We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday party ”
Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Ranked #16 of 90 Restaurants in Staines
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pub / Restaurant
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a birthday meal here for my mums 60th. What can I say it was wonderful! Staff were lovely in particular our waiter. So so helpful. Food was amazing, my steak was cooked to perfection. Lovely place, great ambience and wonderful staff. Would highly recommend to others.

Thank kellsbells2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisBeauchampRT, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear kellsbells2

We are glad you choose The Retreat for such a special day, your comments are warming to read and the staff are ever so pleased we could make it as special as possible, We look forward to your return.

Many thanks once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a really stressful morning we went to The Retreat for Sunday dinner. The service was warm and friendly and the food came promptly and arrived all together. It was lovely and hot and really delicious. It was the second time in a fee months we have eaten here and have nothing but the highest praise for the second
service, the food and the restaurant itself. Also as a massive plus you can bring your dog here.

Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisBeauchampRT, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mark P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, The Retreat can and always will be a place for families and friends to dine and drink together with the best service possible, we are glad your experience was so on both occasions and we welcome your return.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal with great customer service. And dog-friendly too in the bar. Looking forward to our next visit.

Thank Chrissyboy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisBeauchampRT, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Chrissyboy70

Thank you for you review, its pleasing to see another happy guest enjoy what the Retreat has to offer. We welcome your return.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrange to meet friends as this use to be our local and believed this was a “family” “friendly” pub. So wrong! The stuck up coward manager was rude. Making her staff keep coming over telling us different complaints and lies to our friends and family’s with small children. She made an excuse up to make us leave at 6pm saying that the children where no longer aloud in the pub. This is after over £500 had been spent on food and drink roughly 6 different families spending lots! The manager kept watching the children like a hawk even though parents where with the children in the outside garden at times. Do not make this pub a “family” place when clearly the stuck up snobby manager does not want us in there. Happy to take out money but not give us any decent customer service. This is about the 3rd time we have been as friends and families and each time the same manager alway has a problem. Food was cold and dry and tasteless the gravy was extremely salty. Dirty plates and glasses left everywhere. Manager being rude and whispering to her other staff and then one would come over. Change the rules of your pub to no children if you can’t handle a few in the pub at once. Vile place and wish we had never wasted our custom on them.

Thank Pfc90girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisBeauchampRT, General Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback.

We're sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable experience with us on Sunday however due to the number of complaints we received we felt it necessary to stop serving your party.

We are a family friendly pub and pride ourselves on being just that however we do request that children remain at the tables so as not to endanger themselves or members of our team who carry hot plates of food and trays of drinks through the restaurant and bar area.

Thank you for your valued feedback in relation to the food, this will be passed on to our kitchen team to investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Had a meal for 4 with family at lunchtime today plus dogs. Great decor and clean and friendly atmosphere.

Food was delicious. Lot's of lovely options so would like to go back to try and different dish.

Everyone in my group were impressed so we will be coming back either together or with others.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAH13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisBeauchampRT, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JAH13_12

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, It always pleasing to hear that friends have had a quality experience at our establishment, your words shall be passed onto the team who shall ensure a cosy experience for you and your returning friends. We welcome your return.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Retreat also viewed

 
Staines, Surrey
 

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing