We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Allegria(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vienna(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baumann's Brookside(Greenville)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cave Mountain Motel(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
53
21
1
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
21
1
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfamily reunionlook forwardgreat irish musiclabor dayfun placewonderful weekendnew yorkfood was finenice poolfamily runarts weekother guestsevery meallast weekendmy sonirish country
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Stayed at Gavin's Irish Country Inn for a family reunion. The attention that was given to our group was beyond expectations ! Everybody very friendly and willing to accommodate us in every way. Rooms very roomy and spotless and bed were very comfortable. Had a great time in the Pub and enjoyed the music very much. Food was plentiful and very good. Just an all-around relaxing little vacation. Everything close together so being near other family members was not an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mickeym793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This place was deplorable. Had to pay all up front, but after going to our room we knew why, The only thing that was good was the entertainment, music in the pub made the stay and a foliage bus ride. The pub should be shut down and cleaned, dance floor was filthy very cool in there and the fans and a/c were so dirty if we would of needed them just gross all around. The food was cafeteria at best, and oil cloth for table coverings silver that was an excuse and plastic cups for juice 2 meals is all we had so made money on us and others. Now to the room, I don't know where to start 2 floors we took top so had to climb stairs that were not good the had rail needs work and is filthy, the room had 2 doubles the bedding other then the sheets needed to be dumped the blankets and spread had seen much better days. A 12" TV, a fridge that the ice box was so full of ice and broke door, the closet space had a former renters underwear on the shelf and the bath, the seat on the toilet didn't fit, the sink had more cracks in it and the tub, couldn't adjust the shower turned on and the shower was all that worked the shower head was full of adhesive, the shower curtain rings were black, oh and the curtain rod was taped together. I could go on, if there are health inspectors that inspect this place it must be with blinders on.. After speaking with other guests there are MANY of us that will NEVER return. Horrible

Room Tip: Don't go. Dirty needs to be completely redone, torn down and start over.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsiena, Owner at Gavin's Irish Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Again after our conversation the other day, we sincerely apologize for your stay. You seemed to be very bothered about paying upon check-in and that has been our policy for about 20 years and is on every confirmation we send in advance.

Words can not fully respond to this trip advisor review. For our returning customers for over 50+ years, we do have health inspectors that come to our place every single year and walk through random hotel rooms. We always receive EXCELLENT remarks from the New York State Board of Health.

Now, to say our food is like a cafeteria. I beg to differ. Not true. All of our food is homemade and we will continue to be known for good, home-cooked "not fancy" meals.

We have a 99% rebooking rate at our Inn. The main reunion that stayed with us last weekend IS rebooking.

2016 was of one our BEST years and we look forward to continue to welcoming new guests and returning.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Been coming to gavins for 40 years love this place great people great music great food and ice cold Guinness heaven on earth what more could you want if your irish or just like enjoying life like we do and haven't been here your missing out

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Our extended Irish family have spent many happy summers in the Catskills, frequenting all of the pubs in the area, including Gavin's. The area is not as hopping as it was when I was a child but we really enjoyed our time at Gavin's. All meals are included and the food is quite good. Everyday we looked forward to 'our table' in the dining room and finding out what we were having. Meals were very child friendly but also included items like prime rib, a bbq with steak, steamers and shrimp and chicken francaise. Yum. The pool was warm and the large lawn allowed lots of lawn games. At night, the children of the place took over (in a good way) and there was a massive game of manhunt. The cell coverage is awful and I was grateful because even the teenager had to find something to do -- lots of card games, pool time and games of tag. Fun all around.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Another great time was had by all! Young and old alike look forward to this week every year....it is a time we can all be together and enjoy ourselves!
Every year brings something new and this year was a bocce court! It was definitely a hit.....everyone played it at one time or another...and this year a light lunch was served which was great.....The weather was a bit rainy at times and so the much loved barbeque could not be held - so what did they do!!! had it at lunch time because they knew everyone really liked it.....that was well appreciated.....I have said it so many times but will repeat it-this is a resort made for family time....children can freely run about and adults just enjoy each others company...rooms are always freshly made up and clean.....They also enlarged their gift selection and the kids loved the new t shirts! rock climbing night is always a favorite......so, another great year...keep up the good work Bernadette and Brian!

Room Tip: pool facing rooms on first floor!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christmas152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews