We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch and Great Views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenwood Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Continental Hotel
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

No need to discuss views. The patio overlooking the lake is one of the best spots on the lake. We have been here a number of times and the experience keeps getting better. There is now a number of speciality drinks that were tasty and refreshing on a sunny day. We had the chips and guacamole appetizer which was very good and the portion satisfied the two of us. We both had the crab cake sandwich which also was very good, only criticism was the choice of sauce used, could have been on the side? Otherwise very pleased. Next time the short rib is going to be the choice for lunch, but dinner selections looked great too, so odds are we will be back for dinner next time soon.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2015

We just got back from our early summer stop at the "New" Continental Hotel, an old hotel on Greenwood Lake with a history going back to the 19th Century. The patio by the lake looked lovely and we regretted that the rain kept us from having lunch right by the water. But the views from the dining room were fantastic with wonderful twinkle lights for informal evening dessert. The staff was warm and welcoming. The food was good and the breakfast muffins and coffee that welcomed us on the cold rainy morning much appreciated. These are all reasons for my 4 stars review and my fond memories.
But I should mention the room, room 2 to be exact.. Room furnishings were 1940's style, heavy and outdated but with more "character" than a Motel 6. The room was clean and bathroom shower warm and inviting. The air conditioner in one of the two windows did distract from the lake view but we just looked out the other window. Realizing that charm often comes at some cost we were okay with the small size of the room and the old furnishing but we were not prepared for the after midnight pat, pat, pat sound on our bed. The pouring rain outside had somehow made its way under the roof and onto the bed. We tried to move the bed but it was too heavy and there was an iron plumbing pipe standing in our way. So, pat pat pat until the rain subsided late in the night.
The next morning we informed the hotel of the problem. They suggested it was the intensity of the rain, which is probably true, but also the hotel may have a bit of a problem keeping up with all the repairs that big old places often need.
So... I would recommend this place to flexible travelers who would give up comfort for character and charm but, most definitely, no matter who you are, do not take Room 2 on a rainy night.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillykat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

I'm a Lake George fan but now know I can get similar views and serenity at a much closer distance. This place rocks. Cozy and charming lounge and huge main dining room with large windows gives diners a comforting and peaceful view of Greenwood Lake waters. The location is superb. Service was great and the menu options enticing. Had the Butternut Squash soup and the cucumber salad both of which were tasty ($5.00 and $8.00 respectively). However the German Sausage platter ($20.00) was not memorable and the potato pancakes were fried black and tasteless. The chicken sausage was also so dry that it didn't have any discernible taste. The Pork Schnitzel ($20.00) was more pleasant and rewarding. The Apple Dumpling desert was exceptional and reasonable ($7.00).

Overall a great experience especially in the warmer months when they have live music on the terraced patio.

Did not stay at the inn but from pictures seems to be cozy.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TonyK300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

September 28th was our second visit. Both times we ate on the patio but did not stay at the hotel. We arrived by boat, docks are nice and new. The view from the patio is breathtaking. The staff is super friendly. Live music was pretty good. Food is good (not great). Would go back again & again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikesMom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

The "New" Continental Hotel on Greenwood Lake is actually an old time lakeside hotel in the European style. Think of 'Fawlty Towers' with polite staff and ownership and you're getting the idea. We checked in for the weekend after Labor Day and we had the run of the house to ourselves. The hotel was built in the 1920's and had additions put in place over the years. Greenwood Lake had its heyday in the early 20th century (1930's to 1950's) and the Continental was right there putting up the likes of Babe Ruth (Speaking of Yankees - Derek Jeter owns a house right down the street...) Greta Garbo and other celebrities of the time. The same family continues to operate the New Continental since the 1920's. Now for the nitty gritty of staying here:

Do not stay here if you need the entire building air conditioned. Do not stay here if you are expecting a luxury hotel according to modern standards. Do not stay in Greenwood Lake if you needed the two foregoing items - it's not here in Greenwood Lake. Greenwood Lake has no modern motels or hotels. The individual rooms have window air conditioners, but the common areas (hallway, lobby and bar are not air conditioned. The dining room is air conditioned, but only open during meal times.) The New Continental Hotel is the best lodging you will find on Greenwood Lake and it is a fine experience. Just don't look for luxury, look for old fashioned welcoming and care instead.

The restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. The food was fine, but the menu was limited. This is not an impediment to staying at the New Continental as there are any number of satisfactory restaurants in Greenwood Lake that you wouldn't want to limit yourself to just one restaurant during your stay in Greenwood Lake anyway. There is a wonderful terrace that looks out over Greenwood Lake and there are boat slips for boaters to use. Cocktails on the terrace or in one of the gazebos was most enjoyable and relaxing.

The staff of the hotel were very, very warm and really made you feel at home. (Ala a European small hotel..) Although we read other reviews that recommended room #12, we decided to try our luck and we ended up staying in Room 12. It was bright, airy, the air conditioner was a gift from heaven and it was roomy to the point one could call it a suite. We did not explore any other guest rooms. We do recommend Room 12 if you can get it.

Overall it was a pleasant experience and we will definitely return to the New Continental Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 12 seems to be a favorite among reviewers including us. We did not see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Address: 15 Leo Court, Greenwood Lake, NY 10925
Region: United States > New York > Greenwood Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Greenwood Lake
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing