We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveller rating
684
64
16
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
64
16
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest lodgehorse ridingwhale watchingwalker baycape townnature reserveshark cage divingsouth africathe main lodgewine cellarstunning viewstwo daysour honeymoonlocal communitysee whalescourse dinnerthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Although we were only able to spend two days at the Grootbos Forest Lodge, those two days were packed with activities, beautiful scenery, and a clear mission on behalf of the company to support and give back to the local community. We hiked, saw whales breaching, visited seaside caves, toured the on-site farm and university and enjoyed spectacular views while partaking in beautifully prepared meals using local ingredients. The staff went above and beyond to ensure that our short stay was perfect. The rooms were unbelievable private cottages with views of the nature reserve and the ocean. And we were assigned a staff member on arrival whose role it was to schedule our activities, act as our tour guide and answer all of our questions, which Anecke did for us in spades.

Room Tip: Each and every room has a spectacular view
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Rebecca W

WOW! you certainly packed everything in! I'm so glad to hear that you had a great time. Aneke always makes sure of that. Thank you for your lovely review.

Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

My first visit to Grootbos was amazing, The suite, the view, the peacefulness, tranquility, the cozy breakfasts and dinners. Its a perfect place for families. They have lots of activities. The cleanliness every thing was just perfect. We stayed there for 3 days in summer 2015, and two days in Summer 2016. We covered almost a lot of the activities like Whale watching, Shark cage diving, hiking, cave exploring . Though I won't recommend the Shark cage there in summer because the weather was unpleasant , which made us sea sick. I loved the Shark Cage at Garden route more. The was like a swimming pool.

Room Tip: The rooms were big with beautiful view but there were two game reserves, one for honey moneys and the other for family and children
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodourkhoory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Bodourkhoory

Thank you for your positive review. It was super to have you to stay. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all the activities. It is a pity about the rough seas that you experienced during your stay. There is no real "formula" for knowing when the weather can turn. We have had some amazing calm seas days this summer. i guess it;'s just the luck of the draw.

Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

If you want to undwind in pristine fynbos surroundings and get indulge in luxury this is the place to be. Main building is very modern, the suites at Forest Lodge huge with luxurious finishes and attention to detail given. On arrival a guide gives an overview of all different activities being offered. Worth to go on a nature drive to learn about the vegetation or visit the Future project and learn about uplifting projects. Vegetable and herb garden on the property give the kitchen the choice of fresh, organic products. Fine dinning experience and well presented.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Frogy007

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad to see that you partook in so many of the activities on offer including the trip to our farm where so much of what we grow ends up on your plate. It's a very rewarding project that we love sharing with our guests.

Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

There are two lodges on this Private Nature Reserve, we stayed at the Forest Lodge. Our luxury suite was definitely luxury. A large lounge nicely furnished and with a stove for cold days. The bedroom is large and the bed comfortable. The bathroom has a roll top bath set in front of the window so you can sit in the bath and see the marvellous views including whales in the bay. Each suite is in a separate building and situated so you have total privacy even for your outside shower.
The lodge is large with a good bar area and lovely restaurant - the waitresses are amazing, so friendly and helpful. All meals and activities are included in the price but not drinks. The meals and wines are really good and breakfast very satisfying. Lunch is three course and dinner gastronomical five courses. You meet your appointed guide who runs through all the activities and helps you decide which to do while there. Our only disappointment was we were not there long enough to do all the things we wanted to do.
They can also arrange marine boat cruises, shark cage diving, scenic flight and tree planting. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure you had a good time.

We will return to stay longer and see more of the lovely reserve.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank ColchesterSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear ColchesterSleeper

Thank you for visiting Grootbos and for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It really helps to motivate all the staff to maintain our standards and go beyond the norm in order to give you, our guest, the most unique experience possible. We are looking forward to your return visit in future where we can continue the adventure!

Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Never stayed in a Nature Reserve before and after much anticipation arrived at this stunning tranquil oasis. The main building is elegantly designed with exquisite views over the bay and if you lucky there might be a whale frolicking in the waters in front of the reserve. The Cottages are specious and well designed, some with private pools and if you sit still and keep quiet a few wild deers might drop by to see what you up to. Some of the highlights were a beach picnic, game drive and wine cellar dinner but the cherry on the cake was the bush dinner on the last night completely set up in the nearby bushes with twinkling fairy lights, hundreds of candles, open fire pit and chefs preparing delicious dishes in the middle of nowhere. I’ve been to many dinners around the world but this is one of my most special evenings of my life.
Thank you to all the staff and the great GM by delivering top notch hospitality! I’ve already recommended it to friends who will be staying next week.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dawid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Dawid K

We are all so thrilled to hear that your first lodge experience was so fantastic! We really love preparing the Milkwood dinners as it truly is such a special occasion but the best part for us is seeing the reaction of our guests when they arrive for dinner. It makes all the effort worthwhile!

I do hope we'll see you again in future.

Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews