We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want!”
Review of Dugong Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dugong Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We stayed three nights at Dugong in November as we travelled up the length of Mozambique. Our bedroom was the upstairs of an 8-bed lodge, overlooking the sea and beautiful gardens which go right down to the beach. The open-sided lapa (covered area) has a bar and dining tables and is near the pool and braai (BBQ). Did I mention the gardens? Lush lawns, shaded by cashew nut trees and palms, edged with colourful shrubs and ferns give a sense of coolness even in the heat of the day. A really lovely place to stay. Not to mention the fact that there is diving and snorkelling, fishing and swimming within easy reach. It all feels so welcoming and friendly and, although out of season and very quiet when we visited, I feel sure that you would get the same attention in even the busiest times. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoppywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Dear hoppywendy

Thank you for your review, but unfortunately you have placed your review on the wrong lodge's page. We are Dugong Beach Lodge, the lodge that you visited is Dugong Mozambique Lodge. We do however hope that you will visit our lodge in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Dugong Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2014

We visited Dugong Beach Lodge in September and I really have no negative feedback about this lodge. Everything was superb and the service from the staff made our stay unforgettable!

The lodge is situated on the Mainland of Mozambique not too far from Vilanculos on the San Sebastian Peninsula. Due to the location of the lodge it actually feels that you are on one of this islands in the area as you view will be the ocean and the mainland in the distance due to the curve of the peninsula. You also reach the lodge via boat transfer from Vilanculos. I have been on all the islands in the area and it really felt exactly the same.

The lodge it self has an amazing location and the rooms at directly on the beach and at high tide the water comes all the way up to the steps in front of your room. The chalets are luxury and attends to all your needs. The food and service at the lodge was superb! They are busy creating their own reef under the main jetty and the snorkelling in front of the lodge was very good! Just be careful of the incoming and outgoing tides. They do however also offer other snorkelling and diving opportunities in the area at an additional cost.

I can recommend this lodge to anyone wanting to experience a great Mozambican Island Holiday less than a 2 hour flight from Johannesburg.

Room Tip: They have two inter-leading family rooms with their own private pools. These are great for families...
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Renier F

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on our Lodge. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got the chance to experience the magnificent views, as well as the Mozambican hospitality that only the Dugong Team can provide! We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to Dugong and both my trips were excellent. To get to Dugong one needs to go by boat and this is a great experience. At our arrival the staff were singing and dancing - what a great welcome.
Our rooms were beautiful and the mozzie nets were very effective. As this is an Island one needs to understand that at a certain time at night the generators went off, but this was no concern to our group.
The food was excellent and At the last night I felt like I just can't eat more. From crayfish, fresh fish, crab cakes to excellent steaks - congratulations to the chef and his team on doing their work so well. They even made a cake to one of the guests who had his birthday.
Brian and his staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to let us enjoy our holiday.
The place itself is extremely beautiful and I really felt like I am in one of the most tranquil places I have ever been at. The secret is to ask the personnel to show you around and to participate in the activities.
I can write a lot more about this place, but the key message is that for a small Island, far away from big cities, etc The Dugong Beach Lodge is a must do for people who loves nature and peace. This is not a place for you if you expect late night life. For me this was exactly what I needed and I feel energized after spending a few days in heaven. I will be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Christo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Christo B
We appreciate your taking the time to post this review and are delighted to read that your overall trip was a memorable one. Thank you for the compliments, they have been passed on to Brian and his team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dugong in the not-too-distant future and the opportunity to create a Legendary experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wow what an amazing holiday this has been! Dugong beach lodge truly went above and beyond all that I expected. To relax in luxury and be able to visit such a magnificant location is something that I think only a lucky few are able to do and I am certainly thankful that I could be one of them!

The Dugong team were so friendly and nothing was ever to much to ask. Not only were we waded on by hand and foot but also ate like kings...the food was out of this world! As if this wasn't already enough, our rooms were exquisite! I was also amazed to see the amount and variety of fish while snorkeling at the lodge, in one word AWESOME!!

Thank you to the Dugong team for making our trip one that I will remember for the rest of my life! I hope that I will be able to visit you again some time in the future so that I can once again experience Mozambique the way that everyone should!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reinhardtvanstaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Reinhardtvanstaden
Thank you for finding the time to post this awesome review about your stay at our property. We are delighted to read that you stay was a magical one and that our team delivered a Legendary service that we strive to deliver at all times. We thank you for the compliments and have passed them on the Dugong Team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We wanted to stay somewhere luxurious in/around Vilanculos. One of the prerequisites is that we wanted aircon as it was March and very hot. What they fail to explain is that they do have aircon and fans but the generator turns off at mid-night and only comes on again at 07h00 in the morning. So you go to bed with aircon on and windows closed (because of all the mozzies) and early hours of the morning, you start sweating. You eventually have to open the windows and naturally all the mozzies flood in and buzz around your net and keep you awake or find their way into the mozzie net. Either way you cannot sleep. Dugong promised to keep the generator on the whole night after the second night of this happening but failed on their promise. The generator went off the same time and came on again at the same time but they explained that the generator was faulty and the technician could not fix it in the dark??? We wanted famous Mozambiquen R & R's but they had no Raspberry Juice. The list goes on ... it was a very disappointing stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WarrenFarrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear WarrenFarrer,

It is with disappointment that we read your review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We strive to create a truly Legendary experience for all our guests and apologise that this was not the case for you. We however can advise that while we welcome constructive comments, we take all complaints extremely seriously and can assure you that a proper investigation is taking place. We have been experiencing problems with our generators with parts having to be ordered. We can confirm that the parts have been sent to Dugong, from South Africa and the generators are working once again. While the policy is to switch the generators off from midnight to sunrise, exceptions are made with extremely warm weather. We can also advise that our MD and CEO are on the property at the moment and have been informed of the issues you experienced and will personally investigate.
Warren, our lodge is known for its tranquillity and luxury, its wonderful service and team and of course, the natural beauty of its location. To read that your time with us was not made of that is concerning. While we do understand that your current perception of our lodge is marred, we can only hope that this will not deter you from returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
22.4 km away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
215 reviews
20.8 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
79 reviews
21.4 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
91 reviews
31.1 km away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
427 reviews
28.5 km away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dugong Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dugong Beach Lodge

Address: Vilanculos Coastal Wildlife Sanctuary | San Sebastian Peninsula, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range: RM1,850 - RM5,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dugong Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 30 000 hectares of pristine Marine and Wildlife territory, it provides a unique Beach & Wilderness Experience in a hidden corner of sub-tropical Africa. This diverse eco-system of wilderness and wetland, with its powder white beaches and crystal clear water is host to a magnificent array of fish, dolphin and most importantly, the nearly extinct "Atlantic Dugong" (which resembles a sea lion). Shallow and deep water reefs reveal beautiful creatures such as the great leatherback turtles, sailfish and manta ray. Deep-sea fishing of marlin and barracuda is truly spectacular and the large flocks of flamingos and pelicans are a sight to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dugong Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dugong Beach Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing