We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$5,223
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Belmond Khwai River Lodge(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Camp Moremi(Moremi Game Reserve)
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mapula Lodge(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
124
18
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
18
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbubble bathelephant experiencegame viewinga great job makinghalf eatenwell presented and deliciousstaff choirprivate balconynight after dinnerchobe chilwerorustic feelanother occasionamazing lunchelephant walkamazing experiencecessna caravanboat trip
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Baines introduced us to the incredible beauty and seductive nature of Botswana. Moreover, the excellent service provided by the staff was certainly part of why we are so happy that we chose to take our long awaited safari with Sanctuary Camps. The smallest and most intimate of the Sanctuary Camps, Baines is a very special place that is highly deserving of its Certificate of Excellence. We cannot say enough positive things about the personal service we received from ALL the staff as their attention and care for our comfort went above and beyond our expectations. A special thanks to Max for being such a great guide, Voodoo for our boat excursion and TK for an enchanting Mokoro ride.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Guest,

We're so pleased that our camp was the setting for the start of a beautiful love affair - we can't agree more that Botswana holds a special place in our hearts.

Thank you so much for leaving this sterling review - we hope you'll visit some of our properties outside of Botswana too!

If you would like to keep in touch, please feel free to follow us on Facebook (Sanctuary Retreats), Instagram (@sanctuaryretreats) or Twitter (@sanctuaryret).

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and it was a magical place.

The games drive were amazing, the lodge beautiful and very quiet.

The staff incredibly attentive and nice.

The food was very well presented and delicious.

Our guide, Onks, was perfect, professionnal, passionate and touching.

No doubt we will come back to this paradise.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sylvie-Lise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

This was our first Sanctuary Lodge and it was very special. There were only 5 thatched comfortable lodges here and so the service was very personal and it was quite isolated so very quiet. We enjoyed a peaceful trip in a mokoro canoe the first night, a boat trip to the hippo pool straight from the jetty at the lodge and amazing day and night drives seeing a spotted hyena, leopard and elephants at close range. The roads were more like rivers and you got thrown about a bit but it all added to the atmosphere especially when you had water monitors swimming alongside the vehicle and the driver opened his door to let the water out. We pre-booked the elephant experience run by Sandy and Doug Groves which was very informative and lots of fun. The staff ensured we had a memorable stay with their unique 'white elephant experience' of hot bubble baths on your private balcony under the stars on the last night! The food was very well presented and delicious. There was a small but well presented swimming pool with sun loungers - a lovely place to relax. A wonderful camp in every way.

Room Tip: There are only 5 lodges and all looked similar with their own private balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mje151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We spent three nights here and had Max as our guide. He was incredible and passionate about what he did. This camp was a very unique take on our previous Livingstone and Chobe experiences in that they did not allow offroading -- while this one was about as off-road as you can get. 15% of the time you're wading through water in the 4x4 which was a fun and unexpected experience.

The team at Baines' do a great job making every day feel different and special, which is a testament to the manager BB and the rest of the great staff there. We saw leopard, elephant, two lion groups, a hippo out of water, and much much more.

This camp specifically is .5 stars behind the others in terms of development in that it doesn't have A/C and the rooms are a little less nice feeling: but that's to be expected given this is the most remote camp of the three we visited. It wasn't bad, just slightly worse. Still comfortable and luxurious.

Overall this was a great cap to our three-camp stay in the Delta. Sanctuary in general was on point with all of their camps and is highly recommended as a go to for a safari visit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

This small camp, five rooms, turned out as the best of our recent trip in Botswana. The attention to customers from management, staff and guide was simply excellent. The foods both at lunch and dinner were very good and very well presented. Our guide Lena was not only a very good guide but also a very pleasant person.
A highly recommended camp!
The rooms may need some refurbishing in the near future but still more than comfortable and adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Rolly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews