We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good art collection, great house”
Review of Taos Art Museum

Taos Art Museum
Ranked #20 of 95 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Taos's newest museum, opened in 1994, has a collection of works by early members of the Taos Society of Artists never seen before by the public.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good art collection, great house”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

As other reviewers have written, the house here is the real star. Beautiful woodwork, lovely setting. The art is fine (although the collection at the Harwood museum is better), but wandering through the house makes it worthwhile.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DC_blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    50
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
655 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“The House is the Star”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Fascinating house. The art is interesting, too. A memorable site.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chimayo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Got married here!”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My fiance and I live in New Mexico and had been before to Nicholai Fechin's house, which is the home of the Taos Art Museum. We found that we could have our wedding there in the beautiful second-floor sunroom. It was a mostly cloudy/snowy day, but the sun came out for our ceremony! The art is wonderful: a changing gallery of noted Taos artists, men and women, as well as paintings by Fechin himself. He also designed and built the house, had local woodworkers execute his vision, and made wonderful carved furniture himself. The house is as much a part of the experience as the art on the walls. And, if you're planning an event, the staff is very welcoming; a delight to work with. Also, lots of free parking!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NorseGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

on a chilly December afternoon near Christmas, we wondered along the streets to the Fechin Museum and had the place literally to ourselves. If you like art, his work is incredible.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jennie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“art and artist home”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Fechin house is the home of Nicolai Fechin, a Russian born artist who settled in Taos. The beautifully preserved house holds his and other artist's work.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Crone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taos Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Taos Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing