We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent, Excellent.”
Review of Dugong Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dugong Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Your flight in to Vilanculous have a choice of 3 airline operators from OR. Tambo,1. 5hours airport exit takes 30 minutes with a shuttle waiting for you, 25 minutes drive and you are on the beach where a boat is moored ready to take you to the resort, Your suitcases gets taken from the vehicle onto the boat. The boat trip is 40 minutes with drinks on board to the resort, on resort arrival staff are clapping their hands and partying on the extended Jetty welcoming guests, they even wash your feet upon entry. All staff are totally friendly and all speak English and nothing is effort for them. Then there is the Food.... Oh My..The Food is awesome! The portions are really big and the seating is totally on request. We have had our table set just where we wanted it. The Shef was left to prepare what he wanted and this yielded really cool results. O.k the Food was just faultless, not fine dining, but really wholesome and enjoyable. The Room, If you can get the Room with the Private splash Pool, That is the best result. The Pool water temperature is really warm and swimming 10p.m is a must do. The Sea temperature is also really warm, also there are almost no waves and the sea is really clear, we had a yellow canoe and this became our daily commute with 2 km from the resort. The fish jumps out of the water right over the canoe in schools of a 1000+ and makes for an awesome experience. Also get a pair of Goggles, The sea clarity and the fish visible whilst snorkeling is really good, there is a mini reef under the Jetty but it is best viewed as the high tide peaks so currents are almost still then. Also we participated in catching the most colour full crabs 1.6 kilometers in the sea at low tide, water was knee height, not keen on holding the crabs myself but a cool experience, also get a really strong torch for night times. Using the torch in the sea reveals other fish not seen during the day. Keep in mind that the place does run on a generator so if you have energy left past 10 p.m then the torch will be handy for that as well. Safety wise we didn't feel unsafe at all during the whole trip from Airport to Airport again. Drinks was cheap where the Coldrinks worked out less than we thought, Tips was dealt with in group tip at the end of the holiday where the manager used his discretion on the distribution thereof. The essence of this holiday is to appreciate a quiet paradise setting and Dugong didn't disappoint. We have rated this as the best holiday resort we have been to and would like to return to Dugong hopefully in 2017 again. We were there in October 2015 and the Humidity wasn't an issue and mozzies not a problem. I would recommend in taking your own dive goggles and own torch with and even if you are not a diver of sorts just lying in the shallows at night with an underwater torch is really entertaining. Cellphones are pointless there but seasonal Wifi when working does allow whatsapp but then the point is not to use your phone. Also cannot recall if there was any TV's although we didn't watch TV at all there. Simply put if you are a tourist this place gives you the essential island feel without the crowd's and the beggars. Again thanks to all the staff, your humble yet effective service was top drawer.

Room Tip: Splash out more and take one of the corner units with the private pools, worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hermandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Company Liaison at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear Hermandl,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for such lovely comments about your sat at our property; from your departure from OR Tambo till your arrival at the Resort, we only hear good things from you and we are so happy to see that you got too experience the uniqueness of Dugong Beach Lodge. Your positive comments show us that we are on the right path with the property and we hope that you will be coming again in 2017 foor a visit, until then have a love year further.

Regards
Michelle Bouic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Dugong Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2016

It seems its all been said before but I am going to repeat and endorse all of the previous reviews anyway. We cannot believe what an amazing time we had in this very special place. Away from it all, it's the ideal place to relax and unwind. The scenery is stunning with turquoise sea and endless white sand. The staff are freindly, welcoming, respectful and curteous. Our room was clean, spacious and very well equipped and refreshed every day. From waking up directly on the waters edge to watching the spectacular sun sets and everything in between and after was a delight. Amazing snorkeling on 2 mile reef, dolphins swimming close by and the sundowner drive through the wildlife sanctuary were just a couple of the things we experienced. We met lovely people and are sure to return. The central lodge area provides another space in which to relax and unwind alongside the pool area. The is a TV area with games and books if you really can't survive without and wifi available in this area! Food was varied, fesh and delicious and I can confirm that we too ate far too much, but that's what holidays are about! The fresh fish was excellent and the chef goes out of his way to please. Great cocktails too...You can do as much or as little as you want and the staff are happy to advise and tailor make your break. We were advised to take beach towels with us but this is not necessary. Fresh towels by the pool and beach towels are provided in the room. A bucket list location for us!! Thank you.......

Room Tip: All rooms are on the waters edge with direct access to the beach. We had a double room, very spaciou...
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Dear Lesley S

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our "slice of paradise". Thank you for also sharing details on the activities you did, the food, accommodation, friendly service as well as your whole experience. We will be sure to pass on your message to the Dugong Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Our family of 4 (2 teenage girls) enjoyed such a relaxing and fun filled holiday at Dugong Beach Lodge. The management was outstanding, the staff were friendly and helpful. The Self Catering Lodge was well equipped, clean, had air-conditioning, house keeping and was set in luscious, tropical gardens with a beautiful view.
A trip to Paradise Island is a MUST. You will not be disappointed.
Thank you for a wonderful holiday, personal touches and good company.

Room Tip: Book the more expensive self catering lodges. The 'dormitory' style self catering lodges are...
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Dear Leon S

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for sharing you experience at Dugong Beach Lodge with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the friendly service and that you had a wonderful holiday. We will be sure to pass on your message to the Dugong Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Stayed 4 nights at Dugong and the service from first to last was outstanding, from the lodge manager to the barman and waiters. Food was SERIOUSLY GOOD - especially the seafood. The lodge is on a quiet peninsula, about 45 minutes from Benguerra and Bazaurto, which makes a great day trip (including the two mile reef for snorkelling), however there is plenty to do locally including kayaking, hobie cat sailing, walks and just relaxing. There is also quite a bit of game in the wildlife sanctuary too.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juno101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2015

Dear Juno101

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to hear about your stay with us and would like to also thank you for the details you included. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Dugong Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

The staff was so friendly! Food was amazing and fresh. Staff was beyond helpful
. We were spoiled from beginning to end. Would highly recommend this destination for anyone to have best of both worlds - the wild African bush with the beauty of island lifestyle.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank pauljessiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear pauljessiman

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to hear about your experience and that the food, accommodation and service was amazing. We will be sure to pass on your message to the Dugong Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
22.4 km away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
215 reviews
20.8 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
79 reviews
21.4 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
92 reviews
31.1 km away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
427 reviews
28.5 km away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dugong Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dugong Beach Lodge

Address: Vilanculos Coastal Wildlife Sanctuary | San Sebastian Peninsula, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range: RM1,849 - RM5,294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dugong Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 30 000 hectares of pristine Marine and Wildlife territory, it provides a unique Beach & Wilderness Experience in a hidden corner of sub-tropical Africa. This diverse eco-system of wilderness and wetland, with its powder white beaches and crystal clear water is host to a magnificent array of fish, dolphin and most importantly, the nearly extinct "Atlantic Dugong" (which resembles a sea lion). Shallow and deep water reefs reveal beautiful creatures such as the great leatherback turtles, sailfish and manta ray. Deep-sea fishing of marlin and barracuda is truly spectacular and the large flocks of flamingos and pelicans are a sight to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dugong Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dugong Beach Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing