We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!”
other travellers have booked this property
River Ken Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River Ken Cottage
Nice time on the terrace Surrounding area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
River Ken Cottage
Nice time on the terrace
Surrounding area
Cottage with open hill views
Kitchen
Night view
Kitchen/dining with all you need for cooking your holiday meal
Kitchen
Cosy living area with TV, Free view, DVD's, iDock and board games
Relaxing
Bedroom
Bed
Shower room
Shower room
Hill view
River view in moon light
Wildlife
Views from bridge
Winter time
Beautiful winter wonder land - nice and warm inside
Surrounding area
Surrounding area
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carsphairn, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cheryl h
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from spending five lovely, relaxing days at the River Ken Cottage. We both really enjoyed the rest after from it all. The cottage is of a really high standard with a fully equipped kitchen and freezer. We have really loved our stay and have recommended to everyone we know. The scenery was fantastic, the weather was exceptional and we can't wait to come back, which we certainly will. It is the kind of place that I know we will end up living one day, away from it all, hopefully not in the too far distant future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon e
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quiet and peacefull”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wonderful location, really remote: the place to go if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Everything you would need, very clean and tidy. All you hear is the sound of the stream behind the cabin and the sound of birds singing.
Travel tip: Once in Moniaive follow signs for Carsphairn, you will go over a number of cattle grids and be careful of the sheep and lambs in the middle of the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Stockport
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want to go home.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife and I arrived on the Saturday for a week's holiday and although it rained most of the time, it really didn't spoil anything at all. It's such a lovely place, the cottage is perfect situated by the river, it has everything you need to be comfortable. I can imagine it would be nice and cosy in the winter. We went for walks most days or for rides on the bikes. The deer can be seen every day, , it is quite isolated and quiet which is nice when you live on an estate in Stockport.
We didn't get to see the owners as they were away at the time. But we were left in the capable hands of Brent a very nice young man who also runs the stalking business. The week seemed to be over too soon, it was a sad feeling to leave, especially knowing what we were going back to. We can't wait to go back for another week. It is such a great place to stay a real credit to the owners. I wouldn't be able to praise it enough.
Thanks for a wonderful stay, hope to be back soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey M
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Had an absolutely amazing stay! The cabin was fantastic and is so underpriced for what you get! The river behind the cabin adds to the beauty as does the scenery! If your thinking of getting away for some peace and relaxation I would definitely recommend :) :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Owners are as amazing as the surroundings”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Walking, strolling, bird watching running, mountain biking, rock climbing, quiet romantic spots, streams, rivers, lochs, peace and quiet, great place for all the above and more.

Stargazing on the veranda at night was fantastic, a nearby forest has a ark sky award for low light pollution and this place, the stars, wow, lovely.

Walking, there are several peaks nearby and beautiful views, can be dangerous when the weather comes in though, so plan walks well. Easy to navigate in this area due to the valleys and peaks, plenty of deer, I saw an Otter only 50 metres away from the lodge, I was only 2 metres away from him/her.

First morning I woke up there, I looked out the window at the stream and was greeted by a lesser spotted woodpecker, I saw Red Kytes, Buzzards and many more.

Haven't got a single bad thing to say about the place.

I was there when we had a crazy amount of snow, I was snowed in at the end of my time and the owners were extremely accommodating, was splendid, cosy, delightful.

Kitchen was well stocked with everything one needed and the lodge was warm, even in the worst of the snow, want to get snowed in there again!

Will be there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every morning while breakfast was cooking, I strolled to the bridge outside and stood with a fresh cup of coffee looking down the valley and the snow covered mountains and hills, I loved the sky on clear nights, property was beautiful and the people
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
Thanks for your positive feed back. Good to know that people appreciate the surroundings as well as the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing