We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Our family of 4 stayed for three night at the end of a 3 week South African holiday . The stay here was so special . We were lucky to have our own vehicle and each day was tailored to our wishes . Our ranger Ruan and tracker Vusi were both outstanding . They went above and beyond to find the sightings we were after . Ruan was so enthusiastic ! We had great viewing including being 2 m from a baby cheetah cub.
The lodge was very luxurious in a low key way . All the staff were super friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwandweManagement, Manager at Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear mark w,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, and for having chosen Kwandwe for your family holiday! We will be sure to pass on your comments to Ruan, Vusi and the rest of the Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge team.

We hope to welcome you and your family back in the not too distant future!

Warm regards,
The Kwandwe family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

We were lucky enough to be able to stay at this property for 3 days while in South Africa celebrating our honeymoon. I echo the sentiments of all of the other reviewers that say this is an amazing, special property. The land this property sits on is just stunning and rich with wildlife. We were able to spot the entire Big 5 during our stay. The rooms are pure elegance. We especially loved the thatched roof and romantic bathroom complete with claw foot tub. We could not get over the fact that almost every time we looked out the windows we saw wildlife: monkeys, warthogs and antelope were among are regular sightings. But, the best thing about this property is it's staff. The following people made our trip especially memorable: Patrick, Sunette, Conor, Rasi and Babsie. Thank you for giving us an experience that we will never forget.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tw954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwandweManagement, Manager at Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear tw954,

Thank you for your very kind feedback and for deciding to choose Kwandwe for your honeymoon! The Eastern Cape is indeed a beautiful place and we are privileged to call this home.

We will be sure to pass on your comments to Patrick, Sunette, Conor, Rasi, Babsie and rest of the Great Fish River Lodge team. We hope to welcome you back one day!

Warm regards,
The Kwandwe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We actually stayed here in March 2016 but never got round to writing a review.
We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and we loved our stay. The accommodation is absolutely beautiful and the food is amazing. All staff were wonderful so friendly it felt like we were staying with family here. Our ranger was Ruan, he is an great guy he's really enthusiastic and informative he loves his job and it shows. He took time to explain things to us he was happy to stop whenever we wanted to take photos. The safari was the best experience, we were lucky to see 4 or the big five and we loved all the other wildlife we managed to spot. An unforgettable trip in a beautiful reserve I wish we could visit every year.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laylatravels987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We stayed in this wonderful lodge hotel at the end of March 2017. The lodges are very well appointed and are great to stay in -right in the middle of the game reserve- with various animals close by (warthogs, who seem very friendly).
The staff and management are first class and really did everything to make us feel welcome. One evening, on our game drive -expertly managed by our ranger Ivan- it started to rain and got very cold. Upon return to the lodge, they had built a big fire in the hearth in the main building and a splendid array of warm snacks was on offer. It felt like we had come home.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andriesdevaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We spent 6 nights (highly recommended package deal) here in May 2017. We had the team of Conor and Rasi (Ranger/Tracker) who were fantastic and went our of their way to make sure we saw the BIG 5 and more. Conor took us fishing in-between game drives which was great fun and also saw lots of wildlife driving to and from the dams. The abundance of wildlife was unbelievable. We also did a couple of Big Game Walks and would highly recommend these, got to within 30m of a big Bull Elephant and a herd of Buffalo, great adrenalin rush! The rooms are plush and the huge bed is the best! Had wildlife just outside the room but always felt safe. The service and food is outstanding. Be prepared to put on weight. Staff and rangers who made our stay memorable are: Tandy, Somi, Erich, Sylvia, Sunette, Tammy, Ryan, Doc, Nic & Dave and everyone else, not forgetting Conor & Rasi. Would love to return and highly recommend this private game reserve to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want a bit of extra exercise stay in Room 1, but you have no view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwandweManagement, Manager at Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Robert B,

Thank you so much for your very kind and generous feedback - the team will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much. It's great that you participated in so many activities, which certainly does add variety to a safari trip!

We will be sure to pass on your comments to Conor, Rasi, Tandy, Somi, Erich, Sylvia, Sunette, Tammy, Ryan, Doc, Nic, Dave and the rest of the Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge team!

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
The Kwandwe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
0 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
59 reviews
35.9 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,406 reviews
10.5 km away
Kwandwe Uplands Homestead
Kwandwe Uplands Homestead
#4 of 4 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Address: Heatherton Towers, Fort Brown District | Grahamstown, Kwandwe Private Game Reserve 6140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Price Range: RM 2,790 - RM 7,938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This founding lodge with only 9 privately situated suites features a classic-contemporary style of simple elegance that embraces the lodge's splendid setting high up on a steep bank overlooking the Great Fish River. The colour scheme comprises a calm and natural palette of earthy tones, from khaki browns to charcoal greys.Pewter and glass add an effortless yet understated glamour to the furnishings; artefacts such as ostrich eggshells, hides and horns create subtle points of interest and relevance to the lodge's surrounds, whilst natural linens and plenty of texture preserve its simple but sophisticated atmosphere.Watch majestic kudu meander down to the river from the Lodge's expansive viewing decks, or observe playful Cape clawless otters swimming in the cool waters below from the comfort of your private balcony. Suites are spacious and feature en-suite bathrooms, indoor and outdoor showers, personal in-room bars and private decks with plunge pools overlooking the vast reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwandwe Great Fish River Hotel Kwandwe Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing