We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
VERY CAPTIVATING!

A very comprehensive history of soaring. There are very interesting displays that explain the... read more

Reviewed 13 November 2018
Fearless41171771892
Hidden history gem

Soaring into military might. Harris Hill was a key part of early soaring and this museum is... read more

Reviewed 21 October 2018
mandotraveler
,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
30
13
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
13
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harris hill kids will love interesting displays glider pilot young woman gift shop wings landing gliders flight model history sail material director learning training
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We were here as part of a bus tour. We had a guided tour. Our guide explained the beginnings of gliding/soaring to the present time(very interesting). The best of this area is not only the history but getting to see the sail planes being towed and then watching them soar after the tow is released.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Kaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This is a small museum on top of a 1700 foot hill next to a runway for gliders. The museum explains the history of gliding nicely, with a useful film. I mostly took in the elegant long wings and graceful bodies of the planes on display. You can watch gliders get taken aloft and follow them as they come in for a landing from the museum or parking lot.. Glider rides can be arranged.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank reberascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

My 16 year old grandson and I visited. The museum is right next to the air field. A glider was taking off when we arrived and we watched until it separated from the tow plane and soared on. Also saw one landing. The museum included a 30 minute film which followed a young woman getting training from first experience to soloing, as well as an International race for experts.
The museum itself is full of gliders, but we enjoyed most the wall of models set in historical sequence.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank oaklanefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is a small but interesting museum with a gift shop. It's all about soaring (engineless flight). I didn't know they could soar that far. Do not skip the 30 minute video. The video explains a lot about soaring . This would be interesting to anyone who has any interest in aviation.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We actually held our biannual quilt show at the museum. The many displays are wonderful and looked amazing with the quilts hanging all around them. The staff is amazing to work with. On a clear day you get to enjoy the beautiful views and watch the gliders coming and going. Good place for folks of all ages to visit.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank LeVon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews