We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Downs Walk Breakfast”

Cowdray Farm Shop & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Easebourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 October 2017

While walking the South Downs Way we started our day with a delicious full English breakfast and vegetarian breakfast at Cowdray cafe.

Everything was delicious and nicely presented. The staff were friendly and helpful.

I've been quite a few times for lunch and afternoon tea and cake but never for breakfast. Always had good service and food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cristobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdray_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Cowdray Farm Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

We are very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with us ahead of your South Downs Walk and hope you will re-visit soon for breakfast, lunch or tea! The team look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards, The Cowdray Marketing Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Cowdray Farm Shop and Cafe is just outside Midhurst. 6 family members met for lunch, a slight problem is that you can’t book a table although we were quickly accommodated on a Saturday lunchtime at noon. The service is friendly and your order is taken and served at the table. The environment is pleasant although the male toilet is incredibly small.

The menu is English with some alternative influences and breakfasts are available too. Many of our party had a burger - the burgers were fine but the bread rolls felt as though they were from a supermarket value range which is surprising considering the shop sells craft bread. The ice cream is excellent although flavours are limited and the lemon torte was good too. The specials of the day were steak and lamb chops from the Cowdray Estate. Prices in the cafe are reasonable and the bill for 6 of us came to around £130 for two courses including coffees/soft drinks but without a tip. There’s ample parking nearby and plenty of scope for walks.

The shop adjacent to the cafe has many interesting and unusual foods/home products although the prices in some cases are high although the locality and clientele tend towards the obviously well-heeled. Overall a pleasant stop.

Thank AudiboyA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdray_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Cowdray Farm Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review our shop and cafe following your recent visit. The team are always keen to read the reviews and feedback like yours can be very useful. We hope you come and see us again soon. Kind Regards, The Cowdray Marketing team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Terrible service. Haphazard at best. Parts of meals casually thrown to the table at various intervals during the meal. Had to complain about one of the meals (not a big deal, it happens) and having spent £40 on food was then told we couldn't pay for a cake on the card as that was £4.50 and they had a £5 minimum so had to order something else I didn't want. Pretty pathetic in the circumstances but indicting of the general indifference and nonchalant nature of the staff to custom.
If I don't go there again it would still be too soon.

Thank westsussex123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdray_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Cowdray Farm Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

We are sorry you were disappointed by your visit to us. The team work hard to deliver a good service and it is clear that on this occasion these standards were not met. We hope you may re-consider and re-visit us another time when we hope we will be able to demonstrate that we are team who care about the service and food we provide. kind regards The Marketing Team at Cowdray.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Visited for a light snack and drinks.....tables were fairly busy but welcome from wait staff was warm and quick. Opted for soup and sandwich that arrived quickly, hot and fresh and of good portion size. This venue has a lively and busy atmosphere with a good range of menu offerings. Ideal for meeting friends for coffee or a relaxed informal lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Westsussextraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdray_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Cowdray Farm Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks for reviewing us. The team are always delighted to hear from customers who have enjoyed their visit. We hope you make Cowdray a regular stopping off point!. Kind Regards the Marketing team at Cowdray.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

It is always such wonderful experience here. The menu changes with the seasons using the fresh produce available. A compliment to the chef coming up with fresh ideas. But it is the complete experience with lovely staff willing to help and keep everyone happy. This is not just a cafe, it is always a memorable outing. Can't wait to visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Purslove21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdray_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Cowdray Farm Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your visit to our Cafe. We are delighted you enjoyed your visits to us. The team in the kitchen and front of house take great pride in their work and really appreciate positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, the Marketing team at Cowdray.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cowdray Farm Shop & Cafe also viewed

Midhurst, West Sussex
Midhurst, West Sussex
 
Midhurst, West Sussex
 

Been to Cowdray Farm Shop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing