We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dugong Beach Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Jules(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Baobab Beach Backpackers(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Cabana Beach(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmeiras Lodge(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zombie Cucumber(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Dona Ana(Vilanculos)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel(Vilanculos)
US$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vila Do Paraiso(Vilanculos)
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
50
9
3
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
9
3
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute boat triphigh tideour honeymoonseafoodchef robertoout of this worldmile reefspent nightsvery special placefishing tripbeautiful placeevery mealexcellent foodgeneratorlodgemangrovespicnic
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dugong. Loved the excellent food, lovely friendly staff that make you feel at home, beautiful spacious rooms opening up onto the sea, enough fun activities to keep you busy, all managed very effectively by a very experienced lodge manager, Ernesto. Thank you Ernesto and thanks to your team. We will be back.

Room Tip: No wifi in rooms, only in main lodge area.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLDin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Dugong Beach Lodge at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Morning ClaireLDin

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Dugong Beach Lodge. We are heartened to read that you had a legendary stay and that you enjoyed the food, activities and friendly staff. Your wonderful comments have been passed onto management and the whole Dugong team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We went there as part of our honeymoon in Jan 2017 expecting to stay for 6 nights...
Our experience was not great (an unfortunate combination of weather and the characteristics of the hotel) and we ended up leaving after 3 nights.
Awkwardly, we were the ONLY guests at the moment, which made it look almost like a ghost hotel. This is obviously not the hotel's fault but it influenced our stay.
Also, we were so unlucky that our whole stay it rained non-stop, which combined with the power issues (more on that below) made the stay unbearable.
Let me tell you about the best and worst of our stay.
BEST:
The food was exquisite, the portions huge. You would definitely not be hungry and it was incredible that the chef asked personally what you would like to eat and prepare it.
The lodge itself is really beautiful and the scenery is incredible
Staff are very accommodating and helpful (and the welcome and goodbye ceremonies are a nice touch)
WORST:
Sadly, there is a lot to say about this.
First and foremost, the electricity. We were not aware of the electricity being powered by a generator that did not work 24/7. I've read the reviews about it but as they were old and the hotel never mentioned this at the time of booking, I thought it would be fixed. It wasn't. The generator does not work the whole day, at night it gets hot and after being turned off at 12pm, it can get really bad (plus, you can't open the windows because all types of bugs of bats would get in your room)
After the first night, the staff kindly offered to keep it working until 2am, which improved the situation. I think it's crucial that the hotel advises guests of this issue upon their booking rather than at the time of their arrival.
Windows in the room do not have mosquito nets. This is a shame as it would improve the confort of guests in order to cool the room without depending on the air-con/electricity. As this is a natural area, of course insects/animals are to be expected but if the hotel put mosquito nets on windows it would make the stay a lot better.
Housekeeping and general maintenance in the room was not perfect. The net over the bed to prevent mosquitos to bite you while sleeping is not in perfect conditions, it has a few wholes and is not properly attached to the wall, thus not being hermetic and failing it's purpose. Also, one night we woke up to find a kind of fly all over our floor. After housekeeping came twice for the daily cleaning, they had used bug spray on them to kill them but they would not sweep them out (photo included, they were quite a few of them)
As I mentioned, it rained during our stay. after the second night, our room started to have leaks of water, which turned out to make a puddle inside our room. Again, poor maintenance and it was surprising that even though housekeeping tried to clean it, management never mentioned a thing about this issue (we even told them it was raining inside our room but they didn't do anything about it)
By this point we obviously decided to leave, even if it meant to loose money as the hotel would not offer any kind of compensation.
When we checked out, they gave us the bill to pay for charges....let me tell you this has no detail whatsoever. They tell you the amount and the description is a number...we don't know what we paid for.
All in all, not a recommended hotel. I mean this is a 4star hotel and it is definitely not cheap. I guess if the weather had been good to actually be on the beach it would have been fine but being locked up due to rain without electricity and the other issues I mentioned really did not make this a good experience.
Hope this helps future guests!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank victoriagarcia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear Victoriagarcia23,

It is with disappointment that we read your review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We strive to create a truly Legendary experience for all our guests and apologise that this was not the case for you. We however can advise that while we welcome constructive comments, we take all complaints extremely seriously and can assure you that a proper investigation is taking place. Our lodge is known for its tranquillity and luxury, its wonderful service and team and of course, the natural beauty of its location. To read that your time with us was not made of that is concerning. While we do understand that your current perception of our lodge is marred, we can only hope that this will not deter you from returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We cannot recommend Dugong beach lodge high enough!
We are a couple in our 30's who went there for our honeymoon. We were worried about it being so remote, but soon came to realise that's the beauty of it!
The food was outstanding! The chef Roberto, cooked anything you desired, and the seafood is out of this world! The portions are huge! And so wholesome you will not go hungry!
The staff are all so friendly, nothing is too much of an ask. They make each dining experience special. Especially with the quirky napkin displays, and seating wherever you like (including privately in your lodge if you prefer).
The pool is warm and very clean, the bar ideally located behind the pool, facing the gorgeous ocean.
Canoeing, snorkelling and walking around the animal sanctuary, (if you can stick the heat long enough), filled our activity requirements, (well my husbands, I would have been quite happy lounging by the pool all day!). The animal sanctuary is huge, they don't have the big 5, but have buffalo, giraffes, zebras, monkeys and many more that we didn't get to see as we got too hot!
The lodges are very clean, the generator was not an issue as long as you leave the duvet off you wouldn't notice the power going off as it's very late in the night.
You are greeted with all the staff singing when you arrive and again as you leave, which is so amazing.
There is a small shop in the hotel in case you need sun cream (factor 50 is advisable) or paracetamol, however I strongly advise in getting lots of Tabard mosquito repellant for the evenings. We were there a week and went through two lotions and a spray, we would have liked more! The Mosquitos are really only a problem in the evening while you dine, the day is fine. Your room has a net over your bed and you do feel very safe in there.

You will not regret going here Ernesto, Henriques, Alfonso, Artur, Samuel, and Grace are all amazing and make your stay memorable!

Cannot recommend it high enough!! 5stars

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Matt s

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to hear about your stay with us and would like to also thank you for the details you included. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Dugong Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Just a short thank you for the brilliant lunch under your grass roof on the jetti with a beautiful view. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief time at your stunning resort and very much appreciate the warm and friendly manner in which your staff received and treated us. Keep up the good work !!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Morne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Morne K

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your perfect lunch at Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed it and we will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Dugong Team. We hope to welcome you back to Dugong in the not too distant future for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Your flight in to Vilanculous have a choice of 3 airline operators from OR. Tambo,1. 5hours airport exit takes 30 minutes with a shuttle waiting for you, 25 minutes drive and you are on the beach where a boat is moored ready to take you to the resort, Your suitcases gets taken from the vehicle onto the boat. The boat trip is 40 minutes with drinks on board to the resort, on resort arrival staff are clapping their hands and partying on the extended Jetty welcoming guests, they even wash your feet upon entry. All staff are totally friendly and all speak English and nothing is effort for them. Then there is the Food.... Oh My..The Food is awesome! The portions are really big and the seating is totally on request. We have had our table set just where we wanted it. The Shef was left to prepare what he wanted and this yielded really cool results. O.k the Food was just faultless, not fine dining, but really wholesome and enjoyable. The Room, If you can get the Room with the Private splash Pool, That is the best result. The Pool water temperature is really warm and swimming 10p.m is a must do. The Sea temperature is also really warm, also there are almost no waves and the sea is really clear, we had a yellow canoe and this became our daily commute with 2 km from the resort. The fish jumps out of the water right over the canoe in schools of a 1000+ and makes for an awesome experience. Also get a pair of Goggles, The sea clarity and the fish visible whilst snorkeling is really good, there is a mini reef under the Jetty but it is best viewed as the high tide peaks so currents are almost still then. Also we participated in catching the most colour full crabs 1.6 kilometers in the sea at low tide, water was knee height, not keen on holding the crabs myself but a cool experience, also get a really strong torch for night times. Using the torch in the sea reveals other fish not seen during the day. Keep in mind that the place does run on a generator so if you have energy left past 10 p.m then the torch will be handy for that as well. Safety wise we didn't feel unsafe at all during the whole trip from Airport to Airport again. Drinks was cheap where the Coldrinks worked out less than we thought, Tips was dealt with in group tip at the end of the holiday where the manager used his discretion on the distribution thereof. The essence of this holiday is to appreciate a quiet paradise setting and Dugong didn't disappoint. We have rated this as the best holiday resort we have been to and would like to return to Dugong hopefully in 2017 again. We were there in October 2015 and the Humidity wasn't an issue and mozzies not a problem. I would recommend in taking your own dive goggles and own torch with and even if you are not a diver of sorts just lying in the shallows at night with an underwater torch is really entertaining. Cellphones are pointless there but seasonal Wifi when working does allow whatsapp but then the point is not to use your phone. Also cannot recall if there was any TV's although we didn't watch TV at all there. Simply put if you are a tourist this place gives you the essential island feel without the crowd's and the beggars. Again thanks to all the staff, your humble yet effective service was top drawer.

Room Tip: Splash out more and take one of the corner units with the private pools, worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hermandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Company Liaison at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear Hermandl,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for such lovely comments about your sat at our property; from your departure from OR Tambo till your arrival at the Resort, we only hear good things from you and we are so happy to see that you got too experience the uniqueness of Dugong Beach Lodge. Your positive comments show us that we are on the right path with the property and we hope that you will be coming again in 2017 foor a visit, until then have a love year further.

Regards
Michelle Bouic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews