We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ilex Inn
Nearby Hotels
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville(Ellicottville)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Club(Ellicottville)(Great Value!)
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Holiday Valley(Ellicottville)(Great Value!)
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
34
5
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
5
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersowners are super friendlyprivate cottagedelicious breakfastshort walkheated poolglendarickwintertownwedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I spent a great weekend at the Ilex Inn. We have stayed at several other places in Ellicottville and none as nice as the Ilex. The hosts Rick and Glenda were great to us and helped in many ways. We enjoyed the breakfast which as made fresh - my wife who avoids certain foods was readily accommodated. The hot tub is a nice touch!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed two different times and both time were great! The hosts are wonderful people and breakfast was delicious! Me and my husband look forward to visiting again soon! It is in a very convenient location!

Room Tip: The cottage is our favorite!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Last weekend was our third time at the Ilex and it was just as wonderful as the first. The inn is beautiful and very comfortable. You feel like family there. We have met others who stayed there and have become friends. Rick and Glenda are the warmest, most inviting people you could meet. We will definitely go back and we have recommended the Ilex to all of our friends. We actually got engaged this weekend in their hot tub! You will definitely love this place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our first foray into the B&B world. We usually stay at hotels with pools and hot tubs. Well, this had both plus the intimate feel we were looking for in a small town. Rick and Glenda went out of their way to make us feel as if we were family. Their homemade breakfast, included, was scrumptious and well balanced. The room, with private bath, was clean and tastefully decorated. While there are many places in the old house to relax, my favorite was the upstairs living room- quiet, cozy (with a coffeemaker!!!) and quite charming. We were within walking distance of the village where we spent most of our time sd there is so much to do in Ellicottville. I've recommended The Ilex Inn to many people!

Room Tip: There is the actual old home with rooms (where we stayed) as well as an 'add on' with rooms which are more accessible for those with children or stair issues. Fireplaces only are turned on in the winter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Walls are peeling. Found a nice big big on blanket! Flea or bed big? We wanted to check out but wouldn't be able to get any sort of refund so we did a thorough check of the bed. We were put in the room that was in the front of the building.Which was loud with truck traffic through out the night! Other rooms were available,but those were saved for last minute guests as we witnessed.breakfast was nothing but microwaved from froz!en! The animals the owners have would bark when you come and go..The NEW owners have had this place for a while now...still not many improvements...if any...PEE stains on mattress!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovespurple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlexEllicottville, Owner at The Ilex Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We are so very sorry your stay with us was not good. We would like to respond to your review. I personally checked you in and we always check our rooms prior to our guests arriving. The room was clean and we have never had any bug issues. Occasionally a bug may get into a room. It is summer in WNY.
We would have been happy to give you a refund. As a matter of fact, we did refund your second night, because you had been called into work.
We have no control over the traffic, however if it was an issue, we could have moved you to a different room, which was offered to you, and you declined our offer.
Our breakfasts are not frozen and microwaved. They are prepared daily from scratch. They include French toast with strawberry's and turkey sausage, or Blueberry, cream cheese French toast, served with real maple syrup, Impossible breakfast pie, and many more.
Our animal is a 10 lb maltese. He does bark when a car door closes sometimes. However, he has never disturbed any of our guests. And, we have separate living quarters and he is not permitted in the guest area.
Finally, we have been here almost three years, and have made tons of updates. Yes, our rooms are of older décor as this was a Victorian home. We are slowly updating all our rooms as we can afford.
These are some of the updates...Mattresses replaced, interior common areas updated with new colors, and furniture, exterior landscaping, paint, and all walkways rebuilt. New pool, and hot tub as well. All new robes and linens, including bed spreads and blankets. We have only done one of the guest rooms upstairs so far.
We are not sure what made you give us such a bad review after your one night stay. Our past guests and return guests have all mentioned our updates and how nice our Inn looks.
We hope this review will not tarnish our reputation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews