We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dugong Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pescador(Vilanculos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dona Ana(Vilanculos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Cabana Beach(Vilanculos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel(Vilanculos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
50
9
3
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
9
3
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute boat triphigh tideour honeymoonseafoodchef robertoout of this worldmile reefspent nightsvery special placefishing tripbeautiful placeevery mealexcellent foodgeneratorlodgemangrovespicnic
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Dugong Beach Lodge is an incredible Lodge with very professional management Team second to none!!. It's also located in the Vilanculos Coastal and Wildlife Reserve so its a protected area so the Marine and Wildlife is just amazing!! Seriously a place like no other!!. Also the sunsets are awesome!!. Thanks Brian, Ernest and team for accommodating us so well !!. PS the food is also second to none. Thanks guys !!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J100R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear J100R

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that your overall experience was second to none and that you enjoyed the food, beautiful scenery and appreciated the friendly service. We will be sure to pass on your message to Brian, Ernesto and the rest of the Dugong Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Dugong exceeded our every expectation! It was our first venture into Mozambique - and what a fabulous venture it turned out to be! We are already planning our next trip.
As we went in June, we shared the entire lodge with one couple for two days, and thereafter had the whole luxury lodge to ourselves. Why is June considered "out of season"? The weather was perfect, sea was warm and the staff exceptionally helpful, friendly and caring. The food was great - only complaint - too much and too delicious. It was so hard not to over-indulge.
We took a boat trip to Banque Island - this was definitely a highlight. Imagine being on a deserted island, having a luxury picnic lunch, fishing, swimming in warm water, lazing under umbrellas, collecting pansy shells - that's it, just better!
We can't wait to go back and take our family with us.
As for "cockroaches" mentioned by a reviewer below - take no notice. We did not see a single creepy crawly. Everything was clean, pristine, fabulous!
I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: We had a "standard room", and I can't imagine anything being better.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

Dear Nicky H

We are absolutely delighted to hear about your spectacular time at Dugong Beach Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and including your experience of the island excursion. We will be sure to pass on your message about the friendly service, delicious food and fabulous accommodation to the Dugong Team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We stayed three nights at Dugong in November as we travelled up the length of Mozambique. Our bedroom was the upstairs of an 8-bed lodge, overlooking the sea and beautiful gardens which go right down to the beach. The open-sided lapa (covered area) has a bar and dining tables and is near the pool and braai (BBQ). Did I mention the gardens? Lush lawns, shaded by cashew nut trees and palms, edged with colourful shrubs and ferns give a sense of coolness even in the heat of the day. A really lovely place to stay. Not to mention the fact that there is diving and snorkelling, fishing and swimming within easy reach. It all feels so welcoming and friendly and, although out of season and very quiet when we visited, I feel sure that you would get the same attention in even the busiest times. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoppywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Dear hoppywendy

Thank you for your review, but unfortunately you have placed your review on the wrong lodge's page. We are Dugong Beach Lodge, the lodge that you visited is Dugong Mozambique Lodge. We do however hope that you will visit our lodge in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We visited Dugong Beach Lodge in September and I really have no negative feedback about this lodge. Everything was superb and the service from the staff made our stay unforgettable!

The lodge is situated on the Mainland of Mozambique not too far from Vilanculos on the San Sebastian Peninsula. Due to the location of the lodge it actually feels that you are on one of this islands in the area as you view will be the ocean and the mainland in the distance due to the curve of the peninsula. You also reach the lodge via boat transfer from Vilanculos. I have been on all the islands in the area and it really felt exactly the same.

The lodge it self has an amazing location and the rooms at directly on the beach and at high tide the water comes all the way up to the steps in front of your room. The chalets are luxury and attends to all your needs. The food and service at the lodge was superb! They are busy creating their own reef under the main jetty and the snorkelling in front of the lodge was very good! Just be careful of the incoming and outgoing tides. They do however also offer other snorkelling and diving opportunities in the area at an additional cost.

I can recommend this lodge to anyone wanting to experience a great Mozambican Island Holiday less than a 2 hour flight from Johannesburg.

Room Tip: They have two inter-leading family rooms with their own private pools. These are great for families or if you want to be private.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Renier F

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on our Lodge. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got the chance to experience the magnificent views, as well as the Mozambican hospitality that only the Dugong Team can provide! We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to Dugong and both my trips were excellent. To get to Dugong one needs to go by boat and this is a great experience. At our arrival the staff were singing and dancing - what a great welcome.
Our rooms were beautiful and the mozzie nets were very effective. As this is an Island one needs to understand that at a certain time at night the generators went off, but this was no concern to our group.
The food was excellent and At the last night I felt like I just can't eat more. From crayfish, fresh fish, crab cakes to excellent steaks - congratulations to the chef and his team on doing their work so well. They even made a cake to one of the guests who had his birthday.
Brian and his staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to let us enjoy our holiday.
The place itself is extremely beautiful and I really felt like I am in one of the most tranquil places I have ever been at. The secret is to ask the personnel to show you around and to participate in the activities.
I can write a lot more about this place, but the key message is that for a small Island, far away from big cities, etc The Dugong Beach Lodge is a must do for people who loves nature and peace. This is not a place for you if you expect late night life. For me this was exactly what I needed and I feel energized after spending a few days in heaven. I will be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Christo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Christo B
We appreciate your taking the time to post this review and are delighted to read that your overall trip was a memorable one. Thank you for the compliments, they have been passed on to Brian and his team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dugong in the not-too-distant future and the opportunity to create a Legendary experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews