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi there gawilson2016, thank-you so much for taking the time to leave this review for Thornybush Lodge! I'm so thrilled that you had a great time here with us, although I'm troubled at the thought of money having gone missing. I'm going to escalate this to make sure everything has been done in order to find out what happened to this money. Thanks for mentioning this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Exceptional! Beautiful lodge and accomodations. Staff were wonderful and the sights unparalleled. Our guide Wayne and tracker John deBest were fantastic, through thickets and bushes, we got as close as we could to all the magnificent seven and more. A wonderful adventure of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hi Carla T, thank-you so much for leaving this review for Thornybush Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We stayed at Thornybush Game Lodge in February 2018. We loved every minute. It exceeded any expectations. The room was wonderful and the food was great. Maybe too great. We saw so many animals when out on the game drives that I had to stop taking photos when I had taken 1800 photos. We saw all the big 5 and more. And up close and wonderful. Jack was the best guide ever. He found animals and their babies when other guides couldn't. I can't say enough about the quality of this resort.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hello Gwen G, thank-you so much for leaving this review of your stay at Thornybush Lodge. So glad that you had a wonderful time! Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews