We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Housemartin Guest Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
64
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshouse martinan absolute delightsouth africapool areagarden routenew ownersklein karoolovely guesthousegroup tourpleasant gardenample safe parkingsuperb hostsmain roadclean roomsstayed for nightshosts janfilter coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

House Martin Guest House was the perfect place to stay and was our preferred choice of all the hotels and guest houses we stayed in during our trip along the Garden Route to Cape Town. We would thoroughly recommend it for the accommodation of twelve en-suite luxury guest rooms with individual balconies set around the secluded garden of the 110 year old Victorian manor house. Our evening meals, one a superb buffet with locally resourced game meats and vegetables, the second a braai cooked by our wonderful host and the breakfasts served in the lovely dining room were memorable. On our arrival we found welcoming sherry in our rooms and all the usual tea and coffee making facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same facilities with the peaceful garden outlook. Most have a few steps from ground level onto the balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Dear Wendy

Thank you for your review and especially thank you for staying with us. It's always a pleasure when we know our guests have had a good time.

See you next time

Kind regards and all the best

Theresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

I stayed for 2 nights in January 2018 and was thoroughly impressed with every aspect of Housemartin. The room was beautiful, the amenities thoughtful and the grounds immaculate. The owners were incredibly welcoming, from the initial email to the final goodbye. They went above and beyond to make my visit to De Rust perfect. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kasefofane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Erik

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We loved hosting you and the feeling is mutual as we would have welcomed a longer stay.

Kind regards and all the best for the rest of the year

Theresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We visited Housemartin Guest Lodge during a trip to the Cape.
We were warmly welcomed and shown all the superb facilities by the owner.
We were very impressed with all the facilities and the room, very clean and well set out.
the pool and other facilities which we used after a long hot drive were great.
The owner gave us a good explanation as to what dining facilities there were available in the town.
We will definitely visit again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Ray

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate all your comments and certainly hope you will visit again soon

Kind regards

Theresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

You could not wish for better accommodation. Jan and Theresa are superb hosts. The rooms are well appointed with the usual additions including sherry. A pool a quiet garden secure undercover parking within walking distance of everything De Rust has to offer . Our large group enjoyed a prearranged braai ( Barbecue ) with all the trimmings on our 1st night cooked to perfection by Jan whilst we lazed around the pool area
A real gem

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Supa7WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and here's to many more tours to come!

Jan will be ready with the braai

Kind regards and have a safe and happy Festive Season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We spent a very comfortable night at Housemartin Guest Lodge, a peaceful haven in the Klein Karoo. Communication was excellent and Theresa could not have been more helpful. We had a delicious home-cooked supper in the old Manor House. An absolute delight! Many thanks Theresa for making a memorable birthday.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank richardbB6757FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Richard

Thank you for the kind words.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country.

Enjoy the Festive Season

Kind regards

Theresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews