We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ulusaba Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We just returned back from an AMAZING trip from Ulusaba. We highly suggest doing a couple of nights at the Safari Lodge and then a couple of nights at the Rock Lodge- they are completely different experiences. We just want to thank the staff, including our amazing guides and tracker- Philip and Kaiser. Thank you for your expertise, warmth, and general passion for what you do and making this trip unforgettable.

This is definitely a special trip and worth every penny (it is EXPENSIVE!), but you get what you pay for- amazing accommodations, excellent service, great meals, all you can drink top shelf booze, and great game viewing.

Room Tip: We stayed in Master Suite in Rock Lodge first and it was FANTASTIC- w/plunge pool, great sitting are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 265 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

Other than this place is truly magical, words cannot express the wonder of Ulusaba.. You will have to go and experience it for yourself.

We were met at the airstrip by our ranger Greg and tracker Joseph, I had read many positive reviews about these two and was delighted that we got them too, what a pair ! Their knowledge about the bush was incredible, Greg knew so much about it all, the Eco system, animals, plants, etc etc.....add on the pair being a comedic double act too and you will have some idea of how much fun their game drives were.

Joseph could spot the minutest of partial animal prints in the sand, tell us what they were and then go tracking them..incredible.

He even spotted a chameleon and stick insect in total darkness just with the arc lamp.

We asked if on one of our drives if we could incorporate walking too as we were interested in the smaller things that live there not just the big 5.

We found a dung beetle going about his business, the most stunning looking butterfly just sitting about, scorpion holes, the most incredible spikey bushes that protect themselves from their flowers being eaten, a tiny bird chasing an eagle away from its nest, a monitor lizard being hounded away from some Egyptian geese's eggs by all the other birds around the watering hole, the list goes on.

We saw the big 5 which was very special obviously and many others, the highlight was managing to see a leopard with her 3 month old cub, we also say 3 lioness sisters feeding on a warthog and also saw a lion hunting buffalo.

Everyday there was something new to see.

The staff at Ulusaba were amazing, there were too many to mention but Ernest our waiter was so very lovely, Kim the manager at Safari was so attentive, a really lovely lady, Henry and Richard and many others.

As Richard said on our leaving "Ulusaba will be quieter without you"

I guess that comment was down to our constant laughter with the staff and far too much Champagne,Amarula and gin and tonics around the fireplace in the evening.

We stayed in Elephant 1.... Wow, the room was just beautiful, think Savoy hotel in the bush.

Brace yourselves guys, I'm coming back in May.

Well done to the Ulusaba family....it's just that, family....so very special.

Annee and Pammy xx

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank anneeSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stumbled across Ulusaba when we were looking through a wedding magazine for ideas on our honeymoon - we looked at other safari lodges but kept coming back to Ulusaba and knew then that we had to book it...and boy, it did not disappoint!

When we arrived at Ulusaba "airport" and were greeted by our ranger Sean with a glass of champagne we knew we had made the right choice! From then until the end of our stay things just got better and better!

The room we stayed in was out of this world - it was comfortable and luxurious at the same time and we were lucky enough to have a room with a plunge pool which was particularly relaxing after the morning game drive.

The food was amazing and was offered in abundance - you never went hungry that was for sure! We booked in for a private meal in the wine cellar one evening which added a touch of romance and exclusivity. Other than that we ate our meals together as a large group which was lots of fun.

All of the staff were friendly and accommodating - they really made you feel at home and nothing was too much to ask.

The game drives were amazing, all thanks to our fab ranger Sean and tracker James. They made sure we got to see everything which included wild dog and hyena pups, as well as the big 5. They also took the time to point out the smaller animals/creatures in the bush that often go unnoticed ...which my other half loved because it meant he got to use his macro lens!

All in all it was an absolutely awesome trip - we have some incredible photos and memories that will last forever. It was the most perfect way to start our married life together and we will be back....for every anniversary if we could afford it!!!

Thanks to everyone for making our honeymoon so special!

Room Tip: Based on what the other guests were saying, all the rooms are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milesymilesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLELondon, General Manager at Ulusaba Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful feedback. Ulusaba really is a special place to spend such a momentous occasion as your honeymoon so we’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed it as much as you did! I’ll be sure to pass your comments onto Sean and James as I know they’d love to hear them.

We hope to welcome you back to Ulusaba in the near future!

All the best
Karl Langdon
General Manager at Ulusaba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

It was everything we wanted from our safari experience. Liquor was all top shelf and food was amazing. The safaris were great as well (we saw the big 5 day 1). Not 1 compliant from us. Be sure to get massages as I had the best massage of my life there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Ulusaba takes your breath away and is just perfect. There cannot be many better places in the world than this if you want to commune and experience the reality of nature. The place runs like clockwork starting with the 5am wake up call, the 5:30 early morning safari; return for a quality breakfast; have some leisure time or a planned activity; enjoy a scrumptious lunch then prepare for the late afternoon safari followed by a bbq or an intimate dinner. All the staff pamper and care for you expertly, taking great care to keep you safe and well protected. Greg our safari guide was affable and a 'fountain' of knowledge. The place is unpretentious and exudes quality. You can almost run out of superlatives trying to describe your stay.

The safaris themselves were memorable. During our short stay we went out on four. I won't tell you what you can expect to see because that would spoil your moment. Rest assured you won't be disappointed.

My wife and I have travelled extensively all over the world and were getting slightly jaded. Ulusaba invigorated us and brought back that special feeling of awe and pleasure again when visiting a special place..

If you can please take time to visit/tour the village close by and see the work being carried out by the Pride 'n Purpose development initiatives. By going on the tour you will be directly contributing to the various projects being undertaken in the village. Better still find room in your suitcase for writing materials, paper, pencils, pens even books which you can donate to one of the schools as part of your visit. And meet the delightful children who attend the classes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kempr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLELondon, General Manager at Ulusaba Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it really is greatly appreciated and I can assure you that I will pass all comments onto the team as I know they’ll be so pleased to hear them. We believe Ulusaba is a very special place and so glad to hear you felt invigorated after your stay.

It was also great to hear that found time during your stay to go on the community trip. The team that heads this up do an amazing job and I’m delighted you could see first-hand the impact their work has on the local communities so thank you for taking the time out of your holiday to spend some time seeing this.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to Ulusaba.

All the best
Karl Langdon
General Manager of Ulusaba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
14.5 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
456 reviews
4.4 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
439 reviews
21.6 km away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 km away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#15 of 176 in Kruger National Park
261 reviews
23.8 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
398 reviews
0.0 km away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulusaba Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulusaba Safari Lodge

Address: Sabi Sand, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ulusaba Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari Lodge is built along the banks of the dry Mabrak riverbed. The 11 rooms at Safari Lodge include a Treehouse Suite overlooking the nearby Xikwenga Dam as well as three other room types: Safari, Elephant and River Rooms, some of which have private plunge pools. Kids over the age of 12 are welcome to stay at Safari Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ulusaba Safari Hotel Ulusaba Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing