We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a beautiful haven of tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Guest Cottage at Donameer Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Guest Cottage at Donameer Farm
Donameer Farm entrance, 7417 Velie Rd Front porch glider
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Guest Cottage at Donameer Farm
Donameer Farm entrance, 7417 Velie Rd
Front porch glider
Stone patio, with umbrella table, lounge chairs and firepit
View from the porch, driveway
View from picture window of the patio.  Great spot for star gazing!
Four poster bed made from ancestral barn beams, 150 years old!
Full efficiency kitchen, cooktop, microwave, oven, coffee maker, refrigerator
Bathroom and shower
Bathroom, closet and table with chairs.
Comfortable couch and flatscreen tv with satellite reception, and dresser.
Pond for fishing
1840's Farmhouse, our Party House!  Welcome!
Farmhouse interior
Garlic curing on dining table in Farmhouse
Garlic braids curing in the Farmhouse
Friends for dinner in the Farmhouse
Donameer Farm Farmhouse and hillside with trails
Dogs at the pond in October snow storm
October snow covered pines by the pond
Mountain trail with snow, love walking on the trails with this light dusting!
Hillside pastures in front of guest cottage
Sophie and Koko on bench by the pond
Dottie with her new big friend, Chloe.
10 stall barn, 12 x 12 stalls, Sophie by manure spreader and ramp
I'll scatch you if you scatch my itch!
Bring your horse and ride with us on Mount Washington.  GREAT VISTAS!
Garlic crop, scapes are beginning their June dance!
Summer garlic field.  It won't be long before we start our harvest!
View of Keuka Lake from Winding Stairs Rd heading to village of Hammondsport
Annual art show in Village Square, Hammondsport
Village square bandstand, art show, summer Thursday evening free concerts, bring your own chair
Thursday evening concert in the Village Square with a glass of wine!  CHEERS!
The Bandstand hosts many different events in the Square throughout the season.
Keuka Lake shore is a block from the Village Square, public swimming beach.
Bully Hill Vineyards and Restaurant offers spectacular views of Keuka, just minutes from Village Sq.
Silsbee Rd view of the 'Bluff' and both branches of Keuka Lake.  One of my favorite views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JoMarvan
Towson, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a beautiful haven of tranquility”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The setting and the cabin could not be improved. A lovely place with all amenities yet keeping some rustic charm, close to the quaint town of Hammondsport and Keuka Lake yet so far off the "beaten track" that it truly is a haven of tranquility. The dogs were a delight and Cynthia a very engaging and chatty host. Their pond was stuffed with sunfish and bass and the source of very succesful catch and release early evening fishing. We had a lovely two night stay at Donameer exploring the surrounding area, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
I look forward to your return. It was a pleasure sharing our little corner of paradise with you! Please comeback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneer42...
New York City, New York
1 review
“The most wonderful stay...”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Having lived in large cities all my life, was a little apprehensive in staying on a "farm" for our getaway at the Fingers Lake region. Upon arriving with my wife and our dog, we were greeted by three lovely Jack Russell's (Shea, Sophie, and Dottie) and our gracious host, Cynthia. We were put at ease immediately with a nice tour of the entire property. We were then left to settle into our wonderfully cozy cottage that was fully equipped with everything we needed for our stay. Our experience at Donameer was not only relaxing but rejuvenating. And watching the stars at night was simply amazing. Can't wait to have our next visit with Cynthia and the doggies!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The environment.
Liked least: Lack of modern accommodations but appropriately so.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
We welcome dog owners and non-owners to our peaceful corner of paradise and feel confident that all have a great time and appreciate the doggy freedom accorded to them! Dogs Rule!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doggy paradise”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our dog loved his visit with Cynthia and her dogs. We did too. Lots to do on the farm and in the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael E...
1 review
“Peaceful place surrounded by nature”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Cynthia was an excellent host and we enjoyed being greeted by her three Jack Russell Terriers every day. The front porch of the cabin makes an excellent place to relax and enjoy the scenery. Deer and other wildlife seen every day and the horses are almost always in view in the pasture. The cabin is fully equipped with what you will need and you can bring along you own dog with no worries.

Hammondsport is ten minutes away and is a beautiful small town with excellent restaurants and places to shop. Don't pass up a visit to the Curtis Glenn Museum in Hammondsport.

Watkins Glen is about 25 minutes away and is a good place to take a boat ride. The Watkins Glenn State Park is beautiful with many waterfalls and a deep gorge to view. Be prepared to do some step climbing.

We drove around Lake Keuka and Seneca Lake and visited more than ten wineries. Highly recommend a visit to Bully Hill Winery which has a wine making museum, wine tasting room and an excellent patio to enjoy a meal.

The entire area is absolutely beautiful and the Donameer Farm makes a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing and dining. I highly recommend the cabin experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting
Liked least: Leaving for home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan71PA
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Donameer Farm for several days with my husband and our dog. Loved it - would definitely return. The cabin was very comfortable, clean and cozy. The property was beautiful - plenty of room for our dog to roam. Our hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Provided lots of great tips on places to eat, etc. Their dogs were cute and friendly and got along well with our dog.

We loved Hammondsport - good restaurants with dog-friendly outdoor seating. We enjoyed visiting Watkins Glen State Park. We went twice - once with our dog and we stuck to the trails where dogs are allowed. We went a second day for the Gorge Trail. Dogs are not permitted on that trail, and it's really the main attraction. We had fun shopping at the Windmill in Penn Yan. We also enjoyed just relaxing at the farm - taking walks, relaxing on the glider on the front porch, talking to Cynthia and Neal.

We wanted to take it easy and relax, but I was really surprised just how much there is to do in the area. We plan on returning soon, and would love to stay at Donameer Farm again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful property and the hospitality.
Liked least: Going home when our vacation was over.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing