We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
204
32
7
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
32
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolwilderness safarissunken living roomgame viewingwild dogsraised boardwalktented suitemain areasitting areaoutdoor showerleopard cubsprivate guidesun loungersevening drivethe managersgames drivesduma tau
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Not even sure where to start....
What an incredible place! Everything was absolutely amazing.

Our guide, Speedy, was truly fantastic and it was such a privilege to spend some time with him in the bush. He is so passionate about every game drive and he really went out of his way to make every drive memorable.

The lodge is so beautiful you can almost spend the whole day in and around camp. Trust me, you will never want to leave. The food was out if the world! The rooms/tents all have the most magnificent views and all the amenities you will ever need. Really Beautiful.

Then the people - wow, what a treat. The managers Megan and Shaun were so amazing and it was great to get to know them. They and all the other staff members go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

We will highly recommend this camp and Wilderness Safaris to any person travelling to Africa. They run a truly impressive operation.

Thanks to everyone at Vumbura for one of the bests holidays ever - we will definitely be back. Big thanks to Megan for assisting us with our booking - impeccable service! Already planning our next trip.....

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ArynaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you ArynaE for your amazing review and we hope you will come back to see us on your next trip. We cannot wait to share your kind words with Megan, Shaun, the fabulous Speedy and all the staff in camp. Thank you again for your high praises for our camp and Wilderness Safaris - during your planning of your next journey you may want to have a look at the Wilderness Safaris App available on iOS and Android, here you can see all our properties throughout Botswana and all of Southern Africa.

Till we meet again,
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

I visited Southern Africa and stayed at 4 luxury game camps in different regions of South Africa and Botswana. Each was unique and interesting and provided a different experience. It is said that the enjoyment of any safari is the quality of the guide/tracker, and this is the dimension that I deducted 2 stars from my rating. The room we stayed in was #8 was accessed via a raised wooden railed walkway which is so much better than other camp’s dusty trails. The room was extremely well appointed, comfortable, and had a fantastic view of the delta. The food was excellent here, far better than other camps, always with a selection of fresh salads and creative main dishes. The person who was our ‘Guide’ had been at the camp for so long that he had lost his enthusiasm and was no more use to us than a driver. He relied on other guides via radio to tell him the position of any significant animal, and then he would slowly drive there and almost always pick the worst spot for viewing. He would also point out the most obvious things over and over, like ‘that is an Impala’ every day. I can’t tell you the number of times that he pointed out Hornbills. Gheez, it was tedious. So great marks for the camp itself, minus for our assigned ‘Driver’. The two lower ranking drivers used to transport us to/from the airport were much more interesting and enthusiastic.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Ono,

Thank you for your kind words and great review, we are glad to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your time spent in camp. We are sorry to see that your game drives were not as wonderful as expected and we will be sure to look into this with the management in camp and address this directly with your guide.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Vumbura Plains was the first safari stop on our trip! We loved the rooms, the food and the staff. Our guides found 4 of the "Big 5" in the first 24 hours we were there! Loved the "wow" events. Rooms are luxurious, especially the indoor/outdoor shower!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you Kate for your beautiful review, we are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how many great sightings you enjoyed. As soon as you have checked off all the "Big 5" you will have to come back to track down the "Small 5".

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We visited four properties this year in August and Vumbura was our favorite. Ron, our guide, was definitely the "animal whisperer". After nearly 30 years of safari he was one of our best guides EVER in knowing animal behavior. The rooms were large and very comfortable. They were contemporary Africa, I would say. We had room 6 and loved how it was on the very end with a great view. Meg and Sean, the managers were great and we enjoyed them so much that we invited Meg on a game drive with us. The food was good - not outstanding. The game viewing was great. Lions, leopards, cheetah...even a "double" cheetah kill where we saw a mother kill an impala, only to discover that her three cubs had killed one also. Male lions chasing cheetah, a coalition of 4 male lions, leopard cubs and the list goes on and on. Outstanding visit.

Room Tip: Room 6 at the end is quiet with a great view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you Janice for the fabulous review and high praises for Ron, Meg, Sean and all the great staff in camp. We are glad to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your wonderful adventures Ron. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This camp really ticks every box when going on safari. The camp is breathtaking, beautiful views & the rooms are the most luxurious I have ever seen. The game viewing was exceptional, we had so many wonderful experiences!
Our guide Lazi is one of the best guides we have ever had, he was so knowledgeable & enthusiastic - he really went out of his way to make our trip amazing.
And wilderness safaris have the best staff, they make the visit all the more special!
Would HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LRush88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear LRush88,

Lazi and all the staff in camp are a big part of what makes Vumbura so special, we are delighted to have been able to share this with you and will be sure to pass along all your high praises to everyone. Thank you again for your wonderful recommendation and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews