We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$292
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$178
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Do Paraiso(Vilanculos)
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Baobab Beach Backpackers(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Dona Ana(Vilanculos)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmeiras Lodge(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Chibububo Lodge(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Varanda(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
51
10
3
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
10
3
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute boat tripchef robertoseafoodmile reefvery special placefishing tripbeautiful placeevery mealexcellent foodindian oceanjettygeneratorlodgemangrovessightingsdolphinsbanque
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to Dugong and both my trips were excellent. To get to Dugong one needs to go by boat and this is a great experience. At our arrival the staff were singing and dancing - what a great welcome.
Our rooms were beautiful and the mozzie nets were very effective. As this is an Island one needs to understand that at a certain time at night the generators went off, but this was no concern to our group.
The food was excellent and At the last night I felt like I just can't eat more. From crayfish, fresh fish, crab cakes to excellent steaks - congratulations to the chef and his team on doing their work so well. They even made a cake to one of the guests who had his birthday.
Brian and his staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to let us enjoy our holiday.
The place itself is extremely beautiful and I really felt like I am in one of the most tranquil places I have ever been at. The secret is to ask the personnel to show you around and to participate in the activities.
I can write a lot more about this place, but the key message is that for a small Island, far away from big cities, etc The Dugong Beach Lodge is a must do for people who loves nature and peace. This is not a place for you if you expect late night life. For me this was exactly what I needed and I feel energized after spending a few days in heaven. I will be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Christo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Christo B
We appreciate your taking the time to post this review and are delighted to read that your overall trip was a memorable one. Thank you for the compliments, they have been passed on to Brian and his team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dugong in the not-too-distant future and the opportunity to create a Legendary experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wow what an amazing holiday this has been! Dugong beach lodge truly went above and beyond all that I expected. To relax in luxury and be able to visit such a magnificant location is something that I think only a lucky few are able to do and I am certainly thankful that I could be one of them!

The Dugong team were so friendly and nothing was ever to much to ask. Not only were we waded on by hand and foot but also ate like kings...the food was out of this world! As if this wasn't already enough, our rooms were exquisite! I was also amazed to see the amount and variety of fish while snorkeling at the lodge, in one word AWESOME!!

Thank you to the Dugong team for making our trip one that I will remember for the rest of my life! I hope that I will be able to visit you again some time in the future so that I can once again experience Mozambique the way that everyone should!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reinhardtvanstaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Reinhardtvanstaden
Thank you for finding the time to post this awesome review about your stay at our property. We are delighted to read that you stay was a magical one and that our team delivered a Legendary service that we strive to deliver at all times. We thank you for the compliments and have passed them on the Dugong Team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We wanted to stay somewhere luxurious in/around Vilanculos. One of the prerequisites is that we wanted aircon as it was March and very hot. What they fail to explain is that they do have aircon and fans but the generator turns off at mid-night and only comes on again at 07h00 in the morning. So you go to bed with aircon on and windows closed (because of all the mozzies) and early hours of the morning, you start sweating. You eventually have to open the windows and naturally all the mozzies flood in and buzz around your net and keep you awake or find their way into the mozzie net. Either way you cannot sleep. Dugong promised to keep the generator on the whole night after the second night of this happening but failed on their promise. The generator went off the same time and came on again at the same time but they explained that the generator was faulty and the technician could not fix it in the dark??? We wanted famous Mozambiquen R & R's but they had no Raspberry Juice. The list goes on ... it was a very disappointing stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WarrenFarrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear WarrenFarrer,

It is with disappointment that we read your review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We strive to create a truly Legendary experience for all our guests and apologise that this was not the case for you. We however can advise that while we welcome constructive comments, we take all complaints extremely seriously and can assure you that a proper investigation is taking place. We have been experiencing problems with our generators with parts having to be ordered. We can confirm that the parts have been sent to Dugong, from South Africa and the generators are working once again. While the policy is to switch the generators off from midnight to sunrise, exceptions are made with extremely warm weather. We can also advise that our MD and CEO are on the property at the moment and have been informed of the issues you experienced and will personally investigate.
Warren, our lodge is known for its tranquillity and luxury, its wonderful service and team and of course, the natural beauty of its location. To read that your time with us was not made of that is concerning. While we do understand that your current perception of our lodge is marred, we can only hope that this will not deter you from returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic 4 nights here. The adventure starts with a paddle from Velanculos Beach out to your speedboat for a 50 minute cruise to the Dugong Beach Lodge. We were greeted with a song from the staff assembled on the wooden jetty. Our lodge was built in traditional style right on the beach. It was very spacious and very comfortable with many attractive features as part of the design. OK the power gets turned off at bedtime and you share your lodge with a friendly lizard and occasional insects - but this is Africa and all part of the experience. The accommodation includes a shaded deck and one for sunbathing with a plunge pool to hand. The service was absolutely first class and the food was consistently very good. Eating a superb dinner under a star-filled sky is an experience to remember. Encouragingly the staff were all local. There is a good range of activities on offer including sailing, fishing and snorkelling. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All the lodges are on the beach - so all good.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkeneEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

After just over 2 weeks in SA, we travelled to Dugong Beach Lodge on the 27th Jan 14, and stayed for 5 nights. The transfer from Vilanculos was different, an open safari type truck took us to the beach where we had to wad through warm water to the motor boat. The ladies found a little difficult to get onto the boat. Once on a good 50min trip across the bay, on arrival all the staff greeted us, superb. We had lunch and were shown to our rooms, very nice, indoor and outdoor showers indoor bath and a very comfy bed with a bacon inc loungers. The down side was the water, none in the taps to run a bath and only luke water in the two showers. However the hot water gat sorted after 2 days. The food was excellent and a great choice, the bar was well stocked and drinks apart from wine was cheap. We did have a problem in determining what wine was included in the package, but after a meeting with the Manager we resolved the issue to everyones satisfaction. So if you go there find exactly whats included and what you have to pay for. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for us, the AC worked all the time save for occasionally 15 mins shut down to check the main generator. We had a fab day on a deserted island , 2 staff came with us and while we all went snorkelling the staff set up tables, umbrellas and our lunch including wine & beers, a very hot day, but truly memorable. On our last night a table was set up on pier and we enjoyed a great dinner served by the staff under the stars, excellent. Overall a friendly place to stay and different from the hotels in SA. We where never in doubt that we were safe and security was good. Oh the sunsets were the best I have ever seen.

Room Tip: All 8 villas/rooms where the same except 2 rooms had a plunge pool.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanb540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews