We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated, Luxurious with amazingly close animal sightings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The location was amazing, flew in from Maun, saw buffalos and elephants as we drove to camp.

The staff were so friendly and efficient, constant drinks and food, always restocked the mini-bar. The food was incredible, you wouldn't think we were so far from civilisation!

The rooms were warm at night, cool in the day with views of elephants and hippos from the deck and the pool.

The guides were amazing, had great up-close viewings of their natural behaviour. The animals were more sparce than at Chobe, but we got so close and there were almost no other people around so it was better in alot of ways.

Room Tip: Highly recommend moving your bed out under the stars one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Excellent experience on the water of the Delta. The staff was wonderful and considering how isolated the camp is they did a great job. Lena was a terrific guide and very knowledgeable. The game drives have less animals than other camps but the water experience is great. I think 2 nights there is ample. The rooms get quite hot in the afternoons but cool off at night. Air conditioning would be an improvement.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dfrieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We were greeted by the staff choir. The rooms are all nestled in the trees and you walk on gangways of rope and planks to get to them. They are very large with a rustic feel. Each room has its own patio and a large bathroom with a shower. The king sized bed is draped with a mosquito netting and is wonderfully comfortable. There are 2 fans, one with a water mister.
The staff were all so warm and welcoming.
The mess building is right on the river with a big fire pit area. We had a great guide Fred. Sanctuary Retreats are all different and some may be more luxurious than others. This one is rustic but very comfortable and has an unbeatable atmosphere being right on the river. The staff were really lovely.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

From beginning to end the lodge was just awesome! Although it is not the most luxurious of the Sanctuary lodges what it lacked (mainly a/c) it more than made up with a fantastic staff, management and guides. The adventure began just driving to the camp through what looked closer to rivers than roads. We were lucky enough to hang out with a pack of wild dogs though we opted not to have lunch with them as it didn't seem like the best idea.

Upon arrival at the camp we were serenaded by the camp choir and introduced to the manager BB. Although he was serious at first by the end of our stay he became our warm and engaging friend spending nights with us by the campfire. We know you miss us BB :) though at least now you can get some sleep.

Lena was just the best guide! He knows the area and the animals incredibly well. I still don't know how he could possible navigate those waterways. Being stuck under a leopard will never be forgotten.

Returning from a boat trip and Mokoro ride the staff had prepared 2 outdoor bathtubs on our deck to enjoy before dinner. It was amazing!

Finally on our way to the airstrip we were able to walk and lunch with the Doug and Sandi and their magnificent elephants! It was an incredible experience!

Absolutely love this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

My wife and I visited 3 Sanctuary Camps in Botswana and Baines was our favorite. From the moment we were picked up from the airstrip by Lena our adventure began. The ride in from the airstrip was an adventure in itself driving through three feet of water on our way to camp. When we arrived we were serenaded by the local choir. During our brief two days we saw endangered wild dogs as well as a leopard and would have seen more if we had the energy.

The camp is a bit primitive without air conditioning but what it lacks in luxury is surpassed with personalized service. The food was excellent and BB was quite the gracious host joining us by the campfire each night after dinner. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating and Lena was our favorite guide of our trip. The Delta provided us with options of taking a land or water based tours. The last night we were there they surprised us with bubble baths set up on our deck. On our way to the airstrip the final day we took in an elephant walk which is not to be missed.

Sanctuary Baines Camp exceeded our expectations and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to a true authentic African experience...you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
0 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
238 reviews
0 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#4 of 21 in Chobe National Park
309 reviews
0 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 72 in Okavango Delta
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#18 of 72 in Okavango Delta
184 reviews
0 km away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 72 in Okavango Delta
157 reviews
0 km away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Baines' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Baines' Camp

Address: Boro River, Botswana, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: RM5,848 - RM8,527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Baines’ Camp is our smallest and most intimate camp, built on raised platforms high above the Boro River in a huge private concession bordering the Moremi Game Reserve. An eco-friendly property built using only commercially grown wood, with over 150,000 recycled aluminium cans incorporated within the walls to provide insulation. The camp is raised above the permanent water of the Boro River while wooden walkways connect the main areas and luxury rooms. The swimming pool and the wide wooden deck that surrounds the main dining and sitting room is the ideal place to relax while observing the varied wildlife present here. See prowling lions looking for prey at the edge of the lagoon that the camp overlooks, or watch one of the many elephants who live in the area. The five suites at Sanctuary Baines’ are opulent and luxurious, with ensuite facilities and four-poster beds. Traditional safari ceiling fans create a cooling breeze at even the hottest times of the year. Should you wish, your bed can be wheeled out onto the private wooden deck for a night under the stars, overlooking the shimmering waters of the Boro River where hippo can often be spotted. Or take an indulgent soak under the stars on your own private viewing deck in our opulent star bath. At Baines’ Camp, the sky’s the limit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Baines` Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Sanctuary Baines' Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing