We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Dugong Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dugong Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

The staff was so friendly! Food was amazing and fresh. Staff was beyond helpful
. We were spoiled from beginning to end. Would highly recommend this destination for anyone to have best of both worlds - the wild African bush with the beauty of island lifestyle.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank pauljessiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear pauljessiman

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to hear about your experience and that the food, accommodation and service was amazing. We will be sure to pass on your message to the Dugong Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Dugong Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2015

Dugong Beach Lodge is an incredible Lodge with very professional management Team second to none!!. It's also located in the Vilanculos Coastal and Wildlife Reserve so its a protected area so the Marine and Wildlife is just amazing!! Seriously a place like no other!!. Also the sunsets are awesome!!. Thanks Brian, Ernest and team for accommodating us so well !!. PS the food is also second to none. Thanks guys !!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J100R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear J100R

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that your overall experience was second to none and that you enjoyed the food, beautiful scenery and appreciated the friendly service. We will be sure to pass on your message to Brian, Ernesto and the rest of the Dugong Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Dugong exceeded our every expectation! It was our first venture into Mozambique - and what a fabulous venture it turned out to be! We are already planning our next trip.
As we went in June, we shared the entire lodge with one couple for two days, and thereafter had the whole luxury lodge to ourselves. Why is June considered "out of season"? The weather was perfect, sea was warm and the staff exceptionally helpful, friendly and caring. The food was great - only complaint - too much and too delicious. It was so hard not to over-indulge.
We took a boat trip to Banque Island - this was definitely a highlight. Imagine being on a deserted island, having a luxury picnic lunch, fishing, swimming in warm water, lazing under umbrellas, collecting pansy shells - that's it, just better!
We can't wait to go back and take our family with us.
As for "cockroaches" mentioned by a reviewer below - take no notice. We did not see a single creepy crawly. Everything was clean, pristine, fabulous!
I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: We had a "standard room", and I can't imagine anything being better.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

Dear Nicky H

We are absolutely delighted to hear about your spectacular time at Dugong Beach Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and including your experience of the island excursion. We will be sure to pass on your message about the friendly service, delicious food and fabulous accommodation to the Dugong Team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We stayed three nights at Dugong in November as we travelled up the length of Mozambique. Our bedroom was the upstairs of an 8-bed lodge, overlooking the sea and beautiful gardens which go right down to the beach. The open-sided lapa (covered area) has a bar and dining tables and is near the pool and braai (BBQ). Did I mention the gardens? Lush lawns, shaded by cashew nut trees and palms, edged with colourful shrubs and ferns give a sense of coolness even in the heat of the day. A really lovely place to stay. Not to mention the fact that there is diving and snorkelling, fishing and swimming within easy reach. It all feels so welcoming and friendly and, although out of season and very quiet when we visited, I feel sure that you would get the same attention in even the busiest times. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoppywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Dear hoppywendy

Thank you for your review, but unfortunately you have placed your review on the wrong lodge's page. We are Dugong Beach Lodge, the lodge that you visited is Dugong Mozambique Lodge. We do however hope that you will visit our lodge in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We visited Dugong Beach Lodge in September and I really have no negative feedback about this lodge. Everything was superb and the service from the staff made our stay unforgettable!

The lodge is situated on the Mainland of Mozambique not too far from Vilanculos on the San Sebastian Peninsula. Due to the location of the lodge it actually feels that you are on one of this islands in the area as you view will be the ocean and the mainland in the distance due to the curve of the peninsula. You also reach the lodge via boat transfer from Vilanculos. I have been on all the islands in the area and it really felt exactly the same.

The lodge it self has an amazing location and the rooms at directly on the beach and at high tide the water comes all the way up to the steps in front of your room. The chalets are luxury and attends to all your needs. The food and service at the lodge was superb! They are busy creating their own reef under the main jetty and the snorkelling in front of the lodge was very good! Just be careful of the incoming and outgoing tides. They do however also offer other snorkelling and diving opportunities in the area at an additional cost.

I can recommend this lodge to anyone wanting to experience a great Mozambican Island Holiday less than a 2 hour flight from Johannesburg.

Room Tip: They have two inter-leading family rooms with their own private pools. These are great for families...
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Renier F

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on our Lodge. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got the chance to experience the magnificent views, as well as the Mozambican hospitality that only the Dugong Team can provide! We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
22.4 km away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
217 reviews
21.4 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
20.8 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
92 reviews
31.1 km away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
429 reviews
28.5 km away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dugong Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dugong Beach Lodge

Address: Vilanculos Coastal Wildlife Sanctuary | San Sebastian Peninsula, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range: RM1,861 - RM5,267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dugong Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 30 000 hectares of pristine Marine and Wildlife territory, it provides a unique Beach & Wilderness Experience in a hidden corner of sub-tropical Africa. This diverse eco-system of wilderness and wetland, with its powder white beaches and crystal clear water is host to a magnificent array of fish, dolphin and most importantly, the nearly extinct "Atlantic Dugong" (which resembles a sea lion). Shallow and deep water reefs reveal beautiful creatures such as the great leatherback turtles, sailfish and manta ray. Deep-sea fishing of marlin and barracuda is truly spectacular and the large flocks of flamingos and pelicans are a sight to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dugong Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dugong Beach Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing