We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
129
20
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
20
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bubble bath elephant experience game viewing a great job making half eaten well presented and delicious staff choir chobe chilwero private balcony night after dinner amazing experience rustic feel another occasion amazing lunch cessna caravan boat trip elephant walk
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Excellent experience on the water of the Delta. The staff was wonderful and considering how isolated the camp is they did a great job. Lena was a terrific guide and very knowledgeable. The game drives have less animals than other camps but the water experience is great. I think 2 nights there is ample. The rooms get quite hot in the afternoons but cool off at night. Air conditioning would be an improvement.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dfrieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We were greeted by the staff choir. The rooms are all nestled in the trees and you walk on gangways of rope and planks to get to them. They are very large with a rustic feel. Each room has its own patio and a large bathroom with a shower. The king sized bed is draped with a mosquito netting and is wonderfully comfortable. There are 2 fans, one with a water mister.
The staff were all so warm and welcoming.
The mess building is right on the river with a big fire pit area. We had a great guide Fred. Sanctuary Retreats are all different and some may be more luxurious than others. This one is rustic but very comfortable and has an unbeatable atmosphere being right on the river. The staff were really lovely.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

From beginning to end the lodge was just awesome! Although it is not the most luxurious of the Sanctuary lodges what it lacked (mainly a/c) it more than made up with a fantastic staff, management and guides. The adventure began just driving to the camp through what looked closer to rivers than roads. We were lucky enough to hang out with a pack of wild dogs though we opted not to have lunch with them as it didn't seem like the best idea.

Upon arrival at the camp we were serenaded by the camp choir and introduced to the manager BB. Although he was serious at first by the end of our stay he became our warm and engaging friend spending nights with us by the campfire. We know you miss us BB :) though at least now you can get some sleep.

Lena was just the best guide! He knows the area and the animals incredibly well. I still don't know how he could possible navigate those waterways. Being stuck under a leopard will never be forgotten.

Returning from a boat trip and Mokoro ride the staff had prepared 2 outdoor bathtubs on our deck to enjoy before dinner. It was amazing!

Finally on our way to the airstrip we were able to walk and lunch with the Doug and Sandi and their magnificent elephants! It was an incredible experience!

Absolutely love this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

My wife and I visited 3 Sanctuary Camps in Botswana and Baines was our favorite. From the moment we were picked up from the airstrip by Lena our adventure began. The ride in from the airstrip was an adventure in itself driving through three feet of water on our way to camp. When we arrived we were serenaded by the local choir. During our brief two days we saw endangered wild dogs as well as a leopard and would have seen more if we had the energy.

The camp is a bit primitive without air conditioning but what it lacks in luxury is surpassed with personalized service. The food was excellent and BB was quite the gracious host joining us by the campfire each night after dinner. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating and Lena was our favorite guide of our trip. The Delta provided us with options of taking a land or water based tours. The last night we were there they surprised us with bubble baths set up on our deck. On our way to the airstrip the final day we took in an elephant walk which is not to be missed.

Sanctuary Baines Camp exceeded our expectations and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to a true authentic African experience...you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This 5 bed lodge on the delta is a great base for meeting Doug and Sandi and their elephants. Very attentive staff and food. A sundown bubble bath and sleeping under the stars made this a string of unforgettable memories.
Thank you BB and all the staff.

Room Tip: 5 suites - I think all equally good.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 397antonyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews