We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Amazing accommodations. the best staff. Delicious food. Unforgettable views from our room. Water safaris everyday to enjoy elephants and hippos and giraffe and bird life. Unforgettable stay. The room was fabulous. An infinity plunge pool on our deck. I had a massage on my deck overlooking the river. Beautiful tub and a shower and an outdoor shower. They do your laundry. Wifi. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and tea are were amazing. They were definitely there to serve the client.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to dining area. The further out you get the more you might run into animals on your...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Pamela S,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are delighted that your stay was truly unforgettable and also that you had such interesting sightings.

It was our pleasure to host you and you are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards
Louise Pheiffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Eagle Island Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Belmond Eagle Island Lodge is lovely! It appears to either be in really good shape or recently refurbished. The tents were even beyond luxury tents! The tents were just gorgeous! The tents were large, spacious, clean, and modern. We had a large deck with plunge pool. We didn't use the deck or the pool knowing that baboons frequent it. One morning we woke up and the baboons had taken off all of the chair cushions and left us a little present on one! The bathroom was large and beautiful too with a huge soaking tub, indoor and outdoor shower, walking in closet and separate toilet room. The main lodge area was also large and spacious. The food was excellent! My favorite was the pizza we had for lunch just when I was craving a little food from home! Most of our wildlife viewing was by boat and we had terrific luck and photo ops on all of our water safaris (hippo, elephants, cape buffalo, giraffe, crocodiles, birds, etc.). The only thing we didn't enjoy at this lodge was the mokoro ride, it was just too buggy for us even with the spray on. We also had a mini land safari to the end of the runway where we got to see lion eating a giraffe! The staff at this lodge went above and beyond! It was a wonderful experience to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear lithlith,

Thank you for your most wonderful review! You are correct, the lodge was refurbished almost two years ago and it was a total rebuild and we are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities.

Yes those baboons can be a bother at times, but we are in their territory, so they don't always have the best manners do they! Haha!

This is a wonderful time for game viewing and you really did have excellent sightings, and the lions on the runway is a treat, we call it the 'catwalk' ...

It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back again soon and you are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We had already stayed in another lovely Belmond safari camp, so we had high expectations upon arrival at Eagle Island. We were not disappointed. All of the staff and guides were wonderful. The public spaces were gorgeous and comfortable. The tent cabins were deluxe with lovely decor and amenities, and the food was excellent. We loved all the activities, and most were by boat. Do sign up for the helicopter ride of the Okavango Delta. It was a highlight. Hippos, elephants, a cape buffalo, birds were all seen from the rooms and decking. Delightful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ilovebirdsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear ilovebirdsky,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at our Belmond lodges! We are delighted that you were so well taken care of and that your sightings were so incredible.

The helicopter safaris is a true bucket list experience, to see the Okavango from the air is a highlight at the lodge, seeing the landscape and wildlife from a birds eye view is pricesless!

We hope to welcome you back again soon and you are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards
Louise Pheiffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Our family of four stayed for 3 nights at this newly built lodge. It must be one of the best on the Delta. Great activities and we had the same guide at Eagle Island and then he travelled with us to Savute Elephant Lodge. This continuity was a really nice touch by Belmond. Our guide Keep was fantastic, so knowledgable, respectful and friendly. Although the game spotting at Eagle Island was not what we expected, it was different and really worthwhile. It is a real water activity place obviously so don't expect to see Lions, Leopards etc. Save that for Savute. Staff were great, food basic but nice and drinks included. Not a culinary destination but plenty of food and nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: wifi very ordinary but you are in the middle of nowhere!! wifi only in the office at the main lodge...
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PerthKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear PerthKerry,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you and your family had such a memorable safari at our lodges and that Keep looked after you so well!

We hope to welcome you back again soon and you are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Eagle Island is expensive, even at SADC rates, but this is Botswana, the Okovango, and it's a Belmond property.

Not the RyanAir, Carnival Cruise circuit.

And, as such, it is superb, all inclusive, worth every Pula.

The only additional cost might be the helicopter flights (an R44).

The accommodation, the service, the staff, the facilities, all outstanding. Allow for the fact that you're in the middle of the Okovango, and be grateful.

Your safaris and game sightings will be dependent on the water levels. I was there after good rains, and the delta was under flood, so most activities were by boat.

But our guide, Moses, exceptionally knowledgeable and agreeable, also showed us plenty game on a couple of drives.

And a first class sommelier knew just what to offer on our return.

The clientele appeared to be mostly selective independent travelers, good company for a sundowner in the Fish Eagle bar at the end of the jetty.

Special. Worth the journey. On a par with Luangwa, or Gorongosa as was.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Irlantilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Irlantilainen,

Thank you for your review and recommendations to fellow travellers. The Okavango Delta is a magnificent place, it's no wonder it's one of the UNESCO Heritage Sites. As you mention, so much is dependent on the water levels and also the wildlife adapts their behaviour to follow the water too, and Moses has such a phenomenal knowledge, we are delighted that he took such great care of you! As the water levels keep rising, the nature/game drives are limited, but then you are able to go so much further into the Delta by boat.

We do hope you will visit us again, to share stories and sightings with fellow travellers sipping a good wine under an African sun..

You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
31.7 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
231 reviews
18.4 km away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#17 of 71 in Okavango Delta
149 reviews
21.7 km away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#20 of 71 in Okavango Delta
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
87.6 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 71 in Okavango Delta
116 reviews
123.2 km away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
195 reviews
0.0 km away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#25 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Eagle Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Eagle Island Lodge

Address: | Xaxaba Island, Botswana
Phone Number:
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: RM12,596 - RM12,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Eagle Island Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, Africa’s ultimate water-focused safari in Botswana’s Okavango Delta, is the ultimate luxury safari paradise. Nestled in Botswana’s lush Okavango Delta, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the world’s largest inland water systems, the lodge overlooks a lagoon that attracts a breathtaking variety of big game and exotic birds. Explore the region by local canoe, roam on foot or take to the air in an exhilarating helicopter flight overlooking the magnificent Botswana landscape. A wonderful secluded retreat, Belmond Eagle Island Lodge offers a safari vacation that brings together the excitement of discovery and an experience of the real Africa: this is the spirit of Belmond through and through. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle Island Camp By Orient-Express Hotel Okavango Delta
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing