We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The River Lodge At Thornybush
Nearby Hotels
Thornybush Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monwana Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Serondella Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shumbalala Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterbuck Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Thornybush Waterside Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
N'kaya Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
72
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolan updategame drivessmall thingsfive starluxury safaristayed nightswonderful experiencecomfortable bedsprivate gamestar experienceoutdoor showersouth africaout of this worldevery mealblack rhinoliza
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

we took the entire lodge for a weekend & were not disappointed. what a treat. the rooms were unbelievable. we had an elephant almost put his trunk into the bath which opened up to the outside. the food was excellent for every meal. No complaints at. I would love to return one day.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Africapaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Community Manager at The River Lodge At Thornybush, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi there Africapaddy, thank-you so much for your review! I'm so glad that you had a great time with us at River Lodge. Hope to see you back some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Our family of four spent 4 nights in 2 suites at the lodge over Christmas. With only 5 suites in the property, this is a remarkably comfortable (and true luxury) boutique resort perfectly situated near Kruger Park. Each suite is large - at least 600 sq ft inside before you count an outer deck, kitchen, and plunge pool overlooking the savannah where monkeys, baboons, and other four legged friends frequent.

The dining - breakfast, lunch and dinner is expertly curated by the chef and more than enough food and variety to accommodate even the heartiest foodies. Snacks and wine were provided on all Safari trips.

The best part is the Safari trips, which travel on the dirt roads that traverse Thornybush but also can off-road into the deep bush. We discovered the big 5 plus within 24 hours of our visit and on one trip offroaded to catch a leopardess snacking on her recent catch. In our case we were able to secure a private driver and tracker which made the trip much more exclusive without having to share a car with another family. Warning: getting up at 5:30am every day for the morning drive and then going out again at 4:00pm can be taxing, but well worth it - spend at least 3 nights to make the most of it.

Our thanks to Darryn, Nick, Odelia, Chris, Truth, Chef and the rest of the staff for a truly memorable and exceptional visit. We hope to see you again!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Community Manager at The River Lodge At Thornybush, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Hi there Keith M, thank-you so much for leaving this review! How wonderful that you got to see so much on your stay here with us! Looking forward to having you back. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Arrived by transport from skuzuza to river lodge excellent setting lodges are huge certainly five star. Not a huge camp only four of us in a vehicle which was great from our point of view. Meals were great as was the staff the only thing I could say in its disfavour was the height of the huge double bed being only five foot tall and 71 years old I had to climb on the ottoman and crawl up the bed. When I told manager she gave me a set of small steps which were great but would be good idea if all the lodges were provided with them . Saw everything including big five couldn’t fault it was super stay

Room Tip: All lodges are superb
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alexandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Community Manager at The River Lodge At Thornybush, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hello alexandra m, thank-you so much for taking the time to leave this review! I'm thrilled that you had a wonderful time with us, despite the bed issue. I'll definitely pass your recommendation on to management. Hope to see you again. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated to an experience we never forget. This is a small lodge and therefore perfect for our first game drive experiences. The main lodge is beautiful decorated with a lovely decking area. Our first lunch saw elephants casually wandering in!
The rooms are large, private & exceptionally comfortable. All the staff were friendly & would do anything to ensure you stay was perfect. Kelly and Chad were the best hosts we could have asked for.
The food was excellent quality.
The game drives were the highlight of our whole trip. We saw and learnt so much. We would love to return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Community Manager at The River Lodge At Thornybush, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Hi there Kathryn L, thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review! We are so glad that your first safari experience was an enjoyable one - and even more happy that it was with us :) We hope to see you again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

we spent a memorable 4 days at the river lodge at Thornybush- everything was 10 star- the game, the accommodation and the staff and service- we were very fortunate in that we saw leopard and her cubs, cheetah walking past the landrover, lions and their cubs, lions mating, black rhino, white rhino, elephants etc etc. the ranger and his tracker were outstanding and so knowledgeable.we learnt so much.
the staff could not have been more accommodating,the food was wonderful.
we stayed in a free standing thatched "cottage' - it was pure luxury. we were enjoyed some of our meals on our large patio overlooking our own pool. the bathroom was amazing- it could have been in any high level designer magazine.
We have been to private game parks before, but never at this level.
we will definitely be back- thanks so much to all the staff who made our stay so special.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hilarycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews