We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DC (Blackie) Swart, Schooners Galley”
Review of Esikhotheni Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pongola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Esikhotheni Lodge
Ranked #9 of 16 Pongola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Impressive, was our first views, Office, Management, Bar and cleaning staff very good and profesional, BUT!, our lodge, Askari 3 had no locks on the door, the stove did not work, top fridge do not make cold but the deep freeze was a winner, Management gave us the lodge next door and everything wa O/K, Thanks for a good few days, we will visit again !!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BlackieSwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2016

We stayed overnight en-route from Johannesburg to Mozambique. As it was just a stop over, we booked the dinner and breakfast option. Were a little concerned to discover a large sign on main road that said the place had been up for Auction between the date of our booking and our arrival. Some of the staff are concerned for their jobs. There was no one at Reception when we checked in and had to phone to find someone who blamed the gate security for not letting him know we had arrived. The room was lovely and clean with King Bed, Bath & Shower - view from bathroom overlooking the bush. Good Water Pressure and bar fridge - though the dam view was a bit of a poetic licence. It is quite a distance away from the chalet we stayed in.
Dinner however was a complete disappointment. We are "foodies" and good cooks. Starter of Butternut soup was pleasant but the main course consisted of two overcooked chicken thighs, "creamed" spinach, which hadn't even smelled a splash of cream and baby potatoes. All of which was OVER SALTED. Not only boring but we felt as though the management were cooking for their family and just prepared 2 extra portions. Hardly the fare we expected for the price. Dessert was purportedly Malva pudding which tasted more like a bran muffin and was served dry without icecream / cream or custard. Breakfast was ok - but when I order soft eggs, they won't stay soft if you keep them warm for 10 minutes while we eat our Muesli and yoghurt. No muffins / cold platters or croissants. Again very Basic for the price. Bar Prices were reasonable but the wine selection was also rather limited. We were the ONLY guests at the time but no excuse for such poor fare. Here's hoping the new owners get the message. Perhaps the self catering option would have been preferable.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CVanmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

The service was great and we felt soooo at home.
The owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.
The pricing is also very good and I can recommend it to anyone whishing to travel to Jozini whether it is fishing or hunting

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank demeyerjp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We stayed 5 nights in Askari 1 self catering. The lodge is beautifully set on a large farm with lots of animals roaming around. Although the pointer in Google points to loction on a south side of N2 (not the lake side) there is an easy access to the dam from the farm and beautiful views from the main lodge. The tiger fishing charters are great and we managed to catch many fish.
The only concern we had is security of acommodation - chalets don't lock, so you will have to lock your valuables in your car. We travel with a lot of electronics and not-so-cheap camera equipment, so it's inconvenient.
We did love the lodge though and had fantastic time.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank AM-Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Excellent stay again, Linda and Dave make you feel like family such a great welcome. Food is excellent they are so accommodating with your requirements, I cant wait to go back again such a wonderful place

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulinemQ607VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pongola hotels
21.2 km away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
27.8 km away
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
#5 of 16 in Pongola
41 reviews
0.4 km away
Kastelein B&B
Kastelein B&B
#4 of 16 in Pongola
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
0.9 km away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 16 in Pongola
86 reviews
0.9 km away
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Pongola
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esikhotheni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esikhotheni Lodge

Address: 2 Off N, Pongola 3990, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esikhotheni (pronounced “ss-khot-hen”), Zulu for “In the Sticks,” is by no means primitive and untamed as the name would suggest. Comfortable and elegant without being fussy, Esikhotheni Lodge celebrates tranquil charm, surrounded by untouched African bush, on a stunning hilltop location overlooking the shimmering Jozini Lake. Superior accommodation is offered in 7 en-suite chalets, positioned for optimum privacy; all have private patios with magnificent magnificent views. The bathrooms are very spacious with large showers and raised oval baths with clear views of the lake. The Honeymoon Suite is designed with the more romantic guest in mind, with a private Jacuzzi set on an extended deck in the bush. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing